Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tracklisting (A LOT of good stuff on there. Look for yourself!)
This looks like a cheapo. The packaging is awful - petrol station graphics etc. Still, as the saying goes, it's what's on the inside that counts. This is on the SONY MUSIC label - so there are a lot of big names on here and the sound quality is excellent. A definite 60's bias with Bob Dylan, The Byrds, Jefferson Airplane, Melanie and so on. Fleetwood Mac's Albatross is...
Published on 26 Jun 2011 by Heat

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic
Who ever compiled this " Psychedelic" rock album obviously missed out on taking anything stronger than red smarties!
A reasonably good collection of 60/70s tracks with a few gems making it a reasonable purchase but Psychedelic it is defiantly not.
Published 18 months ago by Mr. T. Bourke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tracklisting (A LOT of good stuff on there. Look for yourself!), 26 Jun 2011
By 
Heat "James T" (Craigavon, Co. Armagh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pure... Psychedelic Rock (Audio CD)
This looks like a cheapo. The packaging is awful - petrol station graphics etc. Still, as the saying goes, it's what's on the inside that counts. This is on the SONY MUSIC label - so there are a lot of big names on here and the sound quality is excellent. A definite 60's bias with Bob Dylan, The Byrds, Jefferson Airplane, Melanie and so on. Fleetwood Mac's Albatross is present and correct as well. More mainstream than the legendary Nuggets collections but the odd gem from there as well - check out The Amboy Dukes track - "Journey To The Center Of The Mind". A few choice 70's numbers also pop up in the mix. If you haven't got a compilation with Blue Öyster Cult's "(Don't Fear) The Reaper" on it (unlikely as that might seem given the number of times it appears on compilations) don't worry - it's on here. I bought it for the tracks I knew but there were lots of pleasant surprises and only a few clunkers. I only really remember gonging one - Paul Revere & The Raiders - "Indian Reservation (The Lament Of The Cherokee Reservation Indian)". A couple of others might not be great for repeated listening (Scott McKenzie, 1910 Fruitgum Company) but overall this is GREAT value. This is from the "Pure..." range issued by Sony. Check out "Pure... Guitar Heroes" while you are at it and - guess what? "(Don't Fear) The Reaper" is on there as well!

Here's what you get:

CD 1:
1. Bob Dylan - Rainy Day Women # 12 & 35
2. The Youngbloods - Get Together
3. The Lovin' Spoonful - Summer In The City
4. Scott McKenzie - San Francisco (Be Sure To Wear Some Flowers In Your Hair)
5. The Byrds - Eight Miles High
6. Jefferson Airplane - White Rabbit
7. Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band - Sure 'Nuff 'N Yes, I Do
8. Lou Reed - Wild Child
9. The Flamin' Groovies - Teenage Head
10. The Amboy Dukes - Journey To The Center Of The Mind
11. Paul Revere & The Raiders - Indian Reservation (The Lament Of The Cherokee Reservation Indian)
12. The Lemon Pipers - Green Tambourine
13. Delaney & Bonnie and Friends feat. Eric Clapton - Groupie (Superstar)
14. Michael Nesmith - A Different Drum
15. Melanie - Ruby Tuesday
16. Spirit - Fresh Garbage
17. Santana - Soul Sacrifice
CD 2:
1. Blue Öyster Cult - (Don't Fear) The Reaper
2. Sly & The Family Stone - I Want To Take You Higher
3. Zager & Evans - In The Year 2525
4. Moby Grape - Omaha
5. The Gun - Race With The Devil
6. Randy California - Day Tripper
7. The Chambers Brothers - Time Has Come Today
8. Al Kooper / Stephen Stills / Mike Bloomfield - It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
9. The 5th Dimension - Sweet Blindness
10. Van Morrison - Madame George
11. Laura Nyro - Stoned Soul Picnic
12. Argent - Hold Your Head Up
13. Pavlov's Dog - Julia
14. Alexander "Skip" Spence - War In Peace
15. Tim Hardin - Hoboin'
16. Miles Davis - John McLaughlin
17. Janis Joplin & Big Brother And The Holding Company - Ball And Chain
CD 3:
1. The Edgar Winter Group - Frankenstein
2. The Guess Who - American Woman
3. Jefferson Airplane - Two Heads
4. The Cyrkle - Red Chair Fade Away
5. Paul Revere & The Raiders - Kicks
6. The United States Of America - Coming Down
7. Mountain - Theme From An Imaginary Western
8. The Rokes - When The Wind Arises
9. Trees - Road
10. The New Riders Of The Purple Sage - Garden Of Eden
11. The Electric Flag - Sittin' In Circles
12. The Byrds - Mind Gardens
13. Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band - Abba Zaba
14. Robert Wyatt - Las Vegas Tango
15. Santana - Singing Winds, Crying Beasts
16. Weather Report - Waterfall
17. Mahavishnu Orchestra - Meeting Of The Spirits
CD 4:
1. The Box Tops - The Letter
2. Spirit - I Got A Line On You
3. Johnny Winter - Rock And Roll Hoochie Koo
4. The Love Affair - Hush
5. Stone Country - Love Psalm
6. Gene Clark - So You Say You Lost Your Baby
7. Moby Grape - 8:05
8. Fleetwood Mac - Albatross
9. Colin Blunstone - Say You Don't Mind
10. Shuggie Otis - Strawberry Letter 23
11. Redbone - The Witch Queen Of New Orleans
12. Blood, Sweat & Tears - Spinning Wheel
13. The 5th Dimension - Up, Up And Away
14. 1910 Fruitgum Co. - Simon Says
15. Brewer & Shipley - Witchi-Tai-To
16. Grace Slick & The Great Society - Daydream Nightmare
17. Sagittarius - Glass
18. Melanie & The Edwin Hawkins Singers - Lay Down (Candles In The Rain)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Psychedelic, 5 April 2012
By 
John T. (chesterfield uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure... Psychedelic Rock (Audio CD)
First of all let me thank Amazon reviewer...Heat"jamesT" for taking the time and trouble to post a full track list.I was unaware of the "Pure" series until I came across "Pure guitar heroes" in a sale in Debanhams Nottingham store. While strictly not as the title would suggest "Pure" it is never the less almost there. It reminds me a little of the two "Rock Machine" sampler albums from the sixties (they should be extended and re-issued as a double CD) infact some of the people on this CD are featured on Rock Machine,tracks like "Fresh Garbage" by Spirit and "Stoned Soul Picnic" by Laura Nyro are worth the money alone. Far too many tracks(69in total) on this 4CD collection to mention individually but like me any one with a passing interest in psychedelia should find this collection of interest. Check out the Guitar Heroes 4CD set as well,some extended versions of chart hits,Ram Jam bands "Black Betty" worth the money alone....Excellent sound quality and very good value for money.Well done Sony Music....Lets have more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feed Your Head, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure... Psychedelic Rock (Audio CD)
The title is a misnomer since half the artists have only a tenuous (or no) connection to psychedelia BUT that's for the better since a wide variety of musical styles are on show here.

There's some great late 60s/early 70s rock singles: Edgar Winter's 'Frankenstein' instrumental, The Guess Who's protest hit 'American Woman' plus the ubiquitous 'White Rabbit' and 'Don't Fear The Reaper'. Dylan, Lauro Nyro, The Flamin Groovies and Spirit also put in appearances.

Great pop singles come in the form of 'Summer In The City', 'Witch Queen Of New Orleans' and the awesome Zager And Evans one-hit wonder 'In The Year 2525'. There's some fiery soul from Sly Stone and a much lesser known track by The Electric Flag, 'Sitting In Circles', which is wonderfully infectious.

True, there's some wibbly, wobbly, hippy, drippy nonsense at times (for which I've docked one *) BUT because it's surrounded by such other interesting music you can live with that! Some of the more 'left-field' tracks are actually the most fun - there's a couple from Captain Beefheart but one of the best is 'Las Vegas Tango' by Robert Wyatt; it's all avante-garde piano and child-like vocal sounds but it still propels itself along in a very catchy manner.

All in all then a really good set of four discs, with hardly any of the 'usual suspects' that you get on the other Pure compilations. Considering the whole thing lasts about four hours it's certainly worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stretching the boundaries of psychedelia somewhat!, 26 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Pure... Psychedelic Rock (Audio CD)
Any compilation that lumps Melanie and Miles Davis under the banner of 'Psychedelic Rock' is stretching the boundaries of the genre to the limit, but this compilation still provides a great listen. There's a decidedly American slant, with many of the lesser known tracks by the likes of the Amboy Dukes and the United States Of America standing out as highlights. The frustrating thing is that there must be so much more great psych from across the world buried in the Sony archives. It would be nice to hear more of the obscure stuff. Maybe next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. T. Bourke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure... Psychedelic Rock (Audio CD)
Who ever compiled this " Psychedelic" rock album obviously missed out on taking anything stronger than red smarties!
A reasonably good collection of 60/70s tracks with a few gems making it a reasonable purchase but Psychedelic it is defiantly not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stupid Title - Excellent Music!, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure... Psychedelic Rock (Audio CD)
I bought this boxset in order to own In The Year 2025 by Zager & Evans which I'd heard on R6. And then I was re-acquainted with The Chambers Brothers who are worth further investigation. There are lots of decent tracks on this compilation but I'm not sure any are psychedelic! That's not to say no LSD was harmed in the making of the music...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great introduction to 60s/70s music, 16 Feb 2014
By 
A. P. Monblat (Sutton, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If, unlike me, you have not got two-thirds of the tracks already, this will be a really good one to pick up. Soul Sacrifice is but one of numerous gems.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is value for money indeed, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure... Psychedelic Rock (Audio CD)
Four cds of almost forgotten greats. And for the price its almost a steal. Another great compilation for the car where it is the first cd i go to when the sun is shining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Up, Up and Away..., 20 Mar 2013
By 
Colin Smith "keep on running" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure... Psychedelic Rock (Audio CD)
With my love of psychedelia I was wide-eyed and drooling in anticipation, eagerly awaiting the delivery of my copy. With newly coiffered centre-parting & bedroom decked out in purple flock-wallpaper I hurriedly loaded a disc... The superb "In The Year 2525" was one of the main reasons I ordered this collection - bliss!! OK, the album title is taking a bit of a liberty, with "Psychedelic Rock" definitely used in it's broadest sense, along with "Pure"...huh?.... "Up, Up and Away" (In my beautiful balloon) next door to "Simon Says"...man that's too far out!.. OK, you get the odd clunker here and there, but you also get a fair smattering of big names & some very good stuff amongst this varied 60's/70's pick 'n' mix.

I have to get real here - 4 discs, 69 tracks for under 6 (at the moment). I managed to find more than enough orange cremes in this box of delights, so I reckon it all adds up to good value for money. These compilation releases are often a good introduction to some of the artists featured, with the potential knock-on effect of improved sales. Considering the age of some of the material, the sound quality is generally very good.... Now close the curtains, crack open a packet of Spangles, close your eyes & let the music take you wherever you wanna go baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pure....ish, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure... Psychedelic Rock (Audio CD)
It's OK, nothing better unfortunately, I did my usual, saw a couple of tracks that I knew I liked, saw it wasn't too expensive, pressed the button and next day,mall the way from Dunfermiline it's landed on my desk.

It's OK

It's OK

that's all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pure... Psychedelic Rock
Pure... Psychedelic Rock by Various (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews