Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will give you nightmares.
My wife and I watched this movie yesterday and both of us endured a sleepless night, so harrowing were some of the scenes. The slaughter of the villagers reminded me of the WW2 film Come And See [DVD] [1985] an equally disturbing film. Genocide will only be allowed to continue if right minded people ignore atrocities - which is why this film is so important - to raise...
Published on 5 Mar. 2011 by Bobby Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JOURNALISTS WITHOUT A TRIPOD
I feel guilty giving any movie which attempts to show the world a major genocide less than 5 stars. The movie is about a group of generic western journalists wanting to report on the genocide in Darfur. From what I gathered from the movie, the genocide is a race war consisting of Arabs Muslims killing black Muslims. The Arab Muslims known as the Janjaweed blame the West...
Published 19 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will give you nightmares., 5 Mar. 2011
By 
Bobby Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darfur [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
My wife and I watched this movie yesterday and both of us endured a sleepless night, so harrowing were some of the scenes. The slaughter of the villagers reminded me of the WW2 film Come And See [DVD] [1985] an equally disturbing film. Genocide will only be allowed to continue if right minded people ignore atrocities - which is why this film is so important - to raise awareness of the plight of innocent human beings, being systematically killed purely because they are black African. I have to confess that the idea that a couple of journalists would feel they could fight back against the Janjaweed, with just two Beretta pistols, and the African Union captain was a little far fetched, but it is a small point, given the moral viewpoint of the film; that we should not ignore what is happening to our fellow humans, no matter how far away from us they happen to live. An outstanding film that demands to be watched by any person needing to have their moral compass pointed in the right direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JOURNALISTS WITHOUT A TRIPOD, 1 Oct. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I feel guilty giving any movie which attempts to show the world a major genocide less than 5 stars. The movie is about a group of generic western journalists wanting to report on the genocide in Darfur. From what I gathered from the movie, the genocide is a race war consisting of Arabs Muslims killing black Muslims. The Arab Muslims known as the Janjaweed blame the West for the genocide because they (the West) want to give rights to black people.

The journalists go into a village and interview the villagers so we get to know them. Then after they leave they espy the Janjaweed headed toward the village. Some of the reporters decide they need to go back and "help." In order to show realism, or due to budget concerns, the camera shots all appear to be hand held. While the motion isn't as jerky as amateur filming, I found it noticeably annoying. Whatever political statement the movie was trying to make was lost to the amateur film making.

While there were moments when you feel the intensity and rage, I found them to be short lived, partly because of the western journalist simply drank themselves into a stupor after the village attack, a scene shown at the beginning of the movie.

Oh those poor people, pass me another bottle of Jack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see film by Uwe Boll?, 13 Oct. 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darfur [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
When you highlight the five stars to rate a film on Amazon a subtitle pops up that says 'I love this film', I don't, I hate it but it rates five stars because against all odds the director of 'Bloodrayne' and 'Alone in the dark' has made a film that should be seen by everyone in the West. It is of no suprise to me having seen it that Amnesty International are backing this film and I'm not ashamed to say that it made me cry. The story follows a group of western journalists who are taken by a team of three Nigerian soldiers from the African Union to visit a black African village in the Darfur region of Sudan. They are investigating reports of ethnic cleansing and genocide by the Arabic militia known as the Janjaweed. On their return from this peaceful village they see a Janjaweed force heading back towards it and are faced with the dilemna of whether to continue to safety or to try to help. I can't really say anymore without spoilers but suffice it to say that the attack eventually takes place and you are presented with the horrific reality of what is happening in Darfur all the time. Boll does not shy away from portraying horror and in this case it is entirely appropriate. There are none of the lurid splashes of scarlet cgi blood you would expect from his usual films, the violence is both awful and realistic. The cast both known and unknown do a superb job, Uwe Boll is to be commended and his film deserves to be seen but you won't enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most disturbing film I have ever seen, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darfur [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This film is not for the faint hearted, it will make you cry, you may have bad dreams. It is definitely worth watching though.
It is very real, brutal, violent - as it is played by actual victims who relive the worst moments of their lifes. That's what makes it so gruesome. The scenes are very graphic. It is very sad what happened in Darfur - and the world was not doing anything about it once again.
The story is quite basic, a team of Western journalists go interview people in a remote village in Janjaweed territory in Western Sudan to prove to the UN that genocide has occurred. The villagers talk about their life and the daily threat of getting killed, tortured, raped by the Janjaweed. The Janjaweed are armed partisans drawn from Arab tribes.
The Janjaweed arrive in the village and threaten the journalists - if they didn't leave they would be killed. The journalists are facing a dilemma - should they leave to be able to live and tell the story or stay and help and most likely get killed. All of them leave together, but two go back...
The film is a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dafrur -shocking and tragic, 28 Feb. 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darfur [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Someone else has said you will not enjoy this film, and I entirely concur, however that is not a reason to avoid it. It is harrowing, but arguably a vital piece of cinema by virtue of the subject it is trying to bring to the Worlds attention, that is a civil war which has already cost 400,000 lives.

The plot is quite basic in that a team of six journalists on a fact finding mission convince their African Union (AU) minders to let them visit a remote village in Janjaweed held territory. There they meet the villagers who tell them of the brutal realities of living in a country torn apart by conflict.

They interview quite a few of the villagers and we get a glimpse into their lives and history as they tell real human stories that are easily relatable. One reporter comments that they seem almost proud of their historical inert tribal warfare.

As they are leaving they spot a Janjaweed group racing toward the village, they feel if they return the threat of International journalists might convince the Janjaweed to move on and leave the village unharmed. Then they are faced with the reality of the brutal nature of these people who tell them to leave or they will be considered villagers.

The Captain of the AU convinces them to make a hurried exit. However, the realization of what they are ignoring makes two of them return. The true horror of what the villagers had been telling them then unfolds.

This is a gripping, brutal, explicitly violent (both physical and sexual) and harrowing film. It does not even pretend to pull its punches and has a clear message in that if we allow genocide to continue then we have not learnt from history. All of the actors are first rate (you really feel the children are mortified with fear) and the unsteady camera work gives it that urgency that one often gets from documentary.

The Janjaweed storm around on horses and with four wheel drive flat bed trucks, a sort of marriage of the ancient and modern and as such sign posts the dichotomy that is modern Africa. They even try to explain the motivation of the Janjaweed in their callous hatred, but this film does not attempt to be balanced it is blatantly anti Janjaweed and does not attempt to deal with the question of where the causes of this conflict are except in pure racist terms, hence I have reposted this review and given 4 starts as to the previous 5 after a second viewing with friends.

That said, whilst not for the faint hearted this film is a real must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, 18 May 2011
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darfur [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is an interesting approach to film-making. At its heart is an attack on a black African village by arab janjaweed in Darfur. This is unremitting in its portrayal of what happens and the comparison to "Come and See" made by another reviewer is spot-on. Except that at one stage the director/writer introduce a bunch of unpleasant western journos who travel to the village and make the usual "kumbaya" noises to the villagers. Their lack of moral courage (or is it a sensible appreciation of the odds?) is a key part of the film. The brief action piece is both unbelievable and a ripping tale, but it belongs in another film. The hope that the West can stop this sort of thing which is expressed at the end of the film is clearly refuted by the conduct of the journalists. In a world where the DRC must surely be ahead of Darfur in deaths even Western might is as a drop in the bucket compared to the ancient practices of raiding and slaving. Not one for you if you are depressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eye opener, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darfur [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Well read up on dvd first before i bought it,was very much close to the truth of what was and is still happening to this day.. very sad and outragious,why does this horror still go on in the 21st century.. very graphic and very disturbing a true eye opener, be aware of this if you intend on purchasing this dvd.. Left me and my missus,very angry and upset
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing but a must-see, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. Isa Darby "Eessa" (Dudley, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darfur [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A very well made, informational movie that highlights how racism rather than religious differences, can create incredible levels of barbarism in people, leading to devastating atrocities, while the world beyond remains oblivious to what is happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horrendous and Brutal reality of Life., 5 Dec. 2014
By 
R. G. Mills "cam com" (Durham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darfur (Amazon Instant Video)
5 Stars are for the reality of Life and the realism with this Movie, not that I loved it . The Arab Muslims who are raiding the African Villages killing all before them the African Natives in Sudan.

Letting everyone see the horrific genocide going on in the World by Religious freaks who using their God in this instance Mohammed as a excuse for the mass slaughtering of innocent Men Women and Children and Babies by Shooting, hacking to Death with Machete, setting them on Fire. It seems like they have people like Adolf Hitler with genocide notions all over the World. While the Authorities and the UN stand back and do nothing, as per usual.

It was heart breaking to watch, not suitable for Children or people with nervous disposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing.....Important, 2 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darfur [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I am a fan of all Uwe bolls movies and although some are better than others there is no denying mr bolls steady maturity in the art of film making. I will say it feels wrong to say just how much I enjoyed this film given it's subject matter. This movie is as important as it is masterfully shot. Documentary like in it's vision this only serves to enhance the story bring told. I felt angry, sad and moved to tears. If any film serves to bring to light the atrocities taking place in darfur then this it. Highly recommended but certainly not for the feint of heart or easily disturbed. Does for dafur what rambo did for Burma. The west needs to see this film. Well done mr boll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Darfur [DVD] [2009]
Darfur [DVD] [2009] by Uwe Boll (DVD - 2011)
£3.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews