Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apple Taster
The brand & the trademarked sliced fruit lasted longer than the label itself but for 3 or 4 years Apple was an intriguing & often inspirational enterprise that provided us with some great music & only one or 2 duds, depending on your tastes of course. It also managed to reflect the interests of Beatles John, George & Paul in quite uncanny ways. Only Paul could have given...
Published on 26 Oct 2010 by Harvey Randall

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's not get carried away!
Ah, Yes! The Fab Four! They were the centre of the 60s pop culture universe. The world turned around them, you know! I know... I was there! Then after the Magical Mystery Tour movie.. well, most of us remembered that they were only mortal. Still, these were exciting times when we all thought that anything could happen.. and that when it did happen, it would all be...
Published on 26 Jan 2011 by SeaWasp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apple Taster, 26 Oct 2010
This review is from: Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records (Audio CD)
The brand & the trademarked sliced fruit lasted longer than the label itself but for 3 or 4 years Apple was an intriguing & often inspirational enterprise that provided us with some great music & only one or 2 duds, depending on your tastes of course. It also managed to reflect the interests of Beatles John, George & Paul in quite uncanny ways. Only Paul could have given us the Welsh songbird Mary Hopkin, for example, & only George could have recorded the Radha Krishna Temple- a kind of follow-up to his own Wonderwall Music. And only Apple could come up with a label 'taster' that features not a single track by a solo Beatle & I can't help thinking that another Apple compilation featuring solo Beatles singles from the same period would be quite tasty (sorry!). But the Fab 4 are here, there & everywhere (sorry again) on this record as they (particularly Paul & George) took an active part in the creation of many of these records. Indeed, Jackie Lomax's superb 'Soul Milk Sea' is practically a Beatles single with Lomax on guitar & vocals supported by George, Paul & Ringo. What I really like about this record is that it makes some lesser-known Apple artefacts from the Black Dyke Mills Band, Brute Force, Trash, Doris Troy, Ronnie Spector, Chris Hodge, Leon & Derreck von Eaton, & the Sundown Playboys available again at long last alongside more familiar fare from James Taylor, Billy Preston, Badfinger, Hot Chocolate & Mary Hopkin. I'm personally delighted to see the single edit of Billy Preston's 'That's The Way God Planned It' make what I believe might well be its CD debut (& was not that most of Blind Faith playing on that one?). Had this collection included Badfinger's glorious 'No Matter What' (my favourite non-Beatle track on Apple by a long mile) I'd have given it 5 stars. Not to worry. The chance to hail Brute Force's Mighty Fuh King all over again almost makes up for its absence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab idea!, 4 Nov 2010
This review is from: Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records (Audio CD)
What a great idea. An excellent range of material from Apple, all collected together. This is just what I've been hoping for - too timid to buy lots of albums, I can now ease myself into the catalogue, so to speak, and explore many of these artists a little further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come and Get It, 28 Oct 2010
By 
C. Davis "Carl" (Burton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records (Audio CD)
I had never heard any of the songs on this CD, but am a huge fan of The Beatles and their story so thought this would be an interesting insight into what their Apple Records label was about.

There isn't really a dud song on here...some are better than others, highlights for me include "Come and Get It" and "Those Were The Days", not to mention "Sour Milk Sea". A lot of the tracks were written by members of the Beatles, as well as featuring them playing and producing.

A good selection of songs which I think any record label would be proud to release on a compilation like this, and its a shame it took Apple this long to come up with something like this! Hopefully there will be more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue Apple singles compilation, 27 Nov 2010
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records (Audio CD)
Beset by legal wrangles for much of its history, the music recorded for Apple has generally been less readily available than it would otherwise have been. Despite those problems, the important recordings, particularly by Badfinger and Mary Hopkin, have been available on CD. Nevertheless, a lot of other material has remained in the vaults. The release of this eclectic compilation apparently signifies the end of Apple's legal problems; let's hope so. The compilation is well presented, with the booklet containing copious notes about each song, which is particularly useful for learning a little about the obscure artists, though even the comments about the familiar songs may occasionally surprise you.

Of course, Mary Hopkin (Those were the days, Goodbye) and Badfinger (Come and get it, Day after day, plus Maybe Tomorrow, credited to the Iveys who evolved into Badfinger) are represented, .but the primary purpose of this compilation (apart from selling plenty of copies) is clearly to showcase the range of music recorded for Apple, and it does that superbly, with a great variety .of sounds and styles.

Aside from the tracks by Badfinger and Mary Hopkin, the compilation is notable for the inclusion of Carolina in my mind (James Taylor), Thingumybob (a TV theme by the Black Dyke Mills Band), two gospel recordings by Billy Preston (That's the way God planned it, plus a cover of My sweet Lord), an excellent track by the under-rated Doris Troy (Ain't that cute) and a cover of Give peace a chance, performed in a reggae style by the Hot Chocolate Band, who as Hot Chocolate became very successful throughout the seventies and early eighties.

There are a lot of other great tracks here, all of which were originally released as A-sides of singles, but not all of which charted. The story given about King of Fuh is somewhat amusing. It certainly isn't the best track here, but it never received airplay at the time so it is in effect a new release. The inclusion of such rarities makes the compilation is more interesting than it would have been had it focused exclusively on the big hits, but it also means that the compilation subtitle, Best of Apple records, is not entirely true. Still, those missing hits and other important recordings (such as Badfinger's original version of Without you) will surely appear on a future Apple compilation.

Enjoy this for what it is - a fascinating insight into the diverse music recorded for Apple records - and look forward to a follow-up compilation eventually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apple Turnover, 30 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records (Audio CD)
Excellent collection of some of the many fine tracks from The Beatles' fab late 60s record company. I had always hoped this CD would come out one day.
Great sound quality and plenty of notes for those who like such things (me).

Open message to Apple : Thanks a lot for this disc, it's really excellent....Any chance of a follow-up ? The following tracks spring to mind : Do The Oz (Lennon vocal) ; No Matter What and Rock Of All Ages by Badfinger ; The Eagle Laughs At You - Jackie Lomax...a bit more Mary Hopkin (Sparrow)....add to these a few more from the back catalogue and I'd be very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Roy Matthews (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records (Audio CD)
Some of this stuff has been criminally neglected over the years by Apple so it's great to finally see the remasters project reaching fruition. Quite a mixed bag on here and some stuff I hadn't heard before but a fine collection all the same.
Makes you realise just how good Bafinger were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apple to the core!, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records (Audio CD)
This collection of songs certainly brought back the memories. For all those who think that Apple Corps was a disaster, I urge you to get hold of this cd and give it a whirl. People have forgotten that the music side of Apple was very succesful even if you don't count the Beatles themselves, with James Taylor, Billy Preston, Mary Hopkin, Badfinger etc.
I loved listening again to songs I had forgotten or had once purchased on vinyl 45's which had long since scratched themselves out of existence.
It was brilliant to be able to hear the much mentioned (in Apple history circles) but seldom heard Jackie Lomax and realise just how good he really was. I liked the inclusion of 'lost' tracks by Trash, Hot Chocolate, Ronnie Spector and the RK Temple and just loved the brilliant Brute Force and Bill Elliot & the Elastic Oz Band numbers.
A truly brilliant compilation, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LET'S GO APPLE-BOBBING!, 12 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records (Audio CD)
This compilation presents a pleasing selection of Apple Records' greatest hits and misses, together with a helping of oddball curios to finish off the track listing.

Bringing together Mary Hopkin, Badfinger, and the under-valued Jackie Lomax alongside the pre-fame Hot Chocolate doing a reggae cover of 'Give Peace A Chance', The Black Dyke Mills Band oom-pah-pahing through a TV theme entitled 'Thingumybob' (written by Paul McCartney), and Brute Force's infamous 'King Of Fuh', this collection bears testament to an eclectic record company, and an enterprise which evoked the carefree spirit of the 1960s.

There really are some great records included here: Mary Hopkin's charming 'Goodbye'; Jackie Lomax's driving 'Sour Milk Sea'; Doris Troy's soulful 'Ain't That Cute'; Badfinger's 'Day After Day'; Billy Preston's 'That's The Way God Planned It'; and Scottish band Trash's brave cover of The Beatles' 'Golden Slumbers-Carry That Weight'. The commerciality of these singles makes such oddities as The Radha Krishna Temple's 'Govinda' (a Top 30 hit in spring 1970) and The Sundown Playboys' archaic piece of cajun 'Saturday Nite Special' seem even more off the wall; would record labels like Decca have granted vinyl room to such leftfield releases at the time?

Pleasingly packaged and with an informative booklet, COME AND GET IT: THE BEST OF APPLE RECORDS is a thoughtfully produced release, although there is room on the CD to have included Badfinger's other smash hit 'No Matter What', a song whose absence has prevented me from honouring this CD with five stars. But this is my only quibble with what is otherwise an enjoyable and enlightening compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DAD, 11 May 2012
This review is from: Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records (Audio CD)
Bought this for one track alone: Day After Day - and it is quite superb.

I wanted that as a 'first waltx' track when I married but we went with something easier to dance to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give Peace a Chance, 5 Nov 2010
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records (Audio CD)
The best of Apple no way but as a collection from one of music's more esoteric periods and at a time of great upheaval in the Beatles camp, this collection somehow hangs together quite well.
This is a great place for instance to get Beatle rarity Paul McCartney's `Thingumybob', and Apple Rarity `King of Fuh' (well maybe that should have stayed in the can), there are however some classics, James Taylors `Caroline on my Mind' an early version, `Sour Milk Sea' by Jackie Lomax, `Those were the days' by Mary Hopkin, all instantly great tunes.
As with all compilations you get weaker tunes but this selection is very much fun to listen to and does stand more than one listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa30ab2b8)

This product

Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records
Come And Get It: The Best Of Apple Records by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews