Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
24
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2009
I've struggled at times whilst reading this book. It's not that it is written badly but I struggled to accept a lot of the things going in it. Now I'm not going to ruin any plot points here because, even if you're reading this review I expect you'll probably want to read the book anyway. Despite what this book is like, it is followed by other books by other authors developing the Star Trek universe even further and I'd read this book for that reason alone.

As you will have guessed, the Borg play a big role in this book. However, the way they come to be a menace and the way in which they 'adapt' seems pretty far fetched to me, even for Star Trek.

By far my biggest gripe is that this author doesn't appear to have actually read the previous two Next Generation books in this line, i.e. Resistance and Q&A. The Leybenzon in this book is fairly different and Kadohata may as well be a different person entirely. Interactions and feelings that occurred in those previous books are ignored. It is as if Peter David couldn't be bothered to read the books and so just asked what the names of the new characters are and left it at that.

The story in this book also felt to be far too destructive in terms of the Next Generation universe. It's as if Peter David felt he could get away with anything. Certain things happen that would lead to some serious long term negative effects on the environmental and orbital stability of planets used several times in Trek episodes - several things and people from canon Trek and the real life universe are changed beyond belief in the matter of a few pages.

Some of the characterisations were uncomfortably off although not all. Spock is very well done indeed for one. The bridge crew have their moments in being accurate but it comes and goes. At times Worf is spot on. At other times it just isn't right (especially if you've read the last two novels).

Maybe the disappointment I'm having is my fault. I only read the last two books about a month ago and so they are fresher in my mind than they would have been had I read these books at release. I expected something very different from this book as a whole - something more similar to Resistance for example. I was also hoping the book franchise would use this opportunity to recycle some more of the Voyager cast. They've already used one cast member in the Titan line (with great results in my opinion) and so I was hoping this book might add someone else familiar to the Enterprise crew. Maybe there's hope for that yet though. I certainly wasn't expecting this book to have such an impact on the Star Trek universe - especially since (and this is another big gripe of mine), the events of this book would *certainly* have had to come up in the book "Articles of the Federation" which spans the same year in which these events happen.

At times when reading this book I've wanted to give it 1 star. Sometimes there have been flashes which I'd rate 4 but on the whole my rating has wavered between 1 and 3 stars so I'm settling on 2. Don't let this put you off Peter David's work as a whole though. I loved his Q-Squared and I,Q books and his Imzadi books were great fun too. I just hope that next time he writes a book for the TNG line he (at the very least) spends a couple of days reading the books prior to his or speaks to the writer of the previous book if it isn't out yet so as to check things out.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
Pocket books are clearly having fun reinventing the Trek universe - I suspect some editor somewhere is on a bit of a 'power trip' messing around with the fate of the central characters. Not to mention what they've done to the Borg!

If you don't mind Star Trek changing beyond recognition, great, buy it. It's a cracking read. If you prefer to leave things as they stand at the end of the canon stuff, be warned.... leave well alone!! Stick to the books set during the various TV series.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2008
Oh dear, it's all gone a bit wrong.

Generally anything involving the Borg is worth reading or watching, but this book is the exception. All this book amounts to is another retread of the "Borg flies to earth and try and destroy humanity" storyline.

And guess what? The Enterprise is the only ship than can stop them and only Picard has the ability in the whole of Starfleet to think of an imaginative solution. I can see the good captain in his ready room thinking: "Hmm, the pesky Borg are back and want to destroy the Earth? Gosh, it's almost like that Romulan chap a year ago with his big ship that exploded and killed Data. First time I made the Borg go to sleep - that won't work again. Shooting the plasma tanks thing worked well against the queen, but would she accept an invite to engineering for a cup of Earl Gray? Probably not. Ah, what about the Guardian of forever? Nah too silly. Hang on, wasn't there a big cone shaped alien ship type thing that was found by Kirk and it was nearly invulnerable, and was built to kill the Borg? Perfect! Let's go and get it and come to the rescue again. Hooray!"

The author then slips in some continuity stuff by referring to past events from at least a couple of old TNG novels. Throw in a few untypical crew members to replace data and Riker. Lastly, but definitely not least, there is a rather bizarre cameo by Mr Spock who has prepared a long list of obtuse, unhelpful and annoyingly smug one liners.

This book is a really lazy effort. It was dull; some of the stuff the Borg do is just too farfetched. I only finished the book out of curiosity to see what sort of ending was waiting for me. Answer - a really bad one. Avoid.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
The Borg are heading for earth ... again, and the Enterprise crew are the only one's who can stop them ... again. If this sounds familiar than that's because it is, they did all this two books ago in Resistance.

The story's not bad, just overly familiar. There's never any real doubt that the Borg will be defeated its just a question how and who won't make it (there's at least one major casualty in this novel).

As is becoming a trend in these post-Nemesis novels, continuity comes thick and fast. Although two characters introduced in the previous novel, Q&A, have completely different personalities here. It doesn't really matter as all the new enterprise crew are pretty unlikeable and their actions in this novel do little to endear them to the reader.

Overall, not a bad novel but let down by an overly familiar plot and some poor characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
I'm afraid to say that this book was pretty bad. In fact it was almost awful. The author, who I'm sure has written books in the past that I enjoyed, seems to have very little regard for life and throws thousands of star fleet personnel to their deaths without conveying any sense of dread or loss. He has turned the Borg into the silliest enemy in the franchise while destroying any characterisation that previous authors have built up in regard to the new Enterprise crewmembers. I'm half way through the next ST:TNG novel, Greater than the Sum, and that author has spent a lot of time and put a lot of careful thought into rationalising and repairing the ongoing plot lines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2009
This book follows on directly from the book Star Trek Resistance. The large Queen generating Cube built as a new nexus for the Borg has been disabled by the Enterprise. Admiral Janeway is warned by powerful forces to leave the ship alone but goes anyway to confirm the threat is over. This results in a catastrophic situation with the ship reawakening, resulting in a very different breed of Borg who now seek not to assimilate but to eliminate races, using an entirely new form of technology. The Enterprise rushes off into action, realising that past encounters may hold the key to defeating this monstrous new form of the Collective.

I have usually enjoyed Peter David's works. His novel Vendetta, which is referenced heavily in this book, is an incredible read - absolutely spot on. This book is not. While the crew conflict was interesting to read, some of it really did not pan out - since when would Starfleet officers consider using torture, even under these desperate circumstances? The vulcan counselor once again seems entirely out of place, and Ambassador Spock seems to be thrown in merely to be a super clever replacement for Data. The use of a very old piece of technology is not convincing either. Seven of Nine gets a spotlight at last in fighting the Borg, but the whole thing smacks of inauthenticity. Sad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 November 2007
It's very clear that Paramount have said to Pocket Books "look, we're done with the TNG era. Tell your writers to do whatever the hell they want.". And that's exactly what's happened - the TNG characters have moved on - in most cases in predictable ways. However, this has also led to certain marquee writers (i.e. PD) making sweeping changes, changes that cannot be undone. Seven is more or less Seven and comes out broadly OK, but Janeways fate is far from ideal. Also, without giving out spoilers, lets just say out Solar System gets a little smaller. So gird yourself for some major events.

As has been noted by several other reviews, Picard, and Worf, seem remarkably forgiving of some behaviour on the part of the crew. And a starfleet officer suggesting the direct torture of another officer as a means to get the captain to talk? Hmmm. The characterization is also off - very unusual for a PD novel.

The plot is littered with coincidences, and cross-genre 'jokes' that take you out of the story (for example, in a scene stolen wholesale from Independence Day, an Ambassador meets his fate. His name? Lucius Fox). And they get tiring very quickly. Basically the whole novel comes across as David on autopilot, a PD completely out of ideas, a PD who, frankly, just can't be bothered. I would suggest you take the same tactic - don't bother. It's a page turner, and easy read, for sure - but there are far better star trek books out there. If you want a good ST novel, read Greg Cox. If you want a good Peter David ST novel, read Imzadi. Or Vendetta (the events of which this novel relies on heavily). In the meantime, just like Star Trek Generations and Star Trek Nemesis, I'll pretend this never happened. Peter David - come back - all is forgiven.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
i don,t understand all the negative reviews on here. admittedly the borgs new abilities do seem a bit far fetched at times, but when you consider that they do have the ability to adapt, is it really that rediculous? why do people have trouble accepting the borgs new ablities, but they have no problem with the q being ommipotint?

speaking of the Q, the conversation between the borg queen and lady q was very interesting, and the idea that the borg may actually be able to assimilate the q was very frightening. imagine the borg with the power of the q? now thats a story i wouldn,t mind seeing in the future

the inclusion of the original planet killer was a bit of a head scratcher, and it does beg one question, if starfleet have had it in their possesion all this time, why has it never occured to them to use it before? think how it could have helped them against the borg in the past, or during the dominion war for that matter.

it was sad to see the fate of admiral janeway, but since this is star trek, there is always the possiblity of another author bringing her back one day. the character of grim vargo was an interesting one, and even though he doesn,t play a major role, he does sort of come to the rescue at the end for one character in particular. would be nice to see him again.

yes, there were a few gaping plot holes, but this was a great page turner of a book, with lots of drama, lots of action, and an apperance by spock of all people. certainly doesn,t deserve all the negative reviews.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2008
First things first - we know this is not canon, because its a book not a film or TV show - so we can get over the worries of what happens to who and what. The book is fast paced, well written, gripping, exciting and a page turner. Picard's reactions to events are perfectly scripted as are the other members of the 'old crew'. The guess stars of Lady Q and Spook give the book further depth and interest. As a sequel to Resistance it is excellent. I am enjoying these post Nemesis books immensely.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
Lets go through the checklist:

(1) Borg Cube: tick
(2) Only the Enterprise can stop it: tick
(3) Random characters showing up: tick
(4) A mass of crewman angst as they dredge up long forgotten storylines and characters: tick
(5) Peter David manages to shoehorn in a cameo by Calhoun and Co: tick

Where did it all start go wrong in the Star Trek books. Once upon a time there were clever references to past storylines, characters and other trivia. However they were done in such a way that enjoyment of the book was not conditional on you knowing any background. Before Dishonor seems to signify a series that is beginning to collapse under its own weight.

In the previous book, Picard and Co has stopped the Borg through their implausible plan. Part of which consisted dressing Picard up in his decade old Borg costume (which apparently wasnt taken by Starfleet to study or destroyed when the Enterprise D crashed). Eventually they stopped a newly formed Borg Queen by injecting her with a standard sex change potion which caused a Mrs Doubtfire effect.

In the current book - the Borg cube is being studied by Starfleet. Janeway gets caught and turned into the Borg Queen (no doubt her bun could not be added to Borg perfection). But this is a new kind of Borg Cube - it isnt fussy in what it assimilate - sorry absorbs. Yes this Borg cube absorbs everything - be it planets, starships or bits of the sun! We have the usual wild ideas of how to stop it - by resurrecting old storylines. We have attempted mutiny against Picard and his cronies - not surprising since Picard and Worf seemed to have turned into despots. In the end it takes a maths challenge to stop the Borg cube (another damning indictment of poor maths skills).

Before Dishonor is a pretty poor novel. Sure it presses all the fan boy buttons - but it feels completely lifeless. Our once great hero's seem to be going senile, anyone who questions Picard is told to go to their room. We have quite frankly, appalling storylines - a Borg Cube absorbing Pluto? The same cube that has develop a mind of its own because it got shot at! We have a succession of character moment that just make you realise that the novel is completely flat.

Such a poor novel. It is reflective of a trend in the Star Trek novels - a series drowning in its own history and constantly resorting to throwing in references only the uber fans recognise.

In the end of the novel the Borg Cube blows up because it cannot solve a complex equation - it seems quite apt for a book and a series that is collapsing under its own complexity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse