Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling read.
I couldn't put this novel down and eventually read it in two sittings;it would have been one but I had to sleep. The plot is excellent and should the series ever return it would make an ideal episode. In fact, as I read it I was watching an episode in my mind's eye.
The story is well researched and the characters are well represented. The author has caught the main...
Published 13 months ago by miss michelle Taylor

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Almost entirely disappointing
After looking forward to reading this book, I was disappointed by almost every aspect of it. The story has a general interest to it, but it's marred by a fundamental misunderstanding of the established nature of the characters. None of the characters we're used to (Picard, Worf, Crusher, LaForge, even the Borg) have been written in a way that truly reflects their...
Published on 15 Feb 2008 by R. J. Browne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Almost entirely disappointing, 15 Feb 2008
By 
R. J. Browne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After looking forward to reading this book, I was disappointed by almost every aspect of it. The story has a general interest to it, but it's marred by a fundamental misunderstanding of the established nature of the characters. None of the characters we're used to (Picard, Worf, Crusher, LaForge, even the Borg) have been written in a way that truly reflects their personalities and their behaviour. Picard especially is full of turns of phrases that you would never expect from proper Star Trek writers in a million years. This reflected on the characters original to this book, for me, as I couldn't believe the author was capable at all of portraying apt characterisations (with the possible exception of T'Lana, the counsellor).

Add to this some ignorance about the established facts of Star Trek, such as calling Picard's heart human (not artificial) and wrongly quoting a sequence of events from First Contact that appeared to be very important to the character internally describing them, this made for a book whose writing and continuity were poor. The only saving grace is a reasonably compelling story; although for it to be told, past Star Trek novels, films and television, and what they have told us, had to be battered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling read., 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation: Resistance (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put this novel down and eventually read it in two sittings;it would have been one but I had to sleep. The plot is excellent and should the series ever return it would make an ideal episode. In fact, as I read it I was watching an episode in my mind's eye.
The story is well researched and the characters are well represented. The author has caught the main characters perfectly and introduced new crew members I came to care for. The inner lives of the cast are told with skill. I can't stress enough how much I enjoyed reading this story. It was exciting and the suspense was nearly unbearable at points. Wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 21 Dec 2010
By 
Ashley Charles Williamson (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book had me gripped from the very first word. It's set in a time after Nemesis and as such a few new characters are introduced to spice things up. They are introduced very well, and you really get a feel for their background and their overall moods. The idea behind this Novel is a very interesting one which i think everyone will find to their liking. Although it's not strictly cannon, it has it's interesting surprises which you either love or you hate. I found this novel exciting, and most surprising which is why i am giving it 5 stars. I hope you enjoy this as much as i.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some lovely character parts and a good injection of fear from a familiar foe, 19 April 2010
By 
Khepry (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Being fairly new to the world of Star Trek books I did not entirely know what to expect. I had heard about how the books had improved, and being a fan of the TV series wanted to give them a go.

This was a good start to the post-Nemesis range, currently waiting to read the one before this - but I don't seem to have missed too much other than the Picard/Crusher get together. It has a nice story attached to the Borg and in the scenes where characters are on the Borg cube the way they are described is actually quite 'chilling'.

I have read that some feel Dillard's characterization is off but I do not agree that this is the case. Worf is perhaps the best portrayed and the link back to his feelings about his deceased wife from the television series DS9 is beautifully woven into this story and his reasons for not wanting to take the promotion offered by Picard. Dillard's recounting of the events from the television episode are not 100% accurate (especially the wording used by Jadzia and Sisko) as I have only recently seen this episode. Worf's experiences with the new counselor, T'Lana is nicely portrayed, from both sides.

T'Lana, Nave and Lio are nice additions to the characters (not sure how much the latter 2 characters have appeared in the previous books but I like them here). This sets up the relationship that T'Lana will have with the senior staff early on - quite a contrast to Troi. Geordi gets almost no time, he is used a back up a lot of the story which is a shame. Beverley is nicely portrayed here bringing out her strength but off-setting this against her love for Picard - nice to see. Picard is probably the worst portrayed, as is Janeway (all be it only in briefly) - they got on very well in a previous Voyager book 'Homecoming' so I do not really understand Janeway's almost distrust of Picard here and Picard himself just seems wrong but you could put this down to the Borg being back.

I felt the slant on the Borg was nicely done and they are now a real threat again (having been slightly numbed by Voyager). The main Borg in this was different to how they have been in the past but then the collective in general seems different so this is acceptable.

My main criticism is that Dillard seems to rely a little on the reader setting the common scenes on the Enterprise themselves; not really describing the whole bridge scene or the whole sickbay scene which almost led me to believing there were only the main characters on the bridge which made the story feel a little 'empty' in places. Also the addition to the Enterprise's hardware at the end of the story (I won't spoil it) seemed a little far fetched to me - I think it would have been used during the Dominion War had this been the case as the book explains (this will make more sense should you read this book).

All in all though, not my favourite book but provided some good insight into the Borg and crew that, if nothing else will be relevant in the coming books. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Weak and poorly written, 3 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. N. Shaikh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Seems like The Next Generation books are going to be tied together in an ongoing continuity much as DS9 books are.

Set some time after the events of Star Trek Nemesis, with the Enterprise now fully repaired from the damages, and new crew members turning up at the Conn, Security and Counselor. The latter is a Vulcan woman who wastes no time making it clear she has no problem criticising Picard and pointing out the errors of his decision making. She also seems to have a problem with Worf, who is currently acting as First Officer until Picard can find a replacement for Riker who has gone onto command USS Titan.

As the ship prepares to get back into service, Picard realises he can sense the presence of the Borg. WIth Starfleet not trusting him, he has to decide if it is worth disobeying a direct order and hunting down the new infestation on his own.

This book is a pretty awful effort. Far too much time is spent on a predictable storyline about a romance between the new conn and security chief, which is put under strain with the new Borg crisis. Beverly spends several paragraphs going over the same thought over and over. Worf comes over as far too soppy and emotionally indulgent, the new counselor seems to get away with being downright rude, and Picard just goes around doing whatever he wants. Plus the fact that Starfleet decides to ignore Picard even though First Contact clearly proved he has insight into the Hive mind is just weird, esp coming from Janeway who ought to know the Collective is never to be underestimated. Scenes with the Queen seem to be nothing more than a rip off from first contact, and suggesting the Borg are now angry and hate humanity is just jarring. The Enterprise resorting to using illegal technology is the final icing on this dismal cake.

Sadly I bought this book to try and get everything from the Borg saga but it really wasn't worth paying for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Resistance, is futile..., 12 July 2009
Resistance is the second TNG novel set after the film Nemesis and kicks of Enterprise's new adventures after the pause for repairs and relationship building in the precceding book Death in Winter. The book is a Borg story, I like the Borg, so here was something to look forward to. The story was short, quick to read, and somewhat disappointing. In a lot of ways it plays as a sequel to The Best of Both Worlds and First Contact - well fair enough, those are the two big Picard/Borg stories, but that's all it feels like, the story feels, despite it epic elements, small. A handful of new crew are introduced, only one survives to appear in the next book, but what feels really odd is the Enterprise is so empty, there are almost no background or side characters to flesh out the crew. The book at times felt a bit gimmicky, Borg Queen, saucer separation, cloaking devices, Locutus - throw them all in, it will be great, exciting! But somehow it just didn't work this time, lots of interesting bits, but it didn't work together very captivatingly.

The bits that did work very well in this novel were the development of Worf, as he struggled to realise he was indeed first officer material, and the introduction of the new Vulcan councillor T'Lana. T'Lana shone in this books as something very different, not just agreeing with Picard as one expects from his crew - an interesting and promising character. Overall the book wasn't as satisfying as it could be, it felt a bit cobbled together, and too much like a sequel, but it was still interesting and worth picking up to start the tale of the new crew dynamic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, but the ending could have used a little more work, 4 Sep 2007
Ok, i ordered this from a third party, as i was unwilling to wait for it to become available on Amazon. And let me say i was not dissapointed, i loved Picard and Crushhers characterisation and their romance - finally happening - Worf was great and his arc in this book is wonderful, as it shows consiquences from DS9's "Change of Heart" it also gives us intelligent soultions to the Borg - just read an see.

And Janeway, i think Dillard got her arrogant attitude right on, just because she deallt a crippling blow to the Borg doesen't mean they are still not a threat, as we have seen in the show, the Borg are more dangerous in small groups then as a collective see "Decent" and all the Voyager episodes that deal with the Borg to know what i mean.

Now for the bad bits - though admittedly small - they still exist. The queens characterisation seemed off to me, and no where near how Susanah Thompson and Alice Krieg played her respectively. Also the book started out great and the pace kept you wanting to read, but when it came to the last few chapters, it seemed like the author had run out of stream and struggled to get it finished.

Also there were oportunities missed, liked bringing in Axum or any of the former drones from "Unimatrix Zero" who now retain their individuality. But besides thes minor flaws, it a good book, and i highly recomend it to any Trek fan, plus the snippet from "Before Dishonour" is ominous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be wary readers, be wary, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Dillards atempts here are rather low at creating a sequel to death in Winter, released a few years back, dealing with the romulan reaction to the events of Nemesis, also seen in the first Tital novel. Dillards has gone off to the deep end writing her own fantasy story in the Star Trek world. He relies to much on what has gone before too much to establish what is going on with he characters. Also too many love stories here. Ok Beverly and Picard, which is kind of obvious. A Klingon and Vulcan and then a Helmsman after a lost crew man to the Borg, thats going too far. Nice use of the Admiral Janeway at Starfleet but again she relies too much on the Past events. The charcters don't seem right, In their mannerisms and how Beverly just simlpy follows orders of her Lover without putting up a fight, has she mellowed in the last 20 years on the enterprise? She tried to bring in too many characters at once in my opinion and couldn't work them well. Try to pu some more danger in their, I'd loved to have read more pages, a battle with the fleet, butwait we've had that before in films and TV. She needs to go back to the source material and make a few more notes. Always refer back to he episodes if you get stuck Mr Dillard. Although I liked his angle on the Borg fighting for survival, tieing up loose end of their origins which have gone unaswered for some ten years now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great..., 29 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. C. Evans "master geek" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I first heard about this book I was quite excited at the prospect of the return of the Borg despite their over exposure during Star Trek: Voyager's run and that terrible Enterprise episode.

And therein lies one of the major problems with this book. Despite the writer's efforts to introduce new elements to the Borg mythology the whole piece feels very stale and the quick discard of some of the earlier sub plots is somewhat confusing as I thought they would have some interesting bearing on the story.

J.M. Dillard does her best to keep it interesting and the action flowing and tense but in the end it just feels like a remake of "The Best of Both Worlds" with some of "Star Trek: First Contact" thrown in and it just doesn't feel as exciting as it should do.

Its a shame because the first three or four chapters where very promising.

There are many many other Star Trek novels I would heartily recommend long before this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Borg again ruined!!!, 21 Dec 2007
By 
Jordan Clarke (Kirkcaldy,Fife,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok I bought this from the local bookshop and after reading the back synopsis I was really looking forward to reading the book.

First of all the story deals with a rouge Borg cube that somehow more bigger than anything seen before and somehow are making a new Queen.
The story lacks heart and any real danger, you always kinda feel throughout the book that everything is safe and no-one you like will die.
The new characters are plain cardboard cut-outs and you end up rooting for the Borg to put them out of their bad dialouge scene's.

The good points of the book are Worf's arc and tying nicely up with DS9 episode.

The new Vulcan character is also a good new main character but you have to get over the standard star trek Vulcan character syndrome that seems to have popped-up more recently.

Also Admiral Janeway is almost perfectly written, and the scene she was in were my favourite parts, she is cast as a by the book Admiral and was refreshing to see her bang heads with Picard rather than the sickly exchange from Nemisis.

Overall only by this book if you are an extreme trekkie and don't mind the Borg yet again being reduced to a big baddie that has had it's claws clipped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9eeec9cc)

This product

Only search this product's reviews