Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping opening chapter...
I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read books 2 and 3. David Mack is an excellent author, he brings an Arthur C. Clarke style of mystique to his stories which are well suited to the printed page section of the Star Trek unvierse (be sure to check out the Star Trek: Vanguard series if you enjoy this, two of the three books so far were written by Mack)...
Published on 24 Jan 2009 by Mr. C. Evans

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought as gift
There are so many Star Trek books to choose from. I bought this for my dad for Christmas, it looks like a good quality paperback. Unfortunately can't give a review of the story as I haven't read it!
Published 4 months ago by rosemary_ella


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping opening chapter..., 24 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. C. Evans "master geek" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read books 2 and 3. David Mack is an excellent author, he brings an Arthur C. Clarke style of mystique to his stories which are well suited to the printed page section of the Star Trek unvierse (be sure to check out the Star Trek: Vanguard series if you enjoy this, two of the three books so far were written by Mack).

The Borg have truly been restored as the greatest Trek foe returning to the relentless and unstoppable threat as presented in TNG. As another reviewer has pointed out you do feel that a major confrontation with the Borg is being held back until perhaps book 3 (but to be fair that would make perfect sense).

Having thoroughly enjoyed the last Enterprise novel, "Kobayashi Maru" it was great to find that Columbia and her crew play a major part in the story (be sure to check that out before reading this too) and ties in well to the superbly executed Enterprise E/Voyager/DS9/Titan crossover.

Although a little slow in parts this is non the less a great read and I'm excited to see how the trilogy unfolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Destiny Trilogy - A Good Beginning., 16 Oct 2011
By 
E. Phillips - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Genocidal Borg, unexplained deaths on the rediscovered wreck of an early warp vessel, untenable emotional pressures and an apparently omnipotent alien race all combine to test the resolves of four captains and their crews as they provide a last line of defence for the citizens of Federation space.

David Mack takes us on a journey of four paths - the commands of four captains - that ultimately begin to weave together into an unfolding tapestry of the desperate fight for survival which begins in this first book of the 'Destiny' trilogy, and will no doubt intensify in the following novels.

There's very little as likely to keep so many readers off-balance and uncomfortable as the Borg, and within the pages of 'Gods of Night' they are more ruthless and terrifying than ever. Uncompromising and merciless, they are hell-bent on nothing short of the complete destruction of all but themselves. The Borg element of the story is a perfection of tense hopelessness as David Mack shows us there is little we can do to stop them, especially when those in whom we trust are compromised by self doubt and recriminations. When those on whom we rely face devastating personal struggles that cut them off from their own sources of strength and resolve, all that seems left is a frantic scramble to clutch at any straw of hope. Thus, Mack handles Riker's helplessness in the face of his wife's anguish with a brutal honesty that is almost visceral, and Picard's instability under the crushing presence of the collective becomes a frightening reminder that even the strongest are vulnerable. These combine to make those sections of the book truly disturbing.

Less effective, at least through the progress of this volume of the Destiny trilogy, is the weaving of the Caeliar arc, and while Captain Hernandez and her crew's plight is harrowing, (and the MACO enough to send even the most controlled of Starfleet officers into a frenzy of 'grunt-hating violence), it feels less sharply focussed, and therefore less effective at drawing the reader in to suffer with them. However, the potential of this thread of the tapestry remains, within the final words of the novel, with Captain Riker's crew's discovery of the Caeliar survivors in a way that troublingly parallel's that of the crew of Columbia, leaving the reader with the feeling that it's all going to come back and bite the heroes' rear ends - hard.

New characters are richly drawn and the old familiar faces, perhaps not so familiar with the passage of time, nonetheless maintain integrity enough to hear the voices that brought them to life within the shows themselves speaking to the reader from beyond the TV franchise's grave - a rarity in so many novelised continuations of popular shows. This book is a page-turner especially once the story achieves its momentum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Promises to be a great trilogy, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. I. Ogilvie "Mr O" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Gods of Night is the first book in the Desting trilogy written by David Mack. The first point to make is that it can only be described as epic in scope, with converging storylines involving the crews of the Enterprise (Under Captain Picard), Titan (Captain Riker), Columbia (Captain Hernandez) and Aventine (Captain Dax).
To read a novel that so neatly intertwines characters from nearly all of the various Star Trek series is a privelidge. The trilogy is a statement of how mature the franschise has become and I congratulate the author on the vision and scope of what he is trying to achieve with this trilogy.

Gods of Night is set a number of months after the events of the film Nemesis. Readers would do well to read Resistance, Before Dishonour and Greater than the Sum before starting this trilogy as they chart the "evolution" of the borg during this time period. The books are of varying quality, but Chris Bennett's Greater than The Sum did a grand job of restoring my faith in recent Trek novels and teeing up what was to come in this trilogy. I would also strongly recommend that you read the first few Titan novels before embarking on this trilogy, the historical perspective is useful, but ultimately becoming acquainted with the diverse crew is a must.

So is Gods of Night any good? On the surface it promises a lot: All out war with the borg; the mystery of a missing starship; as well as the soap opera of the characters from four starships.
Having not read any David Mack novels before I didn't know what to expect. I was intrigued by the Columbia, Capt Hernandez storyline as I have recently enjoyed wading through Season 1-4 of Enterprise and the novels which follow. I have enjoyed where the Titan series was going, but have not been overimpressed with post Nemesis Next Generation novels.

Gods of Night was like a breath of fresh air. Characterisation across all series characters was good, consistent, the handling of Riker/Troi and Vale probably the highlight, the emotional response that the borg always cause in Picard was handled well.
The pace is spot on: the interweaving story arcs here had to be paced well, keeping the reader suitably entertained, with there being enough in book one to reward the reader. I would say the strongest story arc to come through from this book would be the historic events of what happened to Columbia, set in the time period prior to the first Romulan War (events which have been building in Kobyashi Maru) their first contact with the alien race the Caeliar is interesting. The exploration of pacifism ideals provides an interesting counterbalance to the all out war approach displayed by the borg. The crash investigation/haunted ship story arc involving Captain Dax's Aventine crew compliments Columbia's historic well: the author revealing a different piece of the jigsaw puzzle at the right rate.
Enterprise and its deeply troubled Captain is a bit more of the same really, with recent Next Generation novels considered, although I am sure this will develop and come through more strongly in Books 2 and 3. Not to say this is dull, a war of attrition with the borg is as grave a threat that the federation has faced and is certainly a page turner.

In summary 5 star entertainment: Escapism on an epic scale. A welcomed fresh approach/style to the Star Trek novel. Word of advice: order the whole trilogy at once. This author knows how to write a cliffhanger of an ending. You will not want to hang around waiting for book 2 to be delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent opener, 12 Dec 2008
By 
Alex Webb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first installment of what is a superb trilogy. The pacing is good and 4 separate stories a well written. They mysteries are set well and Caeliar are interesting race.
I found Deannas characterisation puzzling, her insistence and drive seem puzzling having her watched character grow over the series.
All in all a good scene setter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought as gift, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are so many Star Trek books to choose from. I bought this for my dad for Christmas, it looks like a good quality paperback. Unfortunately can't give a review of the story as I haven't read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny #1: Gods of Night (Star Trek: All) (Kindle Edition)
This is the the first book I've read of Star Trek. I'm normally reading adventure fantasy books but I've always been a Trek fan. Anyway, the plot was interesting and involved characters that I knew well.

The book began in the dominion war when the USS Defiant wonders upon the NX-02 in the Gama Quadrant. The discovery left a lot of unanswered questions; how can an Alpha Quadrant Starship end up so far away from Earth? Could there be an undiscovered propulsion they stumbled upon? What happened to the crew? The plot continually grows through this book, involving the 'next generation' and 'DS9' Characters. I found this book captivating and hard to put down. I would recommend all three books of Star Trek Destiny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start, but picks up, 17 Aug 2013
By 
P. Cheetham (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny #1: Gods of Night (Star Trek: All) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first part of a 3 part story, involving just about everybody in the Star Trek universe, as well as introducing some characters from pre-federation times.
It can be a little confusing at first, as it jumps around the time lines, but then the majority of the book follows the crew from the 'past' and what happens to them.
A little on the slow side to start, and jumping around a bit, but then it hits its stride and I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny #1: Gods of Night (Star Trek: All) (Kindle Edition)
Very good and detailed book with an interesting story and a surprising ending. Worth a read if your star trek fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Karl Grosvenor (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Star Trek and love getting drawn into the fantasy of being in it,this book got me hooked it made me feel like I am part of the Star Trek universe,I don't know why they don't make a film out of it or several films one for each book,I am on the second book now,but am sure will return to read this one again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny #1: Gods of Night (Star Trek: All) (Kindle Edition)
this is the first time I have read star trek books I'm happy to say I will continue really good story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews