Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars McCoy as an unorthodox starship captain
To me, the strength of Star Trek has always been the power of the characters. The personalities in the original series were all strong, even to the point of being overplayed. One of the advantages of the subsequent series of novels is that we get to see these characters expanded and learn more about their pasts as well as their personalities. In this novel, the grumpy,...
Published 3 months ago by Charles Ashbacher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
cover slightly tatty but the book itself proved satisfactory
Published 5 months ago by charles shayler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars McCoy as an unorthodox starship captain, 27 Mar. 2015
By 
Charles Ashbacher (Marion, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
To me, the strength of Star Trek has always been the power of the characters. The personalities in the original series were all strong, even to the point of being overplayed. One of the advantages of the subsequent series of novels is that we get to see these characters expanded and learn more about their pasts as well as their personalities. In this novel, the grumpy, emotional Doctor McCoy is left in command by Captain Kirk in circumstances that seem very routine and as a consequence of Kirk wanting to turn the tables. However, it turns out that the circumstances are anything but safe and suddenly McCoy is required to command the Enterprise during an emergency. Kirk disappears under suspicious circumstances and the Enterprise is forced to fight a battle where it is extremely overmatched.
McCoy's coolness under fire and ability to make a Klingon captain into an ally are well described. McCoy is still emotional, yet he channels that emotion into the circumstances, turning it into an advantage in making his command decisions. This is one of the better of the Star Trek novels, in that while there is a bit of deviation in character, it was always understood that McCoy is an excellent officer and one who is very cool in difficult situations. In this case, he is able to show his capabilities, without having to be damped by those who outrank him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Bones, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Orders (Star Trek: The Original Series Book 50) (Kindle Edition)
I own a well aged paperback copy of Doctor's Orders and for a reasonable price was happy to double dip and have the novel on my kindle. While the story style reflects the era in which it was written it holds up very well, when an author gets the characters right then they become timeless regardless of the setting. That aside how could you not like Bones having to deal with command of the Enterprise, grumpy Admirals, Klingons, Orions and of course the three sentient races on the planet below. Diane Duane has written some of my favourite original series Star Trek, this is more light hearted but equally as enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL McCoy., 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Orders (Star Trek: The Original Series Book 50) (Kindle Edition)
It's a shame that this story was never made into a movie or double episode in STAR TREK proper. Thrown in the deep end, Dr McCoy has been given command of the Enterprise, after he nags Kirk about his job. Enemies start coming at him & by his wits he has to survive. THAT is the basis of a good story, & that's why I was giddy with glee that I could have an e-book version to read after thumbing through my print copy so much that it stated to fall apart. That said the ONLY criticism I can find is, THE STORY WAS TOO SHORT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not the usual 'save the universe' book., 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Orders (Star Trek: The Original Series Book 50) (Kindle Edition)
Quite quaint in the plot. McCoys left in charge and fun n games ensue. Read it, its def worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining story for Star Trek fans., 8 Feb. 2014
By 
Nabil Hussain (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Orders (Star Trek: The Original Series Book 50) (Kindle Edition)
This book was well written and featured a lot of intrigue.This book was published in 1990 and it still continued to be exciting and entertaining to read. It didn't seem to be outraged at all. The original plot kept the story together and it proved to be thrilling to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating look at the links between McCoy and Spock, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Orders (Star Trek: The Original Series Book 50) (Kindle Edition)
When Kirk goes on a diplomatic mission, he puts McCoy in charge of the Enterprise and chaos ensues. This is a fascinating look at the characters and their interaction with each other which is tested when they all end up with unexpected roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Orders (Star Trek: The Original Series Book 50) (Kindle Edition)
kirk tired of mcoys bitching about the handling of the ship puts mcoy in command when kirk and spock gp on an away mission
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor McCoy is left as Captain!, 17 May 2014
By 
M. Field (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Orders (Star Trek: The Original Series Book 50) (Kindle Edition)
It's a great idea that McCoy is left in charge in the captain's seat. I liked how the different characters were explored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love McCoy, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Orders (Star Trek: The Original Series Book 50) (Kindle Edition)
I super enjoyed this book, Dr McCoy is my favourite Star Trek character and I enjoyed that the story revolved around him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent read, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Orders (Star Trek: The Original Series Book 50) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book and would definitely recommend it as it was entertaining, funny and keeps up with the themes of TOS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews