Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A very second-novel-in-a-trilogy feel
The second novel served as a good continuation of the story - although it still had a little of the second novel in a trilogy feel to it.

The action has focused more on two of the four crews that featured in the first novel, and on one character in particular, and starts to join together the different plotlines into one.

I don't have a lot to say...
Published on 25 Jun 2009 by Jim J-R

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Destiny: Mere Mortals
I read this one first by mistake, however, straight away I was hooked. The author has referenced the various series nicely. There are a number of different story strands that come together beautifully, as I said I accidentally read this one out of order, but it was easy to follow.

There are a few criticisms though. I think that Picard's character comes...
Published on 17 May 2009 by V


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A very second-novel-in-a-trilogy feel, 25 Jun 2009
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
The second novel served as a good continuation of the story - although it still had a little of the second novel in a trilogy feel to it.

The action has focused more on two of the four crews that featured in the first novel, and on one character in particular, and starts to join together the different plotlines into one.

I don't have a lot to say about this novel - it was good, kept up the pace and kept me attached. The mixture of flashback and present day scenes was well done, each in turn revealing just the right amount to keep the reader interested.

My only criticism of the series so far is its' fleeting use of the starship Voyager in both novels, which seems to be there just as a tip of the hat. There's plenty of opportunity for some emotional focus on those characters here but they only appear for a couple of scenes - hardly enough to warrant their inclusion - unless it's building up to something bigger in the finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 26 Feb 2010
By 
AR Scoones (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
the destiny series, which im still reading - im half way through 'Lost souls', is excellent. David Mack is a brilliant author and has got every last detail of the star trek world in the book. the story line includes all of the major ships and captains, as well as various other characters, including their development and relevant promotions from the last time we saw them in their respective series.
the story line i wont spoil by telling you, but it is brilliant. however I'm stuck in realizing that the three books are only a small part of a larger story line, as there are references to other story lines in other books that i have yet to read.
the trilogy itself is a master work. a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Destiny: Mere Mortals, 17 May 2009
I read this one first by mistake, however, straight away I was hooked. The author has referenced the various series nicely. There are a number of different story strands that come together beautifully, as I said I accidentally read this one out of order, but it was easy to follow.

There are a few criticisms though. I think that Picard's character comes across as too dithering. Also I think that the Voyager crew were somewhat short changed.

That said it was a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best one, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it, you have to buy all three books to understand it. Loved how it had TNG cast and Voyager cast in it, deffo one of the best points, gets confusing sometimes jumping back and forth between times but i really enjoyed this book.

Ps you will need tissues, couple of teary moments there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book 2 still keeps you reading, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny #2: Mere Mortals (Star Trek: All) (Kindle Edition)
Book 2 really gets you wondering if the Federation have met their match. The Enterprise and Aventine begin to work together and the plot just keeps deepening. I loved this book and would be happy to read it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good follow-up, 12 Aug 2013
By 
P. Cheetham (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny #2: Mere Mortals (Star Trek: All) (Kindle Edition)
A good follow-up to the first part, and quite an engrossing read.
It is sometimes slightly confusing as it jumps around between 2 time-lines, but you soon get used to it and get engrossed in the story.
Another thread to the story is introduced in this book, and it is not yet clear how they all come together, including one from the first book that seems to have been forgotten (the old starship on the planet), but hopefully all will become clear in the final part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny #2: Mere Mortals (Star Trek: All) (Kindle Edition)
A must read for all trekkies, edge of your seat stuff. Can't wait to read the conclusion. New characters, old characters, everything u want from a star trek novel. Should be a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Karl Grosvenor (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not very good at explaining things or writing reviews but this one carries on from the first book and is just as good I only wish they made this trilogy into films or they could bring back Enterprise with more of the crew of the Columbia covering the start of the Romulan war and finishing of with a few movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Destiny, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read. Good story and very easy to read. Another great David Mack book part of an excellent trilogy. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny #2: Mere Mortals (Star Trek: All) (Kindle Edition)
I've read the first book which was great the second book in the series just got better must buy book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews