Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and profound book
This is one of the most beautiful and profound books that in my 73 years of reading tens of thousands of books that I have come across. It is a work of considerable and impressive scholarship and of great spiritual insight. It suggests a daily pratice and its few pages repay reading and re-reading again and again.
Published on 18 July 2009 by Mr. S. S. Macloughlin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too repetive
Bought it because a friend was raving about it, but did not live up to my expectations.
I found it a bit technical
Published 6 months ago by bolade57


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and profound book, 18 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the most beautiful and profound books that in my 73 years of reading tens of thousands of books that I have come across. It is a work of considerable and impressive scholarship and of great spiritual insight. It suggests a daily pratice and its few pages repay reading and re-reading again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus as Middle-Eastern Mystic, 5 Oct 2009
By 
D. Wallace-Lawrence (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been treasuring this book since it was first published nearly twenty years ago. As somebody who trained in Theology, yet always felt uncomfortable with the conventional translations, Klotz's book liberates the Lord's Prayer and The Beatitudes from their sterile straightjacket. Klotz's approach is that of the Middle-East - this is an interpretative Midrash on the words of Jesus. The words of Middle-Eastern mystics were always understood on different levels. The conventional, non interpretative, fundamentalism is barely two hundred years old ; yet astonishingly it holds sway with so many. With Neil Douglas-Klotz read the words of Jesus as he, as a Jew influenced by Rabbinic Judaism ,would have meant them. Total inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Stuff, 17 Dec 2000
By A Customer
A book that can open the door to inspired renewal for those who have wistful respect for the message brought to Mankind over 2000 years ago. It has heart-warming sincerity fueled by Neil's native familiarity with the languages and ethos of the environment at the time the story unfolded. By working jointly with the expanded message of The Lord's Prayer as well as the practical exercises using the lungs, it is truly uplifting to read and also provides therapy for major stress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Words of Jesus as you always felt them to be, 2 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This book opened my experience of Jesus as healer, as feminist and mystic. Our traditional translations limit our experience of the powerful and relevant words of Jesus that are illunimated and opened by the expanded translations of his words from his native language. Here we meet the Native Middle Eastern Jesus that we has been hidden from us in the West. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for anyone serious about understanding what jesus said, 22 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book undoubtedly won't appeal to everyone. to those that are invested in the religious dogmas that have been created by the christian church there will be some unappealing revelations.

but to me, it confirms many of my personal views about the true nature of the message jesus gave to the world. it is both revelatory and challenging, as one grapples with ones own perception and depth of understanding. in that regard, i found it very worthwhile and meaningful.

i would also like to add that this book very much tries to bridge the divide between jews, christians and muslims, in as much as by peeling away those layers of dogma, i truely universal vision of religious belief is revealed. i wish this book every success. the world certainly needs its message of tolerance and truly spiritual enquiry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely meditation material, 9 April 2006
By 
Marc Philippens (Bruxelles, Belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is very liberating. It really gives a wonderful explanation on the Lord's Prayer. This aramaic version of the Lord's Prayer is very powerfull. When you pray the way the writer explains it in his book, by doing body prayers, wonderfull things start to happen in your life... without even asking for it. Just buy this book, tune in, pray and doors will open...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alovely Little Book - A constant companion, 4 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. P. D. Mckee "paulmckee" (Emsworth, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This books takes the Lords Prayer and the Beatitudes as they were originally written in Aramaic and gives us the insight into the meaning that Jesus really wanted us to have. The author provides many meanings and explains how the Aramaic roots and the culture of the middle east lead to a much deeper meaning than is presented in the standard bible. Foe example, "Wela tahlan l'nesyuna, Ela patzan min bisha", was first transalated into greek and then into english, to give the very confusing, "And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil". Who on earth can understand God leading us into evil indeed! The Author gives us a much more reasonable translation: "Don't let surface things delude us, But free us from what holds us back", among a number of other interpretations.
This little book is allways with me - higly recommended as a "tune up" for your spirit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystical Truth, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't got very far with this book yet, because I am finding it absolutely riveting, and keep going back to the beginning. There is so much depth in every word and page and takes us back to the roots of Christianity. It involves all of oneself - body, soul and spirit. It is a book that can change my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential to those searching for the deeper meaning of Christs teachings, 26 Sep 2008
By 
A. Burch (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The deepest most liberating translation of the Lords Prayer I have ever come across. A true gem of insight written buy a scholar in sacred literature translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the Lord's Prayer to Life, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives an astonishing insight into the way Jesus' mind might have been working in delivering the Lords Prayer and the Beatitudes. The challenge of translating from Jesus' spoken language (Aramaic) to Greek and later to modern languages cannot possibly represent the depth or subtlety of Jesus' words. This book puts that right.

Douglas-Klotz offers an in-depth study of every phrase, and the range and depth of meanings it could convey. As a source of understanding it is enormously valuable, though many readers will, I suspect, find the alternative options for "translation" of each phrase are so meaningful and profound that this small book will become not merely a source of great learning but a tool that stimulates deep reflection, meditation, and inspiration. It surpasses the standard version of the Lord's Prayer and gives it meaning beyond measure.

With this treatment, the words taking on a meaning that is appropriate to the title - cosmological.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews