Customer Reviews


938 Reviews
5 star:
 (842)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-see
I was forced into watching this by a friend and only really agreed because i'm a Damian Lewis fan but i now have to admit that it was absolutely superb! I cannot criticise any aspect of this programme. I genuinely felt like I knew the characters and, as the end was approaching and casualties were amassing, I desperately wanted the 'brothers' to make it through. The...
Published on 23 April 2005 by Koz

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Discs are Region Locked to Region A & B
This review is not on the content but the disc set and its playability. Though the product title and description states that this Blu ray disc set is region free, its locked to region A and B. As I live in India and have a region C PS3 player, I had specifically ordered this set as this was region free, but I am now stuck with no play back.

Now I notice that...
Published on 6 Nov 2011 by vishaljmakwana


‹ Previous | 1 294 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-see, 23 April 2005
By 
Koz (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I was forced into watching this by a friend and only really agreed because i'm a Damian Lewis fan but i now have to admit that it was absolutely superb! I cannot criticise any aspect of this programme. I genuinely felt like I knew the characters and, as the end was approaching and casualties were amassing, I desperately wanted the 'brothers' to make it through. The scenery was so realistic that it could easily have been war-torn Europe in the 1940's.
As someone who doesn't generally like war films I can honestly say that this isn't typical of the genre as it is character based rather than just a stream of special effects laden scenes (although there are some amazing special effects). A particularly unique feature is that the surviving members of 'Easy Company' introduce each episode, as the entire story is based on real events. Spielburg even had the forethoughht to not inform the audience of the identity of the veterans until the end so that we wouldn't know who lived or died.
This programme reminds us of what normal men did for their countries and the world and I think 'B.o.B' shows us that we should never forget what those heroes endured for us all.
'Band of Brothers' is truly poignant and moving, a credit to the excellent cast and crew (and not forgetting the real men of 'Easy Company'), and I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV series ever... without a doubt, 27 Sep 2003
By 
L. Hicklin "leehicklin" (Sheffield,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a Brit, I watched the first episode of Band of Brothers just expecting another pro-American, Hollywood-made war series, but got something very different. An un-biased series following a troop of American para-troopers, this is quite a moving, yet eye-opening insight into what these normal men achieved in breaking down Nazi Germany. After buying the DVD (which I had wanted ever since seeing the series) and watching it over and over again, it becomes even clearer, the detail and effort put into the series by the superb Steven Spielberg, and Tom Hanks, who I am starting to admire as a director . You really start to feel for the men of Easy Company, and by the end of the series, Band of Brothers will mean much more than just a title...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


306 of 318 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV doesn't get any better than this....., 26 Nov 2002
'Band of Brothers' is the finest TV series I have ever seen. A bold statement maybe, but one that stands up to scrutiny in my opinion. Yes, 'The Sopranos' is a brilliant drama and '24' is a top-class thriller, but 'B.O.B' just has that epic feel, that you are watching something that might never be repeated or certainly bettered. The story of the men of Easy Company of the 101st Airborne is one that deserves telling; these heavily-trained young soldiers suffered on the front line of the majority of the crucial battles during the American involvement in World War 2. They forged an unusually tight bond with each other and were led by some of the finest soldiers of the war. It could also be justifiably said that they, as a company, sacrificed more than the usual.
The ten-part series consists of hour-long forays in to the viewpoint of different soldier's experiences, from a major to a medic. The action is superbly visceral and realistic, using the same shaky, hand-held camera techniques seen in 'Saving Private Ryan,' to which B.O.B is a close relative, sharing the Spielberg/Hanks connection as well as the subject matter. Action aside however, it is the depth of characterisation that sets this series apart. Granted, the running time allows for this, but it is beautifully done nonetheless. We gain a real insight into many of the men's characters, from the joker George Luz to the bitter Sobel, the cynic Nixon to the dignified Winters. Indeed, these two characters are so finely crafted it is easy to forget that these actors are not in fact the real men. British star Damian Lewis is outstanding as Major Richard Winters, the glue that holds 'Easy' together. His portrayal of a man worshipped by his men due to his courage, discipline, loyalty and leadership skills is nothing short of perfection; real-life veterans suggest that Lewis was a close to capturing the spirit of Winters as is humanly possible. Ron Livingston, playing the smaller but crucial role of Winters' best friend Lewis Nixon, is also excellent, adding a touch of comedy through the hard-drinking, dry cynic Nixon. The acting is uniformly excellent, a mixture of British and American actors doing themselves proud.
For me, the series highlights include the Bastogne sequence, the capture of Foy, and the jubiliant scenes following the taking of Hitler's 'Eagle's Nest.' At no point is the momentum lost, with fierce battle scenes piercing the poignant character moments like loud machine-gun fire.
If you are like me, you will not want it to end. Watching it all in a short period of time on DVD is certainly the way to watch this, as the immediacy adds to the effect.
Overall, a scintillating piece of television, almost perfect. If you don't like war, its maybe not for you, but equally B.O.B should not be dismissed just as a 'war' series. There is far too much depth and character for that...
If the men of Easy Company were in a class of their own, then this series is fittingly superior in its own field and is a worthy testament to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 8 Mar 2007
By 
Eddie (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
I've read many of your reviews and it is interesting to note that with the exception of a handful of four star ratings, they have all awarded this work with five stars. And rightly so. Band of Brothers came hot on the heels of Saving Private Ryan, a film which I applauded for its stunning realization of battle and it remains a seminal work despite its flaws. However, the film under review here far surpasses it: superbly researched, written, filmed and performed, BOB is simply outstanding and deserves full marks in every department. Well, almost - the computer created parachute drop doesn't quite convince but the emotional impact of this sequence overrides any doubts regarding it's visual realism.

I watched the first seven episodes back to back - the sheer length of the piece allows the viewer a level of involvement which I have never experienced in any film. It is an emotional rollercoaster; you live with these men, sharing their terror, comradeship and pain in a way which surely has never been achieved before, and it will stay with you for a long, long time.

War is not glamourous or exciting. It is messy, bloody and both physically and mentally painful. The accompanying documentary 'We Stand Alone Together' underlines this and gives the film an even greater credibilty.

I wondered how long the production team took to clear up all the mess when filming had ended but more importantly, how did all those involved, both military and civilian, clear up the real mess after the war was over? How did they ever get their lives back together?

BOB is a fitting testimony to all those who were involved in this conflict: we have them to thank for the way in which we live today. What they went through to achieve this is beyond comprehension but this work will at least take us closer to understanding.

Enough said. Everyone should see it. Everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'We lucky few.. we band of brothers', 6 Mar 2004
By 
R. Fox (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I will admit right away that my viewing of this TV drama was delayed by the fact that I thought it was going to be like Saving Private Ryan - a film which I don't like very much because it's so horribly self-congratulating and childishly pro-American. Well, I'm glad to say that this program is nothing like that at all, and is as valid and tremendous a represenation of life for Ailled Soldiers in WWII as anyone could wish to see. From the first episode, Currahee, where we see the burgeoning Easy Company brutally trained-up, it's a very tense atmosphere and stiflingly realistic. David Schwimmer as Sobel, their cold as ice drill instructor, offers at first a friendly face for the viewer to connect with, but you soon realise that he ain't no Ross Gellar!
From the next episode onwards, each story focusses specifically on one chapter in the course of Easy Co's progress across Europe, and is individually timed: an episode can run from forty minutes no nearly an hour and a half, depending on the complexity of the subject matter. Each episode is astonishingly done, but episodes that stand out particularly are Bastogne, which involves a highly uncomfortable stint in the forest for the troops as they attempt to take the town held by the Germans in freezing conditions and with very little suppiles. The next episode after this, The Breaking Point, also sees the troop risking even more with the next leg of the mission, and also solidifies the idea of legends and facts within their own group's soldiers and officers, with the introduction and exit of various officers who helped and hindered them at different points: 1st Lieutenant Dike never gains the confidence of the men and leads them all to near certain death, but is dramatically replaced by Capt. Spears, a near-mythical figure to the group who proves to be beyond their hopes for a CO.
The two last episodes here prove to be not only the most harrowing, but also the most emotional as well. In Why We Fight, the troops are surprised and uplifted by the sight of 300,000 Germans surrendering inside of Germany, but are contrastingly mortified when they discover a concentration camp. What is doubly shocking here is the fact that the men had no idea that concentration/work/death camps existed, so these cold, Hellish places of sufferening hit home even more why Easy Co are here to fight in the first place. The atmosphere of this episode is truly horrendous, and is the most affecting representation of WWII attrocicites that I've seen. Final episode, Points, is an amzingly perverse look into the lives of German commanders and generals, as Easy Co infiltrate and secure the Nazi's Austrian retreat, including Hitler's magnificent mountain top home from home. The silence and emptiness of these places fills the program with an alien atmosphere, but by now you feel like you've got Easy Co to look after you as well!
By the end of the series, I found that I felt a connection with these men, even though it was just a TV drama. The shows are intertwined with interviews with the real life men of Easy Co, who each of the charaters are specifically named after and based upon. There is a huge sense here not only of history and of war, but also of humanity and heroism. As someone who in general avoids war films because I think that most of them sensationalise it in a way which is unrealistic, I would say that this never stoops that low. It's true to the troops, their suffering, their battles (more famous battles were fought by Easy Co than you could have yourself believe!), and their sense of brotherhood. If it reminded me of any of the war films that I do rate, it would have to be Paths Of Glory and Full Metal Jacket - but it's not really fair to even say that. This is an amazing piece of war drama in it's own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


222 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio, 2 Oct 2009
Audio:
- English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
- Spanish: Digital Stereo
- French: Digital Stereo

Subs:
- English
- French
- Spanish
- Portuguese
- English for the hearing impaired

I wish amazon would provide this information, but seeing as it's not even on the damn box...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Band of Brothers is better than any war film!, 14 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Band of Brothers is the epic mini-series (although mini is the oppisite of its scale) produced by Tom Hanks and Steven Spielberg. By this info, we can already tell its going to be great. Each of the 10 episodes is directed by a different person, giving each episode a different flavour.
It tells the story of Easy company 506/Parachute infantary Regiment of the 101st Airbourne, an elite group of around 100 parachutists. The series show all of their expieriences from the rigorous training they go thorough, capturing a gun battery and a town in Normandy (D-Day), parachuting into Holland and showing the companies leader, Major Richard Winters, single handedly take on 100 crack SS troop (with a little help from his platoons after about a minute of him fighting them), holding the line at Bastogne in the Battle of the Bulge, facing massive artillery and mortar attacks every day in arctic conditions and, taking the famous 'Eagle Nest' at Bertchesgarten, Hitlers personal holiday home in the German Alps. And the more amazing thing is, everything in this series really happened in WW2, and all the characters are based on real people!
Seriously, I cannot tell you how good this series is, just get it. After watching it, you can't help being inspired by the men of E company, who also are interviewed at the start of some of the programmes.
The acting is superb, the special and visual effects are breath taking, the camera work is amazing and the bonus features (An hour and 20 minute ,long programme dedicated to archive footage and interviews with the real E company men, a 'making of' featurette, Ron LIvingston's (the actor who plays Captain Lewis Nixon) video diary of the actors bootcamp, a 'whos who' in Easy Company and ,a slighty random, spot of advertising from jeep)
just puts the icing on the cake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible series - moving, exciting, horrifying & breathtaking., 5 Oct 2010
By 
Ash (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Band of Brothers is the true story of Easy Company, one of the most active and important companies in the US Army during the liberation of France and the eventual invasion of Germany. It traces the various characters from beginnings in boot camp (look out for a brilliant David Schwimmer in the first feature length episode), through their time in England waiting for the big push, the terrifying brutality of D-Day, the subsequent chaos of the liberation of Normandy and the ongoing campaign in Europe. The characters remain consistent throughout, though their appearances and importance to the story ebbs and flows, sometimes waiting in the background and occasionally coming to the fore, as the series explores the multi-faceted war machine and the personal stories set within the context of this huge operation over 10 episodes lasting at least an hour each.

Band of Brothers comes from the same people that made Saving Private Ryan, and it exemplifies the same approach to production values. There have been no compromises made in terms of the effects, with explosions and gore pounding the camera in very visceral scenes that do not pull any punches, and are not suitable for youngsters.

Equally, the visual or aural fidelity is outstanding in this bluray reproduction. There is occasional graininess to the pictures, particularly in some of the darker scenes, but these add to the gritty realism rather than detract from the polish. Overall, the bluray picture is outstanding. Of even greater note is the sound. When listened to in 5.1 or 7.1 surround sound this is an amazing experience, as bullets whizz past your ears and explosions rock your sofa. There is an option to have the full, uncompressed Master HD Soundtrack whic must sound unbelievable, but unfortunately my system is not capable of playing it back, which is a shame.

This is an amazing box set, and represents great value for money for what is one of the most important pieces of TV cinematography ever, in my view. The intimate stories it tells, set against such an epic and tragic background, are extremely moving, while the action set pieces are filmed with such flair that your heart rate will soar. Of particular note are early sequences in Normandy where Easy Company storm an anti-air battery, and a later sequence in which soldiers are under siege in a snowy forest, as trees literally start exploding around them. Such scenes are likely to stick in your mind for many years, as well they should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive World War 2 Drama, 14 Dec 2004
This series deserves to be remembered as one of the great TV mini-series of all time. Finely acted, brilliant multi-handed direction, and intensely moving, this truly is an epic achievement.
Band of Brothers is a WW2 series like no other. It follows the men of Easy Company from basic training through D-Day, the Battle of the Bulge and their entry into Germany. It's almost unbelievable that the men portrayed here were involved in some of the great battles of WW2.
Each episode is slightly different, and generally focus on a different character. At first we follow Dick Winters (Damien Lewis) as he progresses from First Lieutenant through the ranks, but as he becomes a more peripheral figure other characters are brought to the fore. This means no two-dimensional characters anywhere, and no real "star" names to focus on. Even David Schwimmer is good as the unpleasant Captain Soebel.
The stories are made all the more moving by the reminiscences of the real men of Easy Company on some of the episodes.
There is an entire DVD of extras in the pack, with some great extras include Ron Livingston's "making of..." video diary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound Reference 100 % DTS HD Master Audio !!!, 1 Feb 2009
For me the most authentic WWII creation of all time ! And I don't just meen the story (cuz it is a true story). In the first episode you meet the characters, but from the second episode on you're at war !!!
The Band of Brothers DVD was really good, but the blu ray is an absolute must have.
The picture is better than the DVD, but who cares about the picture quallity, when listening to this sound !
DTS HD Master Audio !!! I've got about 30 blu rays, some were rated with sound reference...
But nothing has come close to this sound mix - you can locate everything with eyes shut, so detailled is the sound (and i compared it with the DVD !) - you can feel and here the antiaircraft guns precisely and know exactly where the german machine gun is. Bullets and shrapnel flying all over you're head and from the front to the back, from the back to the front and sideways - you just sit there with eyes, ears and mouth wide open and start dodging every bullet ! And when the Tank Grenade flies past you and explodes left behind you, you jump forward to not get hit !
It's pure realism !!!
If you don't have the sound equipmnt buy it quick and buy this blu ray - for me 100 % sound reference !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 294 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews