Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD release from Network
It is excellent to see that this popular Yorkshire TV series from 1992 has finally been released on DVD. The early Heartbeats are particularly good, with fuller characterisation and believable scenarios, touching on many of the social changes of the 1960s - the pill, the role of women, CND and so forth. Nick Berry and Niamh Cusack have an excellent onscreen chemistry,...
Published on 19 Oct. 2010 by RobW

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great to see it but a shoddy presentation
It has been a long wait but glad to see it has finally emerged. Have watched the series in Canada, at a slight lag to the UK and also watched a filming session in Goathland(Aidensfield).

However the picture quality is just so-so and the lengthy break points after Part One and Two have been left in for no apparent reason and cannot be fast forwarded. There were...
Published on 6 Feb. 2011 by RKC


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD release from Network, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Heartbeat - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
It is excellent to see that this popular Yorkshire TV series from 1992 has finally been released on DVD. The early Heartbeats are particularly good, with fuller characterisation and believable scenarios, touching on many of the social changes of the 1960s - the pill, the role of women, CND and so forth. Nick Berry and Niamh Cusack have an excellent onscreen chemistry, with Kate Rowan being particularly well-drawn. Blaketon, played by Derek Fowlds, is also enjoyably stern and sarcastic in these early episodes. I was also pleased that in series 1, Greengrass is not a particularly major character (he became somewhat over-used in later series).

It's a good, solid release; no subtitles or scene selection, but the menus are fairly self-explanatory and easy to navigate, and the picture quality is sharp and in its original 4:3 ratio. Unlike the ITV3 broadcasts, they are also uncut - more about that later. It looks to me like these were transferred from the original VT masters. Network have luckily also left in the original Yorkshire end credits and advert break slides for good measure, as they always do - I'd forgotten Berry originally sung the theme tune!

The release also features a short "making of" featurette that probably derives from the early 90s VHS releases which has a relaxed interview with Nick Berry and some behind-the-scenes shots.

Despite a little warning note on the packaging, so far I haven't noticed any episodes that have had the 1960s pop music overdubbed, but I imagine this may be because the early series used quite a lot of original compositions as its soundtrack in addition to the songs. (The copyrights over the pop songs were the primary stumbling block in releasing the series until now - I'm guessing that the Beatles, etc, may have had to be removed.) So far, though, the memorable 1960s soundtrack appears to be intact, and its great to hear The Kinks and Millie Small, et al accompanying Rowan's motorcycle trips over the moors.

I was interested to read some of the above reviews taking about the series' "family" nature. While this is undoubtedly true of the later series, one thing to note about this first season in particular is that it is a little more "adult" than viewers of the later programmes may be used to - more mild swearing and a little bit of nudity in a few places, for example!

Obviously, this is nothing for adults to be shocked about, but note that ITV3 cut them slightly for their daytime broadcasts and that this was originally a post-watershed programme. There are a few (well-presented) themes about contraception, suicide and domestic violence in the early series, and the 12 certificate is probably deserved in this case.

Overall - well done Network, it's great to see this uncut on DVD, and at £15 for three discs excellent value. Bring on series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series 1, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. Beaumont - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbeat - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Once or twice a year I like to re-watch Heartbeat, right from series 1, episode 1. It is by far one of my fave shows to ever be on TV and thank god Network have nor released them all on DVD.

Disk 1:
Episode 1 - Changing Places, 17 April 1992, 57mins long including a little welcome section at the start of the episode.
Episode 2 - Fruits of the Earth, 17 April 1992, 51mins long
Episode 3 - Rumors, 24 April 1992, 51mins long
Disk 2:
Episode 4 - Playing with Fire, 1 May 1992, 49mins long
Episode 5 - Nowt but a Prank, 8 May 1992, 55mins long including a little welcome section at the start of the episode.
Episode 6 - Old, New, Borrowed and Blue, 15 May 1992, 56mins long including a little welcome section at the start of the episode.
Disk 3:
Episode 7 - Face Value, 22 May 1992, 51mins long
Episode 8 - Outsiders, 29 May 1992, 50mins long
Episode 9 -Primal Instinct, 5 June 1992, 51mins long
Episode 10 - Keep on Running, 12 June 1992, 51mins long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great to see it but a shoddy presentation, 6 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbeat - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
It has been a long wait but glad to see it has finally emerged. Have watched the series in Canada, at a slight lag to the UK and also watched a filming session in Goathland(Aidensfield).

However the picture quality is just so-so and the lengthy break points after Part One and Two have been left in for no apparent reason and cannot be fast forwarded. There were obviously licensing problems/prohibitive costs in retaining much of the original music but enough has been maintained to provide atmosphere. However this has been marred by the insertion of very poor covers of Beatles music which then play at a significantly higher volume than the rest of the program--a jarring practice that is normally confined (but not appreciated) to the showing of TV adverts!It makes you wonder if the final DVD production is ever previewed by those responsible for it.

Hopefully future releases may rectify some of these problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbeat - the series from UK, 27 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Heartbeat - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I live in Yellowknife,NT. My wife and I grew up in the 60's and absolutely love the show. Wonderful music, dress, and hometown, humour and no sewage like just about all the modern show today where cheap foul language and sex is stuffed in your face constantly. It is great to be able to watch TV with a pint, your girl and a misty eye on occassion. Bring on all the entire series!!
Timothy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant!, 28 July 2011
By 
Mr.S.B "S.B." (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbeat - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD release has been a long time coming, but well worth the wait. For me the early series' with Nick Berry as PC Rowan were always my favourites and now I can watch them over and over again. The many comical moments between the characters of Blaketon, Rowan, Ventress, Bellamy and Greengrass are just brilliant. TV does'nt get much better than this!

I find the sound and picture quality of the DVD's to be very good quality and to my satisfaction. Many of the original 60's music tracks have sadly been edited out, but have been replaced with very good quality cover versions. According to ITV this had to be done due to some music copyright issues which originally prevented the series being released on DVD at an earlier date, I guess that this was the only way the DVD release could be achieved.

My one and only grumble is at the increasing price of the DVD's when compared to that of other drama DVD releases, but I'm assuming that this may be due to the increase in episodes on the later series (requiring more discs), and also, possibly to cover the costs of editing some of the 60's music tracks?

Overall, I'm a Heartbeat fan and I'm well chuffed with the DVD releases to date from series one to series five and I cant wait for the rest to be relesed.

Would I recommend the DVD's to you?... Oh yes, definitely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wallow in Nostalgia, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbeat - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Good for family viewing. I did not watch this drama until more recent series and so was interested to discover that it had a much harder dramatic edge. In a couple of episodes there was a fleeting exposure of a patient's breast and a brief love-scene in which the couple were in underclothes, but nothing too shocking for granny or secondary school children. Claude Greengrass is a less likeable character than the amiable chancer of later episodes. However, the series is entertaining and has engaging characters to hold our continued interest and contains no obscene language nor gratuitous violence. More intense events are cleverly balanced with clever humour. If you like a beginning, middle,and end with virtue triumphing - this is for you. Pop hits of the period are cleverly used to underscore and counterpoint the plot development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helen, 30 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbeat - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
OMG is right, at last, on DVD. I just ordered season 1 and preordered season 2, I cant wait to watch it. The music, the story, the characters, no bad language, whats not to like about it. I'm 50 something and have always loved this show since it first aired, I notice the lastest few series dont have as much of that 60s music but hey, its still a great show and I know from the reveiws that I am only 1 in a million that have oh so eagerly awaited this on DVD. Thankyou for taking pity on us and delivering the goods.MW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At Last !!, 18 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbeat - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I live in Canada and only started watching Heartbeat in 2002, but was thoroughly hooked by the time it went off the air. I even went out and bought a region free DVD player so I could order DVDs straight from Britain and not have to wait for them to come out in Region 1 format here. I think the early series are great so far - the scenery, characters and story lines are wonderful. I agree with others who have commented on some of the cheesy Beatles cover band music ( as the original 60's music was one of the real assets of the show) but never mind ....I'll put up with it to be able to have this program on DVD. I look forward to eventually having all 18 of them !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aidensfield lives on !!, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbeat - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Not a lot I can say really except exactly what was expected of this TV series - good family viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Programs made in 21st century with class, 9 Oct. 2010
By 
Eric Richards (Auckland New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbeat - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the few programs made in 21st century that has any class, with the people, the acting, script and scenery. I suppose if you liked the US "Northern Exposer" series (like I did) you will love Heartbeat, and I also like the Heartbeat music CD series, some great music never played on New Zealand radio, what a bonus.

What a sad world we are heading for, NO more quality programs left on "free to air TV" with the termination of Heartbeat, and that was played on Saturday afternoon at 1pm of all things in New Zealand. The TV guide filled with other programs using that universal four letter word, not to mention naked bodies. There is no story in todays programs - just computerized graphics bull (like, how many times do you see players walking across a short bridge going over a bottomless pit?), and there is no comedy made any longer the only thing that laughs is the laughing machine, and the new programs are so low budget they employ drunk camera people, but that is what the viewers love today rubbish! I have a funny feeling I am going to be one of the last people to join the "digital TV" age if I do join it after analogue TV switches off in New Zealand during November 2013, and the way New Zealand free to air TV is going by that time will not miss a thing in 2014.

But what a great surprise I visited Amazon.uk for some reason to learn Heartbeat season one was out and ordered it the same day on 30th September and had it in my hands by 5th October the surprise was I am sure I did not use express mail, the email said "estimated arrival date: October 21, ..." . So I will be switching off the TV more often to watch the remaining two DVDs in this series one by early November so I am ready for season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heartbeat - The Complete First Series [DVD]
£12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews