Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Craven's best!!!
Ok, so this is never going to be recognised as one of the greatest films of all time but it certainly is probably one of the best and original horror films of the last 20 years. With Freddy Krueger, Wes Craven created the most famous film "Boogeyman" of modern times, with the infamous red and green sweater, the hat and of course, not forgetting THAT glove! The film itself...
Published on 17 Mar 2005

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy transfer - Avoid and Wait for a Better Release
Generally, the picture and sound quality are pretty good but there are areas where the sound slips very noticably out of sync with the video. This can be traced back to the original film prints and it's annoying that it wasn't corrected here (it has been previously for DVD releases).

How can film companies be surprised by the slow uptake of Blu-ray when they...
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by M. R. Murray


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Two Freddy's Coming For You!!!, 20 Feb 2011
One of the best horror films of all time now on hi-def, the extras are a bit poor but the overall quality of the film & the sound is great. BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best all time scary movie., 25 July 2010
i first watched this 25 years ago, and was recently talking to my teenage daughter about it (she likes horror films like saw,)which lead me to buying it rom amazon as she wanted to see it. it still gave me the chills and had me hiding behind a cushion even though i knew what was coming, my daughter however didnt watch it all as she was too scared.
not just blood and gore like the horrors of todays making, its still a chiller and really gets you jumping and still wanting to keep the light on when you go to bed just like when you were a kid.
the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Nightmare, 18 Nov 2009
By 
J. P. Mullen "DISCORD" (W.Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the greatest horror films ever made & my personal fave, A Nightmare On Elm Street is undoubtedly one of the finest movies of the 80's. Wes Craven's masterpiece completely obliterates the standard rules of the genre which had been established with John Carpenter's Halloween and exploited in Sean Cunningham's Friday The 13th. After a seemingly endless bout of retreads which dominated the early 80's, it seemed next to impossible that anything new could be spun from tired 'slasher' genre. That all changed in 1984 when the world was first introduced to Freddy Krueger. Gone were the faceless masks worn by Michael Myers, Jason Vorhees & countless other movie maniacs and in came a monstrous figure who didn't need to hide behind a mask to scare you. It's no secret that Wes' inspiration for this movie came from a series of newspaper articles in the late 70's in which several young men from Cambodia were surrefring from recurring nightmares. The victims obsession to stay awake startled their families as the men seemed to have a fear that something was trying to kill them. In one incident, a young man who had been awake for days finally fell asleep. His parents put him to bed and shortly after they heard screaming coming from his room. When they entered they found him dead. This happened on several occassions but because they happened so far apart, the papers never connected them.

And so bagan the struggle to get 'NIGHTMARE' off the ground. Wes shipped the script to a number of reputable film studio's who all passed on the project. But there was light at the end of the tunnel. Robert Shaye, the founder of NEW LINE CINEMA showed interest and soon after the film was put into production. The rest, as they say, is history.

THE STORY:

You are most likely already familiar with the story so i'll make it short. Child killer is torched by the parents of those he murdered. Child killer comes back years later to exact revenge on the children of the the parents who murdered him by killing them in their dreams. Lone survivor girl discovers who Freddy is through her parents and finds a way to defeat him. But not before she hands out a few slaps to him in the form of a sledghammer, explosions & fire.

THE FILM:

Definately my fave film of all time and the only one that continues to scare me even to this day, some 20years or so since i first saw it. Everything about this film is created to have an effect on us. It's all primal as explained by Wes in the documentary 'NEVER SLEEP AGAIN'. The red & green sweater which it is known are the two hardest colours to differentiate when put side by side and therefore, effect the eyes. The claw, a hark back to the earliest times of man in which the only weapons were the tooth & claw. In several interviews with Wes he describes how it also referred back to when neanderthal man would hide in the caves from bears who would reach in with their claws and grab their prey. The burned face, Freddy is a reminder of our collective fear of disfigurement. Everybody is scared of being visibly scarred in some way, it's human nature. And finally of course, the dreams. We all have to sleep and thus, we all have to dream. It's unavoidable and it's a part of life that everyone can identify with. We've all had bad dreams, and we have all been woken up in the middle of the night, terrified.

I know many people will probably go postal when i say this but the original 'Nightmare', for me anyway, is a much better film than Halloween, which seems to hog all the limelight because it's known as the original slasher pic when in fact you had the likes of Psycho & Black Christmas which came way before. Nightmare on Elm Street took a tired genre and gave it a tremendous revival. In my view it is much scarier than Halloween. It's grittier and darker and more brutal in it's force. It hasn't lost much of it's impact even today and remains a classic that will never be diminished. Here's hoping that the remake due in April 2010 does it justice.

THE DVD:

There are two discs in this version. The first contains two commentaries. One with Wes Craven, Heather Langenkamp {Nancy}, John Saxon {Donald Thompson} & Jaques Haitkin {Producer}. It's informative and very entertaining as the four are all together.
The second commentary is a mish mash of anecdotes taken from the 'NEVER SLEEP AGAIN' documentary, and although it is still entertaining, there isn't that sense of intimacy as none of the commentators are actually together for it.
The is also a 'Freddy's Favirotes' section which includes scenes from the other 7 movies {including} Freddy VS Jason that refer back to the original.

The second disc contains the documentary 'NEVER SLEEP AGAIN'. This is a fascinating look at the creation, production and release of 'Nightmare' but at under an hour long, it seems as though a film as popular as this deserved a little more insight. Maybe the upcoming 'NEVER SLEEP AGAIN: THE ELM STREET LAGACY' due in 2010 will fill in the gaps.
'THE HOUSE THAT FREDDY BUILT' documentary is a look at the susequent success that Freddy brought NEW LINE CINEMA and what it is today.
Alternate and deleted scenes are included showing various things from, alternate footage, cut scenes, outtakes and effects footage.
There are also several alternate endings included which were the cause of some tension between Wes & Robert Shaye. A disagreement that would span the next 10 years until they sorted their differences and 'WES CRAVEN'S NEW NIGHTMARE' was made.
There is also a trivia game and some trailers.

Although this is a good edition of the dvd, it is still missing alot of deleted/alternate scenes {which you can find on Youtube}, and it is still in 'cut' form. Hopefully an 'uncut' version may come when the remake is released next year along with 'uncut' versions of the sequels and maybe some decent extras on those aswell.

Here's hoping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slasher classic!, 19 July 2001
By A Customer
If you love horror movies, A Nightmare On Elmstreet is a movie you have to see. The story revolves around a group of teens being terrorised in their sleep by a hideously disfigured creature with knives for one hand. As they are picked off one by one in their nightmares, the truth of who this demon is begins to unfold and Freddy starts to escape from their dreams to become part of the real world. The gore is fairly restrained in this film, opting for a more suspense filled terror. Although not as scary as it's hyped up to be (try Texas Chainsaw Massacre if you really want to be scared) Nightmare On Elmstreet is still a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic horror film!, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Nightmare On Elm Street [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
When I think of the horror films that scared the shit out of me as a kid, Nightmare on Elm Street is one of them. Although dated by today's standards, this film still packs a punch. It is a classic that can give the so-called horror films of today a run for their money.

Buy it! Buy it! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are You Ready For FREDDY?, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Blu Ray Info.
Running time 87 minutes, Region B/2, Excellent sharp colourful 16x9, 1.85:1 picture with occasional grain, Sound DTS 7.1 Audio Master, Reports on Blu ray about of out of sync dialogue problems on the 7.1 mix, Yet I encountered no problems on my Blu ray copy.

Extras, Trailer, Documentary, Alternative endings, Quiz, Interviews & much much more.

Positive.
1)A classic Horror movie by the master of horror Wes Craven.
2)Robert Engulnds terrifying portrayal of Freddy Krueger that is one of the most iconic horror icons in movie history.

Negative.
1)Special effects have aged quite badly.

Trivia.
1)This was Johnny Depp first movie role.
2)On trying on the razor glove for the first time actor Robert Englund cut himself.
3)Shot in 30 days.
4)Jennifer Grey, Demi Moore & Courtney Cox all auditioned for the part of Nancy.
5)David Warner was slated to play Freddy Krueger even going so far as to have make up tests done but scheduling conflicts meant Warner had to pull out of the Movie.
6)Charlie Sheen, Kiefer Sutherland & Nicholas Cage were all considered for the part of Glenn.

Review.
Can it be nearly 30 years since this was released, I remember being at school when this came out & it was always being talked about in the playground.

Robert Englund is quite simply THE ultimate Boogeyman he's terrifying, Just his walk or scratching the pipes with his razor sharp gloves & when he does THAT laugh it sends chills down my spine even to this day.

Johnny Depp debuts in this movie & even here you can see a star in the making he holds your attention when he's on the screen.

Heather Langenkamp is also good as Nancy Freddys latest prey, After he brutally,murdered her friend Tina & other teenagers start seeing Freddy in their dreams, Nancy makes a heroic choice in confronting Freddy hoping to end his reign of terror forever.

The theme here is The sins of our parents have great repercussions on our children as the parents of Elm Street set about murdering Freddy as he got away with murdering there children, But like all horrors he didn't die banished due to a demon deal which is explained in Freddys Dead The Final Nightmare, He returns to live in the dream world enticing the remaining children of Elm Street to his Dreamworld to claim there soul's.

This movie is a classic, Genuinely frightening movie, This is mostly down to one man Robert Englund whom is genuinely terrifying in this his iconic role here he brings a genuine menace to Freddy to what could just have been another slasher flick.

The restored picture quality is stunning & the sound is much improved over it's original dvd release.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Two Freddies coming for You!, 23 April 2013
This is a unique Horror to say the least, sure some parts and ideas from this Movie, have inspired other Movies, or have even been ripped off. But nothing like it has been done before or since, i mean think about it! A Peadophile who kills Kids after he has had his Jollies! then himself is Burned to Death by Angry Grieving Parents, in his Basement stroke Murder, stroke Sex Dungeon! Just to make a pact with Dream Demons, to get His Revenge on the Kids of his Neighborhood, by Killing them Peado Demon Freak style! I mean how many times has this been done, NEVER IS THE ANSWER!!! This alone sets the Movie apart from all other Horrors. I loved this Film as a Kid and still do, but even as a Kid, i used to Cry Laughing at the scene where his Arms stretch! real, real Bad, Effects, Ha Ha Ha, Great stuff! One last thing, why did they ever make those terrible terrible sequels? MONEY MAYBE? SH***Y HOLLYWOOD, DID A DOO DOO!!! Mummy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Horror..especially something made for 1984, 18 Feb 2011
By 
Winchester "M" (South Africa, JHB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nightmare on Elm Street was indeed for most people what started it all. I grew up hearing about it, fearing the name Fred Krueger and those razor-fingers. But I had never watched it. So, up till that time I had watched my far share of horror films and thus had a lot to compare with > not to mentioned new stuff that should easily surpass it. But, I admit, i was kept holding on right through this film. Fred Krueger is a monster who comes to kill you in your dreams. Going after all the children who's parents were the cause for Freddy's death, one by one he picks them off as revenge. It is a killer film, & I Give it top score based on how old the film actually is and still packs a kick.
The Blu-Ray transfer is fantastic, no broaden footage or trailing imagery. Quality is superb. The sound, however, as smooth as it is, sometimes sounds a bit muffled. The Sound is the only standard inconsistancy that reminds you that the movie is in fact old. One minute you need to up the volume to hear what the character's are saying and then it is way too loud when the action starts and Fred's on the prowl.

Either way, see for yourself. The transfer makes it worth it.

This song will become all too familiar to you:
'One, two, Freddy's coming for you.
Three, four, better lock your door.
Five, six, grab your crucifix.
Seven, eight, gotta stay up late.
Nine, ten, never sleep again.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic scares!, 4 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I saw this for a few pounds, I thought that's a must buy. It's a shame the other movies in the series aren't also included, although I know it makes no sense commercially - and this is arguably the best by a long way. Very good movie - still a classic frightener. Nice polish on the picture & sound too and the extras were really interesting. An excellent genre classic that deserves a space in your Blu-ray collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ORIGINAL AND SCARY, 26 Oct 2007
Pardon the pun, but cutting edge for it's day. I'm not too proud to admit i had trouble dozing off the night i watched the film.

The story is very original and well acted by all. It's a shame they flogged the story to death with God knows how many sequels, but this original is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Nightmare On Elm Street [DVD] [1984]
A Nightmare On Elm Street [DVD] [1984] by John Saxon (DVD - 2010)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews