Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2012
Great value at £3.95, these westerns (which are region free, and not region 1 as per the listing, come from the days before PC, when you knew exactly where you stood: white hat = good guy, black hat = bad guy and the Red Indians (not Native Americans) where always the villains (Remember the Little Big Horn!!!) Watch "Buffalo Stampede" for a truly memorable example of that, never mind that in a few short years, the Buffalo Hunters wiped out the buffalo and brought the Indians to the brink of starvation.
Shot in magnificent monochrome, with wooden actors and women with 1920s hairstyles and clothing, truly great stuff. A nostalgic trip down Memory Lane. (Indeed, this one goes back to a time before even my memory). The rest of the films are "Randolph Scott" - always the good guy, always wins in the end and always finishes with a kiss for the leading lady.
If, like my wife and me, you like a good old-fashioned western, shot in bright sunshine and not (as with so many modern films) in the rain, at night, Randolph Scott's films are always worth watching. Excellent value for money and, although the listing says Region 1, these DVDs are region free (but make sure that your player will play NTSC, the American standard - the UK is PAL. Only my Panasonic won't play them, all my other machines being universal).
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
Third generation VHS-copy, at best! That's what you get. Not for the private collection but for that prize of 3 pounds you can may use it as a kind of trailer for the films and then, if you find a film you like, try to get that film in decent quality.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Took a while to get here, (10 days) received today. Although haven't played yet everything seems to be ok. 6 westerns advertised with colour posters but according to the insert ALL black & white.Contents are: RAGE AT DAWN, b&w, 1hr 27 min. BUFFALO STAMPEDE, b&w, 56 min. WAGON WHEELS, b&w, 57 min. ABILENE TOWN, b&w, 1 hr 30 min. THE FIGHTING WESTERNER (watch for a young Ann Sheridan) b&w, 1 hr 10 min and finally TO THE LAST MAN (Shirley Temple in a small role) b&w, 1 hr 1 min - playable in all regions (according to the insert).
Digitally remastered and sound enhanced from Allegro Corporation 2010. This is going to be a great Randolph Scott weekend!.
I am now re-reveiwing! have now played all six,they all play on my normal DVD player but am not surprised - RAGE AT DAWN is the only one in colour and is undoubtedly a second-hand copy, picture is quite blurred and the sound is not too good either! The other black & white films are very old, and just barely watchable. Still, for the price am glad to have this DVD in my collection,but don't think I will buy from Pop Flix again.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
For Western fans Randolph Scott needs no introduction amd this DVD contains examples of his fine work. For the low price this is an absolute snip - you are buying 5 films for less than a nighy out at the cinema. Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
although i have not watched all six movies. four i have watched were very good and entertaining, being a big fan of R scott,I did not realise he went that far back in time.but very interesting. William lester.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
One of the best b movie actors of his day.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
any randolph scott fan will be pleased with this western film set ,this is again a region 1 set , pity this is not issued as region 2 , still until then get this set as its great value .
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Brought back some memories had a quick look before I past it on to the purchaser
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Standard Randolph Scott fare but he plays the part so well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse