Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wondrerful vale for money
Great value at £3.95, these westerns (which are region free, and not region 1 as per the listing, come from the days before PC, when you knew exactly where you stood: white hat = good guy, black hat = bad guy and the Red Indians (not Native Americans) where always the villains (Remember the Little Big Horn!!!) Watch "Buffalo Stampede" for a truly memorable example of...
Published on 20 July 2012 by J. Ollett

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars grizzly picture
Third generation VHS-copy, at best! That's what you get. Not for the private collection but for that prize of 3 pounds you can may use it as a kind of trailer for the films and then, if you find a film you like, try to get that film in decent quality.
Published on 14 Jun 2012 by Karl Ericsson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wondrerful vale for money, 20 July 2012
By 
J. Ollett (Wimbledon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randolph Scott Western Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Great value at £3.95, these westerns (which are region free, and not region 1 as per the listing, come from the days before PC, when you knew exactly where you stood: white hat = good guy, black hat = bad guy and the Red Indians (not Native Americans) where always the villains (Remember the Little Big Horn!!!) Watch "Buffalo Stampede" for a truly memorable example of that, never mind that in a few short years, the Buffalo Hunters wiped out the buffalo and brought the Indians to the brink of starvation.
Shot in magnificent monochrome, with wooden actors and women with 1920s hairstyles and clothing, truly great stuff. A nostalgic trip down Memory Lane. (Indeed, this one goes back to a time before even my memory). The rest of the films are "Randolph Scott" - always the good guy, always wins in the end and always finishes with a kiss for the leading lady.
If, like my wife and me, you like a good old-fashioned western, shot in bright sunshine and not (as with so many modern films) in the rain, at night, Randolph Scott's films are always worth watching. Excellent value for money and, although the listing says Region 1, these DVDs are region free (but make sure that your player will play NTSC, the American standard - the UK is PAL. Only my Panasonic won't play them, all my other machines being universal).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars grizzly picture, 14 Jun 2012
By 
Karl Ericsson (South of Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randolph Scott Western Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Third generation VHS-copy, at best! That's what you get. Not for the private collection but for that prize of 3 pounds you can may use it as a kind of trailer for the films and then, if you find a film you like, try to get that film in decent quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 Westerns on 2 DVD's!, 4 April 2014
By 
MAC (Consett, Co. Durham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randolph Scott Western Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Took a while to get here, (10 days) received today. Although haven't played yet everything seems to be ok. 6 westerns advertised with colour posters but according to the insert ALL black & white.Contents are: RAGE AT DAWN, b&w, 1hr 27 min. BUFFALO STAMPEDE, b&w, 56 min. WAGON WHEELS, b&w, 57 min. ABILENE TOWN, b&w, 1 hr 30 min. THE FIGHTING WESTERNER (watch for a young Ann Sheridan) b&w, 1 hr 10 min and finally TO THE LAST MAN (Shirley Temple in a small role) b&w, 1 hr 1 min - playable in all regions (according to the insert).
Digitally remastered and sound enhanced from Allegro Corporation 2010. This is going to be a great Randolph Scott weekend!.
I am now re-reveiwing! have now played all six,they all play on my normal DVD player but am not surprised - RAGE AT DAWN is the only one in colour and is undoubtedly a second-hand copy, picture is quite blurred and the sound is not too good either! The other black & white films are very old, and just barely watchable. Still, for the price am glad to have this DVD in my collection,but don't think I will buy from Pop Flix again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars westerns, 8 Feb 2013
By 
H. BROLLY "western man" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randolph Scott Western Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
For Western fans Randolph Scott needs no introduction amd this DVD contains examples of his fine work. For the low price this is an absolute snip - you are buying 5 films for less than a nighy out at the cinema. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randolph Scott Western Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
One of the best b movie actors of his day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for randolph fans, 25 April 2012
By 
John R. Gidley (plymouth ,devon .uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randolph Scott Western Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
any randolph scott fan will be pleased with this western film set ,this is again a region 1 set , pity this is not issued as region 2 , still until then get this set as its great value .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars randolph scott a western collection., 30 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. William Lester "william lester" (tadworth surrey uk england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randolph Scott Western Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
although i have not watched all six movies. four i have watched were very good and entertaining, being a big fan of R scott,I did not realise he went that far back in time.but very interesting. William lester.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Randolph Scott, 6 Feb 2014
By 
J STEED - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randolph Scott Western Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Very good ie 4 out of the five films.

Randolph Scott always worth watching.

Not always a cowboy star; in the thirties and also the early forties played more saphistated rolls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Westerns, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. Jean R. Livingstone "Jean Livingstone" (Edinburgh Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randolph Scott Western Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Randolph Scott one of the old Western actors he made many movies and these are some of the best, to any western enthusiast, just enjoy tham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars all early b and w films with crackly sound track ..., 4 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: Randolph Scott Western Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
all early b and w films with crackly sound track and line on the picture. On western actually had a car in it c 1930's weird
Do not buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews