Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars different to the sims 3 but still great
i read reviews before buying sims medieval , and therefore knew before buying it that it doesnt have the same control and the sims interactions , i think the name "sims medieval" is a little misleading for sims lovers everywhere as it only has some similarity with the other sims games that i own .

its more doing a series of tasks within a time limit than...
Published on 5 May 2011 by hannah

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crash & Burn
If you are going to buy this game you need a decent pc or laptop with a good graphics card and processor to play it on. Lots of people are having issues with the game crashing frequently, me being one of them. Even with the patch downloaded. EA are currently working on sorting out the problems, but as yet have not solved them. I suggest you wait till the price comes...
Published on 27 Mar 2011 by E. Hedges


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crash & Burn, 27 Mar 2011
By 
E. Hedges "little-em" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
If you are going to buy this game you need a decent pc or laptop with a good graphics card and processor to play it on. Lots of people are having issues with the game crashing frequently, me being one of them. Even with the patch downloaded. EA are currently working on sorting out the problems, but as yet have not solved them. I suggest you wait till the price comes down when all the patches are sorted before buying as there are just too many glitches at this price for the average pc user.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definately not the sims 3 :(, 26 Mar 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
I was greatly looking forward to this games release, as i am a sims fan, and also a fan of medieval or warcraft type games. This game is as if its tried to mix the two together, but taken out all the good bits.

The worst problem, in my opinion, is that you cannot control anyone but your heroes. they can get married and have children, but you cannot control them at all. The sole purpose of the game is to complete quests, like on Sims world adventures, but this is the whole time, and you must do what it says, such as 'visit the shoppe,' and then 'write a new law.' There is no freedom to create it the way you want, which to me is the best bit. The children do not age past children, and there is no 'family tree', as in, when your king dies, the son does not become the new hero king. You simply create a new one that has no connection to any other sims. There is no family life.

Problem 2: There are no skills, like writing and athletic, which you can just choose to do. Only certain 'heroes' can do certain skills, and even that its not clear how you 'level up.'

Problem 3: No custom content. And no building. Only furnishing.

Problem 4: Cannot start as a wizard or blacksmith or whatever you want. You have to start with a monarch, complete a long boring tutorial, and then have enough 'kingdom points' (or something) to buy one building, fomr which you can have 1 new hero. As yet, i have not found a quest that uses more than one hero (although i think there are).

Problem 5: The kingdom is the same every time. You cannot change the layout.

Problem 6: Although there is a map of neighbouring kingdoms, you cannot visit, invade, or particularly interact at all with them. They seem to be there only to vote on passing laws and things, which too have no effect on your sims lives.

Sorry this has been such a negative review, but i was deeply disappointed and frustrated, as i thought they could have done a lot more with this game :'( On a lighter note, i have heard that there may be expansion packs for it, perhpas adressing theese issues, but im not sure if i want to take the risk of buying them only to be disapointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring... don't be fooled!, 6 May 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
This is not a Sims game! Do not be fooled by the title!

There are only a half-dozen or so traits, and you can only choose two for your character.

You only get one character. If you're very very good and complete the hours-long tutorial, you'll be allowed a few more characters, that you can only control at certain points in the game. (Does this mean that you have to watch your lone Sim sleep 8 hours? You bet your arse it does.)

You can't build anything in this game. The (few) buildings are pre-established, you can't change them and you can only look at them straight on (no changing camera angles).

The quests are boring beyond belief. The rabbit holes from Sims 3 make a reappearance, to "hunt" your Sim will disappear for a few minutes and reappear with a message saying you're done. Expect to do this a lot.

You cannot choose how your Sim will react to people. You can't make them fall in love unless it's part of a Quest. I met a Thief just outside the castle, and tried to make him my friend -- got pretty high "friend" values -- but the game insisted that I fight him. No, I yelled at my screen, I really don't want to. He's not a danger, he's allowed me to pass by him. But the game would not let my "quest" move forward unless I ran after the thief and defeated him in combat.

See, I thought that would make a great story -- the princess falls in love with the lowly thief! Maybe she even renounces her title and runs away with him to start a family. Or maybe he reforms his bad ways and becomes a knight. Unfortunately, this game has the Sims name -- in huge letters to let you know it's a Sims product -- but it takes away the vital, fun part of the Sims games -- to make your own story, and your own characters -- your own creative characters are what the "Sims" are!! This is not a "simulation" game; it's a common RPG that's not even fun. Fable II is better for your needs than this.

Oh, and this:

YOU CANNOT CREATE GENERATIONS. YOUR CHILDREN (that you can't ever control) WILL NEVER GROW OLDER THAN "CHILD".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor show, 23 April 2011
By 
Ms. R. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
As a previous fan of the Sims, who is also keen on the fantasy genre, I was relishing the prospect of this game. I envisioned being able to create fantastic manors, castles, cathedrals and even hovels, populating them with a host of medieval and fantasy characters of my own making. I thought the game play would be free as in previous versions of the Sims, with beautiful graphics and the ability to create a personalised world for my creations.

Although the game is rather pretty in all other areas it is a massive let down for me. It is not at all like previous versions of the Sims, so if this is what you are after then avoid it. I think it is a real mistake to have removed the ability to create buildings, as for me this has been one of the great pleasures of previous versions. I also resent being sent off on many fairly dull quests that are unavoidable, rather than choosing my own route as in previous releases. This game may have some redeeming features that become apparent with a few more hours of play, but unfortunately I am not willing to spend any more of my time finding out. I have become very bored, very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
This is a brilliant game to play, its different from your normal household on the sims, but you have missions, and it has th same ways of playing like choosing actions and making relationships. Brilliant buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sims 3 Medieval Review, 13 May 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
I bought The Sims 3 Medieval as a treat to myself after my exams. I wasnt sure what to expect so I read many reviews on here first and found they were quite mixed. Most people either loved or hated it.
When it arrived I installed it and found it is a lot more basic than the normal Sims 3. Beware Sim lovers, if you're used to the complexity of the normal game you will not find that here. The only Sim bars you have are Hunger and Energy, and the game is more focused on completing quests to excel. I personally would say this is not anything like the Sims in so far as there are little similarities, but it is more of an actual game as you must complete quests and build your kingdom. Anyone expecting to be building their own Castle or House should think otherwise, as the buildings are all Shells containing rooms like community lots or apartment blocks you will find in Sims 3 expansion packs such as Late Night or Showtime. However, your Castle expands are you move up levels from doing quests.
I first didn't like the game as I couldn't exit it straight away due to having to complete the first quest, so if you do buy this game make sure you start playing it when you have time to spare! I also didn't like the fact that you had limited control over what you could do.
However, as I played on the game became more addictive as you can begin to build more places in your kingdom and your castle expands.
I do recommend the game but not if you're expecting it to be a medieval version of The Sims 3, like the title suggests. I would say it is a mix between a game such as Skyrim or Oblivion crossed with the basis of The Sims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars different to the sims 3 but still great, 5 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
i read reviews before buying sims medieval , and therefore knew before buying it that it doesnt have the same control and the sims interactions , i think the name "sims medieval" is a little misleading for sims lovers everywhere as it only has some similarity with the other sims games that i own .

its more doing a series of tasks within a time limit than creating a life for a sim for example if your the king/queen you will have to do a main task with no time limit (ish) and then 2 tasks set for your character in a time limit

you can still
-create what your sim wears ( to an extent)

-choose furniture for your sims home

-interact with other sims and have babys get married etc

- go into other sims houses

you cannot however:-

-create walls / buildings , they are pre created ( i have the limited edition one so have some choice of castle interior at the beginning )

-age your sims , you can create them to be a young or old adult but if your sim has a baby it will mature to a child , and stay as a child .

-kill your sim by setting them on fire etc but can starve them , or kill them by jumping into a pit .

-go into houses of non created sims ( they just seem to be about but have no homes)

your sims will not have the same amount of traits / flaws and you can choose 2 good traits and one flaw but the flaw changes to a super trait in some quests

i personally enjoy this game but i do think its a compleatly different kind of game than the other sims games that people are perhaps used to . :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 29 May 2011
By 
Nicola J. Smart "~Nicci~" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
I was worried I wouldn't like this new addiction to the sims collection.
I'm glad to say I was wrong.
I find the restrictions on what you can create give you more time to play the game. Whereas with the normal Sims game play I would spend most of my time creating the town and the house and characters, sometimes for hours, but on this you dont get the option to do half the creative work.
For example, theres only one outfit to select, the character creator is simpler (but not lacking), and the houses are pre-made for you (although you can decorate them). So most of the work is done for you leaving you all that extra time to play.
The main thing I was worried about was the fact that its mission based and not free-play.
I was wrong about that.
Its still free-play but you have quests to do with no time constraints to them as well as daily mini tasks to do which do have time constraints on them with negative or positive mood bonus's (buffs) as to whether you complete them or not.
I've had the game for two days and have hardly been able to stop playing it.
If you love sims but were worried about how different this would be, forget your worries and go medieval! You wont regret it.
I didnt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DIFFERENT! Consider before you buy!, 22 April 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
I am a fan of The Sim games so I bought this straight away. I have to say it's great but it's VERY DIFFERENT. As other reviewers have said, it's different to the usual Sims gameplay; not as much control and no custom content. Not as much freedom in general as the other games. One thing that did annoy me was the camera controls - quite static considering previous games and when you are in your castle you only see it from the front.

I would say it's more like a Role Playing Game, but even as an RPG it's more restrictive than you'd expect. It's hard to explain but if you expect the Sims experience you might be dissapointed. If you expect an RPG you might be dissapointed. If you look at it as a whole new game with different gameplay then it's great! You get to do quests and fight baddies and build up your kingdom so it's still a satisfying game, it just probably should not have been a Sims game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Katie Allen got it right, 6 April 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Katie Allen, my thoughts exactly.

Bought the game yesterday, put it for sale on Ebay today.

Don't waste all that money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac)
The Sims Medieval (PC/Mac) by Electronic Arts (Mac OS X, Windows Vista / XP)
5.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews