Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GT5 Collectors Edition - Wonderfully immersive package for the driving fan
Gran Turismo has always been something of a luxury. Whilst there are plenty of other driving games available across all video game formats, there is a common misconception about which is the more real, which 'feels' better, which looks better, and thus I feel many games are wrongly criticised when, in fact, the player has misjudged the style of product. This has been all...
Published on 24 Nov 2010 by Picard

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, to good, but far from excellant
Gran Turismo 4 on the PS2 was what got me back into gaming in 2005 as a 30 something adult! It was an amazing game that kept me enthralled for well over a year as I strived for perfection. In 2007 I decided to move to an Xbox 360 and played Forza 2. I was disappointed by the lack of depth. Subsequently I played a variety of driving games on the Xbox including Forza 3,...
Published on 23 Dec 2010 by BorisVS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawed genius, 18 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5: Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
The good:

- Accessible yet realistic physics (invest in at least a DFGT wheel, it'll transform your experience of the game)
- Mostly stunning graphics, especially the astonishingly detailed premium models
- Myriad ways to lose whole days of your life (licences, special events, the usual race events, online)
- Photomode, which gives you DSLR-like controls to take stunning shots from replays and special locations
- The ability to create your own tracks
- Interesting community features; share/swap cars, message boards
- 1000 cars!

The bad:

- Some of the new content falls slightly short of expectations. The course maker is initially great, but you soon yearn for more variety/flexibility; WRC and NASCAR licences seem somewhat unfulfilled and limited in scope; and the Top Gear test track is sadly missing the fun events/challenges that it deserves.

The ugly:

- A first for the GT series: surprisingly inconsistent graphics. They're mainly awesome in the truest sense of the word; they're also occasionally spoiled by very poor handling of shadows and the standard cars can be, quite literally, rough around the edges

A flawed genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars missing stealth promo codes for pre order, 12 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5: Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
A great game , pitty ammazon didnt send the codes for the stealth cars that come with pre ordered games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gran Turismo Is still the King of racing, 9 Jan 2011
By 
Alexis Tillirides (london, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5: Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
GT5 is the latest in the franchise and is also the best and most complete to date.
The driving part of the game cannot be faulted in any way. It's simply astonishing.

A lot of the criticism of the game has to do with the 80% or so, of the (standard) cars that have not been rendered in the high definition models the premium cars enjoy. Though it's true that these standard cars are not up to spec, visually wise - once the racing starts, I don't think you have time to worry about that. Admittedly the biggest omission, is that you have no in-car view with these cars, but not many people use this that I know off.

Personally I'm happy for this cars to exist in the game as is, rather than not having the opportunity to drive them at all. Some absolute gorgeous classics in there, not to mention my car :)

The only real grudges I have with the game are to do with the sound of the cars - which seems to be ok up to half the rev range, and then get very inaccurate and unsatisfying further up the rev range, and with the loading times - even if you install the whole 8gb package onto the PS3, it still needs around 30 secs of loading for tracks.

Having said that, once the racing starts you forget all these things and start enjoying the immense racing experience this games offers you.

Bear in mind that I play the game with a force feedback steering wheel and once set in simulation mode - it's remarkably accurate.

Can't rate this highly enough - as a driving simulator.

In the a-spec mode, the various races should have had more limitations in my opinion as now, if you tune your car enough - it makes it very easy to win races. It's back to the old mantra - the right tool is all that is needed. True enough, and to be fair I had little difficulty beating most of the races even with standard cars - though doing that makes for very competitive races, but the AI will be more submissive than aggressive so if you take the right racing line - they will yield their position.

You'll soon find though, that once you get to the master lever and above, where your opponents have fast cars, the car alone won't save you. In these races, if you don't have the right car you can't even compete, but even with the right one, it's hard work, and I love that because that's what the game is about.

Overall, this is a great driving simulator - probably the best on any platform, but as a game it probably falls a bit short for some people. Like so many, I don't just look at the nice exterior (or the amazingly beautiful graphics and the weather effects) but care more about the insides of the book. And there, GT5 is faultless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yamauchi tried and got it after all..., 5 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5: Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
One thing I have to say is that I've just played Forza Motorsport 3 once, so I can't truly compare both games.

First of all, you need to know that GT5 is like a good book, you will get totally into it during the chapters, not just at the first page. Is like comparing Ken Follet with Dan Brown.

This version of the game includes six premium cars which actually are incredible useful in order to advance throughout the game, for just some extra cash I really find it worthy. And if you like some car-related lecture, the apex magazine is perfect, mostly when you get in the game and try to know the most litte bits of any circuit.

I'm litte before the middle of the game, done all the A-Spec races in Beginner, Amateur and Professional, all Karts and some B-Specs, 60+ cars in my garaje. I said this so you can have an idea how much I've been playing this game.

What I honestly admit is that when the game arrived, before any patch the game felt like "uncomplete" something that made me think I won't play this game so much. But then the 600+ MB patch came in and completely turned things for me. The capability to do some races and win more than 100k credits was a really good and smart move from Yamauchi, without it I'd have needed pretty much more time to get through the game.

People can say that the 800+ standard cars feels quite poorly treated, but if you use any of the cockpit view from the other 200 premium ones you will know perfectly where they have put the efforts, having the inner cameras inside the cars and looking the back seats of them is something really amazing.

But where the game totally gets you in is the ability to make you *feel* the speed, and I have to say that I use the regular sixaxis dualshock 3 controller. Try to race the mini cooper online event and you will know what I'm talking about. The physics and sound effects are so impressive that you actually feel the G-forces when taking a high-speed curve. That is what Yamauchi wants you to feel, and that is what I expected to get when I bought the game at first.

For someone who lives in Madrid, taking the main Madrid's avenue with a Ford GT '06 was really a gift. Of course if you stop the car or use the camera to "walk around" the circuit you will notice some low-res textures, but this is not google-maps, this is a game where you will be around 200 km/h all the time so if that is a cons, do tell me why.

I haven't tried all the features, but the Karts races are really funny, you feel (again the word) the speed and the oversteers in such a way that in the last race I was really filled with adrenaline in my veins while playing it.

Finally, what I'm trying to say is that you need to know what to expect before buying this game, which gives you exactly what Yamauchi wants: passion for cars and realism of driving. If you enjoy lacking the sound of the wind while in recoil, listening the squeezing of tires on the road, or spend hours trying to make the perfect timing in your favourite sport car, or why not, a regular 195CV Honda Civic... this is your game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing on PS3 so far, 4 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5: Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This is what the PS3 was made for, it's been a long time coming but GT5 is simply awesome and well worth the wait.
Lots of new features but will also look familiar to anyone who has played GT3 & GT4.
If you have a PS3 buy this game,if you dont buy the machine and this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who wants to drive a REAL car?, 29 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5: Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
The apex manual book is worth the money alone, So detailed it makes your nose bleed! That said I wouldn't pay more than £60 for it. I paid £50. (people are taking the p***) The game itself is a grower you need to spend the time on it to unlock courses,cars,damage..etc etc the one star reviews have come from kids expecting everything straight away and getting annoyed because its too hard for them because it's a real driving SIM and not a kiddie racer like Grid or Need for Speed. Once you have thrashed a engine round the 12 miles of German countryside inside this game you will then know that for 'feel of a car' nothing can touch this game. Theres a few pesky niggles with menus and music options and bits but updates are/will sort theses issues. One more thing is that they added an online rare model car showroom and an extra race menu called Seasonal events (24/12) where there are extra races and challenges that have a time slot. current events run from 24/12/2010 to 6/4/2010 I think,so this game now updates races meaning that the life time of this game has just grow untold amounts! I know someone who WAS diehard forza fan who bought a ps3 for Christmas just for GT5 need I say any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A few weeks later after release..., 22 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5: Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I don't usually give a review for a game until i have at least completed the story mode of that game. As GT5 is a racing game without an obvious end point to it, i feel i can give you my impressions, at least, after a few weeks ownership.

I chose the collector's edition mostly for the Apex book - which is a very nice but small book. Me being a somewhat beginner player with a Logitech G25 steering wheel, i have found the book most useful as it explains the dynamics and differences between the types of cars. The collector's edition include some 'Chrome Line' cars which you activate with a code while signed into your PSN ID. These cars are very useful early on in the game although they do sometimes make races too easy.

Now, onto the actual game itself: The game itself plays much like an RPG in which you level up as you progress - the higher level you are, the more cars, events and races are unlocked for you. It's a nice mechanism in the game because everytime you boot up the game, you feel you've achieved something and that there's going to be more things for you to do when you come back in again. It also makes it easy to lose track of time! The worst part of the game is the B-Spec mode in which you instruct your own team of drivers to compete in races. This is the worst part of the game because you're not driving yourself! but also it may be necessary to do this to gain money in order to progress in your own driving career. This makes it feel like a total 'timesink', or a 'grind'.

Having played the game a few weeks now, i have to say, get a steering wheel! It completely changes how the game plays. The support for steering wheel is excellent, i can use the clutch, H-shift gear stick, or sequential or paddle-shifts on the G25. Annoyingly though, the game recieves updates often which can turn you off when you just want to boot up the game and start driving - however, with this latest update (as of 22/12/10) they've added 'Seasonal events' and 'Online Collector's Dealership'. Not only are these updates adding more to an already large game but are addressing other minor issues and bugs - which is extremely nice support! What i'n trying to say is, this game isn't just what it is at release date, it's continually getting larger if you even manage to do everything in the entire game!

I need to finish up now, but what i've mentioned thus far is only scratching at what the game offers. There are still things like, Photo Mode (taking pictures), Kart Racing, Rallying, City Driving, car tuning, online modes, a growing and friendly (!) community, Car Museum, tracks and roads like the Nurburgring and even the Top Gear Test track. If you have even the slightest interest in cars in general, there's much fun to be had other than the 'GT Life': Racing career. Moreover, i've yet to mention the joy of drifting! With so much packed into the game, it's worth the cost of the game in my opinion. Just get the game and a steering wheel, doesn't matter which edition, the game itself is very good value. Before i go, i'd like to mention how many other people want to play with the steering wheel too, seems like driving is a universally liked activity. Seeing my young sister shifting manual gears in the game, i'd like to think that i've somehow given a few free driving lessons without the risk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Driving Simulator ever !, 11 Dec 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5: Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
After hearing many bad reviews of this game. I took my chances and went and bought the Collectors Edition. One of the best decisions I have taken.

A great game, awesome realism and great fun overall.

Buy it, it doesn't get better than this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally it's here but no WOW factor, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. D. Gayford (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5: Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
After a long wait GT5 is here.
Opened the box inserted the disc and another wait 50mins to load. Standard PD opening sequence and familiar interface starting to feel like an updated GT4.

Go for a quick drive in arcade mode to check out graphics and physics looks and feels crisp and clean.Impressed with the weather change (much needed).
Go to GT mode and a familiar feel again more licencing and tiered racing again.
Additions of karts and Nascar are a nice touch.

Detailed cars are beautiful to look at and damage is limited.
Online is improved up to 16 players can be a lot of fun if you can find a room without the idiots!!!!

Overall verdict is beautiful and polished but not worth 5 years and no WOW factor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game good game, 19 Dec 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5: Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Very good game, a little disappointed it took so long to come out, bit of an anti climax from a game that promised a whole lot more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gran Turismo 5: Collector's Edition (PS3)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews