Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damage Control
Wow. This was a brilliant but tough read. The two main characters were so painfully flawed by the events of their lives its a wonder either of them survived. But survive they did. The picture of the Cornish landscape Harper paints is wonderful, Kynance Cove where I spent halcyon holidays, the pounding surf, the flowers covering the moors, the scent of the sea...
Published 2 months ago by Phase58

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I did enjoy this.
It was a bit unbelievable but I liked the addition of the dog to the story. Not as good as scrap metal.
Published 21 months ago by Jac Reeve


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damage Control, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driftwood (Kindle Edition)
Wow. This was a brilliant but tough read. The two main characters were so painfully flawed by the events of their lives its a wonder either of them survived. But survive they did. The picture of the Cornish landscape Harper paints is wonderful, Kynance Cove where I spent halcyon holidays, the pounding surf, the flowers covering the moors, the scent of the sea. Wonderfully evocative. And damaged Tom, trying desperately to recover from PTSD and return to some form of normalcy; Flynn punishing himself and being punished by the man who professes (eventually) to love him for an act he had no recollection of and was not responsible for. This book is filled with pain and suffering that long term depression and guilt brings. The story puts the reader through an emotional wringer but you come out at the end better for it.
This story was brilliant, I've never been disappointed by Harper Fox, her stories are deep, full of character, emotionally and physically descriptive and are set in locations most British readers can identify with.
There is one downside to this book, nothing to do with the story, but the awful cover - neither of the characters portrayed would in anyone's imagination look remotely like them!! The rest of it is brilliant, and I love Belle, another damaged creature who fits so seamlessly with Tom and Flynn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars like this a lot, 14 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driftwood (Kindle Edition)
I found the MC's interesting - it was a read that I really enjoyed - unexpected - cetainly different from the usual m/m romance/mystery - very nice indeed. I would have given this read a solid 4.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Geoff Flint (Stafford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driftwood (Kindle Edition)
My first read of Harper Fox and well impressed.The story has good characters, pace and I found wholey believable. Harper Fox may live in Northumberland but has researched Cornwall intimately and to great effect.The anguish and joys of the story drive you to read on almost with a sense of urgency.... and when finished I simply re-read it to enjoy again the love of two guys that endured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 6 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driftwood (Kindle Edition)
Don't be put off by the review below. This is a great read that is significantly better than the majority of gay literature out there. Unlikely to with the Man Booker but highly readable, tender with a pacey and substantial plot. Fair criticism that at times the characters dialogue is a little contrived but the characters themselves are well developed and Fox does a good job at building them into believable people that face the same challenges of love, fear and the unknown as the rest of us. Buy it, enjoy it, read it again guaranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing read, 1 April 2013
This review is from: Driftwood (Kindle Edition)
A good book, with well-formed characters and a plot that carries you along. Sometimes a little clunky in its sentiments, but balances that with some beautifully crafted and evocative lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I did enjoy this., 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driftwood (Kindle Edition)
It was a bit unbelievable but I liked the addition of the dog to the story. Not as good as scrap metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story well told, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driftwood (Kindle Edition)
I loved this story. I read a lot of MM Romance and this book is definitely at the top end of the genre. I am with Dave 2002 on that. The characters were engaging and believable, as were their tales. Nothing maudling or over-told about the book at all, but instead a gripping portrayal of the lives of men harmed by conflict and redeemed by love. The sex is well written and realistic imho, and integral to the telling of the story. The bit players were well rounded too and I hope we'll get to visit the little Cornish town and it's brave and interesting inhabitants again soon. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Painfully bad, 2 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driftwood (Kindle Edition)
Very poorly written. The author skips important details, making it necessary for the reader to go back repeatedly to try figure out what just happened. Very little in the way of plot, and the sequence of events is laughably unrealistic. Characters are dreadful stereotypes and the dialogue is plain cringe-worthy. I gave up half way through in disgust. One to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Driftwood
Driftwood by Harper Fox
£2.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews