Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars58
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 October 2010
Mastered from the original 1971 mixes - this is as good as the original mixes are going to sound. I've owned the original 80s CD Release and the original 1971 Vinyl and this is the best Imagine has sounded. Don't hesitate if you're a fan. Bear in mind the mixes themselves are not up to today's standards, but the Abbey Road mastering engineers have done a superb job with the source material. Tape hiss intact too - which means no unnecessary noise reduction used. Imagine that!
33 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 1999
Lennon excelled himself in 1971 with the album, Imagine. Recorded at his home at Tittenhurst Park, it represents his first reconciling of his bare emotional statements to a more commercial musical interpretation.
All of the tracks here are excellent, particularly the moving "Jealous Guy", the gutsy and satirical "Gimme Some Truth" and the unusual "I Don't Wanna Be A Soldier", but the crowning glory is the evergreen "Imagine", rightly considered to be one of the greatest pop songs ever written. Although some of its sentiments may ring through as unrealistic as the end of the 1990's approaches, but the beautiful melody and airy arrangement cannot be ignored.
Apart from some muddy and poorly executed production in places, this album is a masterpiece of popular music making.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
Title : Imagine
Realeased 1971
Producer John Lennon/Yoko OIno/Phil Spector
The band : John Lennon, George Harrison, Klaus Voorman, Alan White, Nicky Hopkins and others
Composer John Lennon except "Oh My Love" Lennon/Ono
Chart position : No1 in USA and UK charts.
Location : UK and USA
Singles released : Imagine in USA, no releases in UK.

The Tracks : Imagine
The title track "Imagine" became Lennon's signature song and was written as a plea for world peace.

Crippled Inside :
A great rockin song with a sharp anti hypocricy lyric. George Harrison plays the "Dobro" on this to fantastic effect.

Jealous Guy :
"Jealous Guy" has also had enduring popularity and was originally composed as "Child of Nature" during the songwriting sessions in India in 1968 that led to The Beatles White album.

It's So Hard :
Great blues track.

I Don't Want To Be A Soldier :
The title says it all.

Gimme Some Truth :
This song was written in 1969 during the Let It Be sessions and finished off for this album.

Oh My Love :
Beautiful love song co-written by Lennon/Ono

How Do You Sleep :
John Lennon quoted, "I used my resentment against Paul... to create a song... not a terrible vicious horrible vendetta... I used my resentment and withdrawing from Paul and The Beatles, and the relationship with Paul, to write 'How Do You Sleep'. I don't really go 'round with those thoughts in my head all the time".[4]

How :
Sensitive and painfully appealing.

Oh Yoko
EMI pushed for this track to be the single, but Lennon thought it was too "pop".

Extensive footage of the sessions, showing the evolution of some of the songs, was compiled on a video documentary entitled Gimme Some Truth: The Making of John Lennon's Imagine.

This is a must have album for any music lover and in my opinion the best John lennon album. This new re-mixed version makes it sound even better.
55 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2004
"Imagine" may not have been as groundbreaking or as superb as "John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band," but it's certainly more listenable. There is not much that can really be said for the opening title track, except that it has probably had more effect on people as a whole than any other popular song of the 20th century. The way that the piano softly fluctuates as Lennon fantasises about a world with no religion, countries, war, bloodshed or possessions and invites us to do also, and then a lush string quartet - which never goes over the top and always stays in a tender and controlled mood - is introduced as John sings, "you may say I'm a dreamer but I'm not the only one, I hope someday you'll join us and the world will live as one" to convict us that it really would work, if only we would all let it be more than a dream - inspires awe. The other masterpiece of the album is "Jealous Guy," one of John's tenderest and sincerest odes to his wife in which he apologises for an un-named incident and acknowledges his own frailty: "I'm just a jealous guy." There's also the diatribe "How Do You Sleep?" aimed directly at Beatles collaborator and close friend Paul McCartney, with such cruel but irresistible lines as, "The only thing you done was 'Yesterday'." The album basically swings from the political to the confessional - in fact, "Imagine" is probably the most exemplary and typical demonstration of John Lennon's work as a whole - even if "John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band" is just a little bit better.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Bored with the track "Imagine" and i am sure that John was too,no big deal, only a simple song to sing and record,and he is right. SO then, the other songs, 'Crippled Inside' Jive of a song,real sing-a-long,great words for someone that's hurting. 'Jealous Guy' Yoko,this time,well it surely isn't Cynthia.'It's so hard' So-So,nice rocker. 'I don't wanna be a soldier' Best song on the album and the longest,expression on this track means everything. 'Gimme some truth' John having a go at the media..AGAIN! 'Oh my love' Written by Lennon/Ono,beautiful song,one of the most lovely songs i have ever heard. 'How do you sleep?' As we nearly ALL know,this is about "Paul McCartney",John was very bitter with him at the time. 'How?' No question,reep the money John and you CAN go on,cos,Yoko is the buisiness woman! 'Oh Yoko' Speaks for itself,dose'nt it. Still there you go,my Third fave Lennon album. Wanna musicians opinion.
1) Mind Games 1973
2) Walls and Bridges 1974
3) Imagine 1971
4) John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band 1970
5) Sometime in New York City 1972
6) Double Fantasy 1980
7) Unfinished music No.2 Life with the lions 1969
8) Unfinished music No.1 Two Virgins 1968
9) John Lennon Rock 'n ' Roll 1975
10) The Wedding Album 1969
11) Live peace in Toronto 1970
"Shaved Fish" is a compilation album released in November 1975..these tracks are NOT in full so you are getting a 'Shaved' (excuse the pun) version of most of the tracks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There isnt much to say about this release except that the album is brilliant. And of course its a classic. Much has already been said about the album so I will just add comments about this release.
The remastered sound is excellent and the album sounds better than ever. The packaging is the currently fashionable Eco type with the semi mock vinyl presentation. There is no tray for the CD disc but it has to slip inside the cardboard cover. This was something I found a pain since its much to tight a fit. But other than that it is an excellent presentation.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Someday someone will claim Lennon was a modern day saint.

Received quickly and in good contion

The interesting part of this version is it contains 'How do you sleep at night'. A brilliant track in its own right and provides an insight into the relationship between Lennon and McCartnery afrter the Beatles split up.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 September 2011
Be careful not to build this album into something that it isn't. It isn't a great album - some tracks are, but others are little more than jamming sessions that were used to fill the two sides.

It's the contradictions that make this such a strange and ultimately interesting album.

The title track 'Imagine' is now a peace anthem - high ideals, a hymn of gentility that is used to portray Lennon as an idealist. But how badly that sits with the vitriolic attack on Paul McCartney that is 'How do you sleep?'!

'Gimme some Truth' has some of the most powerful anti-establishment lyrics ever committed to record. Brilliant. But 'I don't Wanna be a soldier Mama' is repetitive and weak by comparison - little more than a make-it-up-as-you-go session.

`Jealous Guy' - painfully brilliant. `Crippled Inside' - nowhere near as good.

'Oh my Love'- Lennon balladeering at his best. "Oh Yoko!" - a song that seems to be trying to prove something, but which ultimately fails.

Don't get me wrong - this is an album worth buying and worth playing often. But it shows an artist in pain - trying to resolve the momentous decision he made to leave everything and set up with Yoko, hitting out at his former best friend, trying to find a new role for himself.

Listen to it in that light, and `Imagine' makes sense, the ambiguities can be explained. Not a great album overall, but a piece of pop history - in turn beautiful, strange, contradictory, interesting.
55 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 March 2016
This 2010 remaster of Imagine was remastered from the original mixes, unlike the 2000 CD reissue which was remixed and remastered from the original multitrack tapes.I have the 2000 version of this album, and to me it sounds far better than the 2010 remaster. I always thought that the original mixes of Imagine sounded muddy and dull, so I much prefer the 2000 version. To me the Imagine album itself isn't one of John's best, I prefer the much edgier Plastic Ono Band album. Songs like Imagine are good but vastly overplayed, It's So Hard is still really hard to listen to, and Jealous Guy just sounds self-pitying. There are some good songs on here though, my three standout tracks are I Don't Wanna Be A Soldier, How Do You Sleep? and How?, I just think that the Imagine album as a whole is a bit uneven, but definitely one to own if you have any interest in his solo career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
One of the greatest albums of all time. Some of the worst presentation I've seen. Cardboard instead of plastic case and no paper insert to protect CD. No autorip for when CD gets scratched by rubbish cardboard packaging. Dead expensive.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.