Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
15
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£25.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 October 2010
The press release prior to 'Mad Band' being available spoke of performances from each city visited on the tour...and the back of the digipack lists the songs on the DVD and says which city they are from. However this isn't altogether factual.
The DVD film is a series of performances punctuated with short fly on the wall clips. Sounds great...but the soundtrack is mostly taken from one London show, and even the images are edited so that many different shows are present as part of the same performance. This leads to many continuity problems and also a lot of syncing issues. Also, the final performance of Bury me in Smoke from Donington looks like it was taken from a terrible source - as this was professionally filmed and edited so I find this very disappointing.
The two cds are the whole of the London show - so in 90% of cases the audio from the CD is the same as the soundtrack to the DVD. So again, the press release which boasted a package 'also featuring another whole show' is misleading at best.
Don't get me wrong - this is an enjoyable package for Down fans - particularly those of us that went to these shows. But it doesn't do 'exactly what it says on the tin' so for that reason it gets a three-star review.
55 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
This CD/DVD is awesome! I saw them in London on this tour and again at the same Download Festival featured on this DVD so was excited when this was to be released. My only gripe and what prevented me from giving it the 5 stars it deserves is that the video for each performance is spliced together from footage of that song from each of the two nights they played in that city. So the bands clothes keep changing throughout each song, and some parts look like they're miming as the audio is from one performance, and the video is from two. Apart from that, this is a must have for any fan of Down.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
I looked forward to this release, but I'm disappointed with its quality. It is not actually live because they have edited the shows, to match the best images to the best sound (I suppose). That is all very well, but this means, that for example Pepper have different shirts on, depending on which shows they have edited from - so one second his shirt is black, the next second it is red - all in the same song. Another example is that you can hear Phil singing in the microphone, although he is pointing it towards the audience. If you can look beyond all this, it is a good release. But in my opinion, it is not really live, more like edited music videos.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
first of all, let me say that i agree with the other people about the dvd, in my opinion the dvd is a waste of time. the reason i have given this 5 stars is live album that comes with this package. i managed to see them on this tour twice and it captures the mood of the shows perfectly, it is an amazingly good live album and i would say to people, get this just for that. it's a pity you can't get an audio only version of this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
Vocals ruin it for me, Phil is nowhere near as good as he should be. Saw em in 2009 and he was on top form. Some tracks are just unlistenable.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
Absolutely brilliant. Down. Live. Exactly what you'd expect - no guest appearances, no cover versions, no surprises- but so, so, so much better for it. An essential purchase for any casual or die-hard Down fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
this is a very good live package of live cds and live dvd from the doom metal band down all the songs are from the first two albums and nothing from the third album which is a shame well worth buying if your a fan of the band if your into sabbath type heavy rock your love this group my only complain is the inside booklet is missing from the cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
one of my all time fave bands, not as good as the earier stuff, ( nola etc) but still liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
10 out of 10.
A must have album.

Do i need say more really!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
Before i start, i am a hugeeeeeeeeeee down/crowbar fan and was at their show in london,which was cool..(this was the one when phil tells you not to clap and shi*e during jail)..
however the cd/dvd is a slight letdown if you may..depends what you are looking for..love the live shows..band, but i suppose i was hoping (after all the publicity)to get to see/hear more back stage stuff of the band and honestly there is more fun stuff in the down pre concert vdo they always do than this dvd.the dvd has say randon clips from phil(LOVE THE MAN..)basically saying randon things mostly)..and not a lot from the band ..
and i am pretty sure the cd is the same sound track as the dvd..
still this being down,can't give it 3 stars..(any other band i would have)..but probably doesnt deliver as much..
The power of the riff compels me.............
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)