Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough
Not much to really say about this so I'll simply summarize:

Pros
Well-cushioned against impacts
Grooves on the back aid grip
Cheap
Quite small, doesnt add a lot of bulk to the iPhone.

Cons
Smells! To make this point clear, it really smells of untreated rubber, I'm sure this will pass in time, though.
The holes don't...
Published on 10 Aug. 2011 by L. Otto

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not stylish or robust enough
Ther are two problems with this iPhone case. The first is that it does not feel very secure, the wrap around edges do not grip the iPhone, and with that looseness the volume controls become less pleasant to use. The other issue I have is less crucial and it is that the case is not attractive, and it makes the iPhone look cheap.
Published on 18 April 2011 by C. Barnes


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, 10 Aug. 2011
By 
L. Otto (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Case for Apple iPhone 4 / 4S Black Silicone (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not much to really say about this so I'll simply summarize:

Pros
Well-cushioned against impacts
Grooves on the back aid grip
Cheap
Quite small, doesnt add a lot of bulk to the iPhone.

Cons
Smells! To make this point clear, it really smells of untreated rubber, I'm sure this will pass in time, though.
The holes don't match up perfectly, but they're good enough.
Rubber makes it very hard to pull out of a jean pocket.

Overall, all cons aside, its a good value product that would save your phone from a potentially fatal drop, and for the price paid, that makes it worth it alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rubbery wubbery..., 8 May 2011
This review is from: AmazonBasics Case for Apple iPhone 4 / 4S Black Silicone (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
AmazonBasic's iPhone 4 case seems softer and more pliable than most silicon cases, it feels less rubbery somehow. The pliability makes it feel like it's a slightly loose fit on the iPhone, but there's really little danger of it coming off in use. There might be an anti-lint coating on it too because unlike most silicon cases it doesn't magically attract every single piece of fluff that comes close - it's not immune to lint, but it's better than some. I'm not sure why the Apple logo on the back of the iPhone needs its own peephole, it just means the logo gets scratched while the rest of the iPhone doesn't, not sure I understand the point of that - surely we can't all be so brand-obsessed? :-)

It's a nice case for not a lot of money though and the AmazonBasics logo (because there had to be one) is very subtly embossed into the lower back. If you don't already have a screen protector fitted Amazon also offer a kit containing both items here: AmazonBasics Silicone Case & Screen Protector. Altogether it's good value all-round protection from day to day bumps and scrapes for your iPhone 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not stylish or robust enough, 18 April 2011
By 
C. Barnes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Case for Apple iPhone 4 / 4S Black Silicone (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ther are two problems with this iPhone case. The first is that it does not feel very secure, the wrap around edges do not grip the iPhone, and with that looseness the volume controls become less pleasant to use. The other issue I have is less crucial and it is that the case is not attractive, and it makes the iPhone look cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy case for protecting your iPhone4, 1 Feb. 2011
By 
D. J. Burton (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Case for Apple iPhone 4 / 4S Black Silicone (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this case to protect my iPhone4 from everyday knocks and bumps. The case is very easy to fit and the design makes sure it doesn't interfere with the controls of the phone (camera, buttons etc).

The silicone rubber seems quite sturdy, especially the back part of the cover.

Downsides are that the case is a bit baggy at the sides, but even so there is no chance of the phone coming out of the case. It also makes the phone a bit difficult to get out of your pocket but I presume this is the case with all silicone rubber cases. It's still worth considering this fact when you buy one.

Good value, and sturdy design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor fit, 3 April 2011
By 
D. Richards (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Case for Apple iPhone 4 / 4S Black Silicone (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
OK this product is cheap, but I would at least expect it to fit the phone! Unfortunalely the rubber along the sides is far too lose and does not "grip" the phone tightly enough. The result is that the rubber cover keeps slipping off the phone altogether everytime it leaves my pocket.

The good points of this product is that it does leave enough room for the camera to work fine, and enough room for you to be able to access the top and side buttons with ease. Also, there is a nice "grooved pattern" on the back of the case.

Overall, a product that looks ok, but fits the phone poorly. Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 11 April 2011
By 
F. Schubert "TechnoHeini" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Case for Apple iPhone 4 / 4S Black Silicone (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Over the last year I have gone through a whole range of different iPhone 4 cases. I have tried pretty much everything from the hard plastic bumpers sold in the apple stores to the cheep and cheerful silicon cases sold on the street. The Amazon Basics edition, in my opinion comes in more or less in the middle of the pack.

What I like about it is the design, particularly on the back (you can see that on the second product picture), which not only shows the apple logo (which most covers don't), but there is also a nice radiating pattern from this central features and bevel around the camera lens. This alone would make me choose this case over many similar ones. The cover is also well made, durable and still lets you access all the essential buttons with ease. Some other cases I used in the past would make it difficult to recharge your phone or dock it, but that's no problem with this one. You will also get away without a rear protector film.

Now some of the drawbacks: At the end of the day this is still a silicon case and with that comes the fact that the edges are not very stiff and therefore the case can dislodge from the phone quite easily. Especially along the longer sides and if you are anything like me and put your phone in your pocket a lot you may find your pockets turned inside out or the case being pulled off the phone when you try to retrieve it. It also means that dust will inevitably start to accumulate under the case, which to be fair is a problem that no case, cover or bumper has been able to solve properly.

So, in a nutshell. If you're after a silicon case for your iPhone and you are happy for the world to know that it came from Amazon (the Amazon logo is part of the design in the lower right corner) then I think you could make a far worse choice than getting this one. The price seems fair given the quality and design and you get a choice of the usual colours. If you are after more of an executive look or dislike the properties of silicone then go with one of the leather or hard plastic cases instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Under cover, 29 Jan. 2011
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Case for Apple iPhone 4 / 4S Black Silicone (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Okay, I have to admit I made an error. I asked for a cover for the iPhone and then realised that there was another one that came with a screen protector so I ordered that too. Fortunately, there are two iPhone users in this household. Though listed as separate items, Amazon consider both products the same so only allow one review, which is why both are mentioned here. Why does anyone need a case for their mobile phone? What are you going to do if you drop your iPhone and then have to search for all the pieces? Yes, you'll probably swear a lot but you'll also feel an idiot for not having a cover to protect it, which is far cheaper than having to buy a new phone.

Both cases are silicon (for that, read rubber) and is functional in its job. The first, cheaper, case has cut-outs that allow access to all the controls, as well as the Apple logo, and the reverse has a circular pattern, which is listed as an aid for grip; it isn't. It's just a pattern. Whilst the second, dearer, case may look similar, there is one significant difference. The cut-outs are all the same, the colour is black and the reverse is missing the pattern (it does have a pointless slightly raised middle third). What this case does have is a bobbled section down both sides that when held, falls easy to hand to help grip the case and because of this, is the better of the two. (It feels slightly firmer as a result.)

In addition, the second case also comes with a screen protector, cleaning cloth and squeegee for application. It might not seem much but I'd rather have something protecting the screen than having to peer through endless scratches - and an unprotected screen will get scratched. Once applied, no one will know it's on there. If it is damaged too much, peel it off and apply another; if your mates' are damaged, they have to pay for a new screen. Is it expensive? Possibly, but think of what it might save you. If black isn't your colour, the first case is also available in red, pink or white.

Final words about the frustration free packaging. Whilst it's easy to open, it is rather ridiculous. A single case in a box with room for ten and then placed in further cardboard packaging. This could have been put in a jiffy bag, which would also mean it could be put through a letterbox. Come on Amazon; it's not going to break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what you'd expect, 27 April 2011
By 
D. O'Brien "D.O'Brien" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Case for Apple iPhone 4 / 4S Black Silicone (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What can be said about something this simple - it does exactly what you'd expect it to do. The material is silconised rubber, which makes it gripable, but slightly slick, so that you can keep the encased phone in your pocket without the rubber catching all the time. It fits quite well to the phone, and is flexible enough to slip on and off without too much trouble.
There are only a few downsides, which cumulatively have cost it one star. Firstly a rubber-based case will always add a bit of bulk to the phone, and this is no different - it feels a bit like you're carrying a padded phone, rather than the sleek cutting-edge technology that the iPhone 4 is supposed to be. Secondly, Amazon have stamped their basics range badge onto the back of the case, in large and unmissable font, so if you're ever tempted to show your phone off you might want to take the case off first. Lastly, the shape of the case and the way it grips on to the phone produces a slight bulge outwards at either side of the screen, rather than having it fit snugly all round. This is only a few millimetres, but it is noticeable, and makes this cheap case look like it's exactly that.
However, all that being said, this case is actually quite rugged and protective of your expensive technology, so in that respect it's an ideal partner for your phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad product, excellent value for money!, 6 Mar. 2011
By 
Neil Goodacre - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Case for Apple iPhone 4 / 4S Black Silicone (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I don't have an I-phone so I let me wife road test this. Between us, we've observed the following:

1) The pattern on the back is pretty cool and accentuates the Apple symbol, a veritable talisman to member of the cult of the I-phone.
2) The sleeve is a pretty good fit, but is a little bit slack on the edges. A little snugger would have been better.
3) You can get to all of the button easily enough and reception does not seem to be affected.
4) The rubber is, unfortunately, the sort of rubber that attracts fluff and bits of tissue.
5) The wife's make-up rubbed off on this, which has never been a problem with the official Apple cover she uses.

So, on balance, this is the sort of product that does the job it's intended to, with maybe one or two imperfections which, to be honest, is about what you'd expect from a "basics" line I suppose. Where this product really earns its keep is in its price. The missus stung me for 25 quid for an offical cover when this would have been more than adequate. If we'd known about these, we could have grabbed one instead and had plenty of cash left over for a decent take away. I suppose you live and learn, eh?

Anyway, this is a pretty good product. Recommended on price point alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars iphone case black, 15 Mar. 2011
By 
A. White "Eternal-41269" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Case for Apple iPhone 4 / 4S Black Silicone (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this in Black, it has a good fit (unlike some other reviewers have been saying) and am confident that it will protect the iphone from minor bumbs and skratches whilest making it harder for you to accidently knock of a surface.

However, even though this is one of the cheaper cases on the market I still feel the current price (as of March 2011) is abit much for what it is. The iphone is a very stylish phone, which even though this has a rather nice swirl design on the back doesn't reflect the product it intends to protect. The black is more like a dark grey next to the iphones black gloss and you can see the join line right down the edges of the case, which in my opinion spoils the product and why one of it's stars was lost (the other being that I feel it should be slightly cheaper). As the case has some thickness to it, it can also make using the touch screen at its very edge abit harder, as you can catch it. I feel that most cases will have this problem though.

Also as a rather Amazon typical purchase the frustation free packaging is rather large for such a small item (although what a relief to not have to deal with plastic packaging!) and came with another larger box around it, which just isn't needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews