Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed until my sides hurt - whole family loved it.
I'm used to the idea that Englishmen are infamous for taking their Englishness with them to foreign cultures, and thereby remain outsiders. I remember lectures on post-colonialism at university and thought the world had got that - and moved on - what's funny about a Philistine? I was so wrong. It was utterly hilarious and I laughed so hard I could hardly draw breath...
Published on 8 Jan. 2011 by katrina_marina

versus
37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series - below par DVD
Firstly, let me state that this review is (as all on Amazon should be) about the DVD release of the show, and not the show itself. The show itself was utterly brilliant. Karl; has impeccable comic timing and while you can't help but feel sorry for him at times when he's genuinely not enjoying the enviable task of visiting the seven modern wonders of the world, it is...
Published on 19 Nov. 2010 by S. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed until my sides hurt - whole family loved it., 8 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Karl Pilkington's An Idiot Abroad [DVD] (DVD)
I'm used to the idea that Englishmen are infamous for taking their Englishness with them to foreign cultures, and thereby remain outsiders. I remember lectures on post-colonialism at university and thought the world had got that - and moved on - what's funny about a Philistine? I was so wrong. It was utterly hilarious and I laughed so hard I could hardly draw breath! There were beautiful moments too when the pace changed; approaching the Taj Mahal by river, and the Jordan caves.
I couldn't watch more than one episode at a time; my ribs couldn't take it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series 2 please!, 7 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. S. Burford (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karl Pilkington's An Idiot Abroad [DVD] (DVD)
After the podcasts this was definitely the next step, seeing the orange headed man out there seeing parts of the world he doesn't really want to go to. The comedy here is the naivety of how other people live and how it relates to Karl's life, he picks out comedy where others wouldn't find it and is fantastically unique in that respect - it is hard to tell what is coming next.

Peru is the pinnacle, meeting a tribe and he considers teaching them a bit of dancing but of course, it may render them all useless.

Series 2 has to come, just pay him whatever he wants. I'd get him going to meet some more indigenous tribes or crazy people like a comedy version of Louis Theroux. That would be awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny!, 11 Dec. 2010
By 
M. Partis "matt" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Karl Pilkington's An Idiot Abroad [DVD] (DVD)
Having been given this as a birthday present recently, I was not sure about it. I do not have Sky and had not seen this, but was aware of Karl Pilkinton from watching The Ricky Gervais Show. I have to say that I watched the first two episodes laughing out loud, and quickly made my way through the rest of the series. The comedy is quite natural (but probably not to everyone's taste, admittedly), but while Ricky keeps telling us that the motivation behind the series was to play a practical joke on Karl, it ends up instead as being a wonderful gift, even if he doesn't appreciate it. However, we can. The series is wonderful and vibrant to watch. Enjoy it, but also learn from it. It is everything a Michael Palin series isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational, Funny and Karl, 30 Oct. 2010
By 
yaleey (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Karl Pilkington's An Idiot Abroad [DVD] (DVD)
I feel that the ones who have written such negative reviews may be missing the point of the series completely, in what could possibly be the best series of 2010. The series is not intended to provide a deep insight to the 7 wonders of the world; if you are wishing this sort of insight then you'd be better off watching Michael Palin. The premise of this series is that it is about a man who hates traveling, hates "being outside of his comfort zone", combined with the fact that he is extremely ignorant of other counties and other cultures.......THIS is what makes it so funny! A lot of people have criticisms on the show, claiming that it is scripted....it's not. Each episode, Ricky Gervais and Steve Merchant send him to visit a different wonder of the world and set arrange some visits and extra activities along the way. The countries he visits, in order, are China, India, Jordan, Mexico, Egypt, Brazil and Peru. It's hilarious seeing Karl give his own unique insights into the cultures and the customs of the people he meets along the way, along with his moans and gripes with each place (Ricky and Steve deliberately want him to experience the sites as "authentically" as possible in an attempt to make him more cultured). His observations and opinions are at times genuinely hilarious and fans of the Ricky Gervais show and podcasts will already be familiar with his unique views on the world in general. I find it quite bemusing how certain reviewers will dismiss the entire 7 episodes based on such insight as they don't like Ricky Gervais' laugh...grow up. My only criticism is that it is only 7 shows. I really do hope for a 2nd series, where perhaps Karl can visit some other countries and cultures, maybe even Ricky and Steve can go aswell to provide their own insights. I would describe the series as educational and funny. If you are expecting Michael Palin, then go and watch Michael Palin! Let's please have another series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "BRILLIANT" Idiot!, 6 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karl Pilkington's An Idiot Abroad [DVD] (DVD)
As a Yank who loves British humor, I trusted this series to be good based on the involvement of Ricky Gervais. Little did I know how good is was. They say travel broadens the mind, but in Karl Pilkington's case it seems the opposite is true (although occasionally we see that's not entirely correct). While all of this series' laughs are derived from Karl's torment in dealing with other cultures, every so often he expresses real insight from his experiences (such as his feelings on seeing the barrier that separates Palestinians from Israel). If you love British humor and travelogues then you will likely find this DVD series highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can't stand gervais ,but this is comedy gold ., 13 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karl Pilkington's An Idiot Abroad [DVD] (DVD)
watching karl pilkington is the funniest thing i have seen on tv for quite a while ,some of the things he comes out with are gems and the bewilderment and sheer horror that frequently portray his face during the places he is sent to visit ,will indeed get most people buckled up in fits of laughter ,treat yourself for xmas if you have not seen this on sky tv ,you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very funny, 5 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karl Pilkington's An Idiot Abroad [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant, one of the funniest things I have watched recently. The basic premise is that Karl (a man who hates travel, with little interest in foreign cultures) is sent to see the 7 wonders of the world. For intrepid explorers this DVD probably isn't very enlightened, but lets be honest most of us do mind roughing it and are a bit squeemish about unusual aspects of foreign cultures! Whether Karl is real, or an amazing actor, watching him react to the situations he finds himself in is hilarious. The only down side to this DVD - Ricky Gervais' fake laugh every time he tells Karl about the next destination (thankfully only a few minutes at the start of each episode!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstandingly good, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
J. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An Idiot Abroad is such a refreshing show. I love travelling and this does give an insight of sorts but it is more akin to the kind of travelling a regular person does. It's not all glamour and glitz staying in fancy 5 star places. Sure due to the nature of the programme Karl is put into some extreme positions and situations but it makes for fantastic entertainment while giving you a view of what the place is really like. Viewing the wonders from a different perspective certainly.

This is a laugh out loud programme and one I would thoroughly recommend buying if you've not had the good fortune to see it on Sky1 HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painfully Funny, 8 Mar. 2012
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Karl Pilkington's An Idiot Abroad [DVD] (DVD)
An Idiot Abroad is a great series in that it mixes to great Television Genre's; The Travel Documentary and Comedy to create a hilarious even sometimes informative series.

The 'Idiot' is Karl Pilkington a former producer for Ricky Gervais and writing partner Stephen Merchant's radio show and the object of ridicule for the Hilarious Ricky Gervais Podcast's. Pilkington's observations and awkwardness when out of his comfort zone are the key to the success of why the series is so funny.

In this first series Gervais and Merchant get Karl to visit Seven Wonders of the World whilst learning to the local customs, culture and food these places have to offer.

Episode List;

1.China
2.India
3.Jordan
4.Mexico
5.Egypt
6.Brazil
7.Peru
8.Karl Comes Home (Round up of Series Highlight's)

I highly recommend this series if you just want a good old fashioned belly laugh after belly laugh, but be prepared for your body to ache from laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining and funny travel, 8 Sept. 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Karl Pilkington's An Idiot Abroad [DVD] (DVD)
There are so many reviews so I will just say this is a very entertaining and funny set of travel programmes.
Some of the places Karl is sent to look really rough to me and it can be a bit uncomfortable to watch but always informative and entertaining. The thing that holds it all together is the very funny comments from Karl.
Great little series and I would easily watch it again. Also I would easily watch a second series.
This is a good DVD set of eight programmes and brief extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Karl Pilkington's An Idiot Abroad [DVD]
Karl Pilkington's An Idiot Abroad [DVD] by Krishnendu Majumdar (DVD - 2010)
£2.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews