Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unjustly neglected Puccini masterpiece given a definitive performance
Opera-lovers and Puccini himself owe a huge debt of gratitude to Angela Gheorghiu and Roberto Alagna, who have invested an enormous amount of their time, enthusiasm and great talents in ensuring that this operatic masterpiece has come to the attention of a global audience over the course of the last decade and a half. Since their wonderful recording of this opera with...
Published on 2 Oct. 2010 by P. Markham

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, but that's about it.
I did not find it having anywhere near the depth and storyline that would make me give it more than the three stars I did. Nothing seriously wrong, mind you; just that it is not that memorable and may well account for it being "neglected" as many have observed.
Published on 14 Feb. 2011 by operatic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars La Rodine great viewing, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La rondine - Live from the Met [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I wanted to watch this DVD before going to Covent Garden to see it. I found it of high quality and enjoyable viewing as might be expected from NY Met. Thats why I gave it a love it grading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 13 Jun. 2011
By 
C. Wootten "Boheme88" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La rondine - Live from the Met [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I don't understand why this opera isn't performed that much nowadays. This is the best production available. Gheorghiu is great despite the shaky start but I'll leave her off due to the cold she had during the time. Highly recommended to any opera lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid performance of unjustly neglected work!, 30 Mar. 2011
By 
Mr. DAVID Geer "Korngold Fan" (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La rondine - Live from the Met [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
The music from La Rondine is not new to me but it was in its entirety! This is a lovely staging, design especially good, and the performance from all, is as good as the others here say it is.....HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but sad that Angela Gheorghio who married Roberto ..., 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La rondine - Live from the Met [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Excellent, but sad that Angela Gheorghio who married Roberto Alagna on this DVD seems incapable of staying married to anyone for long due to her theatrical outbursts and rather temperamental disposition! - You might say.....Always a bride...never a bridesmaid!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good viewing. Item arrived on time, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La rondine - Live from the Met [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Good viewing . Item arrived on time, well packed and as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 28 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La rondine - Live from the Met [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
not one of puccinis best but well worth listening to. and well performed by th artists But what else would we expect from the met
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent production and performance, 31 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La rondine - Live from the Met [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Angela Gheorghiu is superb in this production and Roberto Alagna comes alive in the final act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La rondine - Live from the Met [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, but that's about it., 14 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La rondine - Live from the Met [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I did not find it having anywhere near the depth and storyline that would make me give it more than the three stars I did. Nothing seriously wrong, mind you; just that it is not that memorable and may well account for it being "neglected" as many have observed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 15 April 2011
By 
Ian (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La rondine - Live from the Met [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
The production sadly reveals the limitations of Mme Gheorghiu's thespian abilities! Vocally strong but visually irritating! This might have worked better in a more restrained, less self-conscious production. It always works against artistic success when an artist is permitted to be as self-indulgent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puccini: La rondine - Live from the Met [DVD] [2010] [NTSC]
£13.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews