Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exquisite music
I saw Lumiere on BBC NI (courtesy of cable TV as I live in London) and was blown away by Pauline Scanlon's voice in particular. So I bought two of her solo CDs and this one, and all are absolutely fantastic. There really is a luminous and arresting quality to the songs and voices on this CD, which is really intelligently put together. The songs are a mixture of Irish and...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Dog in a Flat Cap

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Polished and pretty
I couldn't believe it - 14 5 star reviews. I feel I just have to give a contrary view - if only to provide a bit of balance.

I suppose it presses a lot of buttons, but it doesn't press mine at all. The skill and professionalism are there - but where is the passion?

Too much like easy listening for my taste. I like a bit more bite and find this CD...
Published 7 months ago by Sigrid


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely and relaxing, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lumiere (Audio CD)
This is a beautiful cd. I love the mix of English and Irish songs. Very easy listening and some beautiful versions of Irish classic songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly melodic, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Lumiere (Audio CD)
Being a Sinead o'Connor fan, I have her 'Collabrations' CD and on that album she duets with Damien Dempsey on the wonderful 'It's all good' - I'm now a big Damien Dempsey fan :)
Consequently DD teamed up LUMIERE on the hauntingly beautiful 'The West's Awake'. {See the brilliant video on YouTube} This song sends shivers up my spine.

The lovely ladies really are truly gifted singers.I can't recommend this album highly enough: Grand on the ears and you can also improve your history too by listening to the lyrics.
Fair play to LUMIERE, on producing an incredible album together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN ABSOLUTE JOY, 27 May 2011
By 
Jim Reaper (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lumiere (Audio CD)
I bought this purely on impulse as it was for sale at a very low price in a local shop and cannot recommend it highly enough. Having heard it i would happily have paid full price, something i rarely ever do.

Folk music isnt a specialist area of mine, country and blues is more my area, but i do have some folk cd's among them The Unthanks and Seth Lakemen. Both you could say are among the cream of the crop of their generation. If this resembles anyone i have it is The Unthanks only because os the purity of the sublime female vocals. Whereas The Unthanks are resolutely English in the best sense Lumiere are undoubtably Irish in the same way.

The voices here (Pauline Scanlon and Éilís Kennedy)have an almost ethereal quality which is genuinely bewitching and the sparse instrumentation compliments them perfectly. In fact you could easily listen without any and be just as enchanted and that is a very very rare thing indeed.

On reflection i have a Clannad cd where they sing in Irish Gaelic and these two women make that sound..."stodgy", sorry the only word i could come up with, which Clannad definitely are not.

There is about a third of the album sung in the Irish language and it just proves you don't need to speak a language to appreciate the art. Speaking of Irish initially i wasn't sure if it was Irish or Scots Gealic in some of the titles until track 4. Here a male vocalist shares the spotlight and i thought it was Cristie Moore until i looked at the box. They would be easily at home in such company but Declan Dempsey as he's called was more than able as it was.

To finish, i was smitten with the opening bars of track 1, but by the time they began track 6 Wayfaring Stranger i was head over heels in love with this cd. Buy this and play it to everyone you think will appreciate it, or better still just buy it for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN ABSOLUTE JOY, 27 May 2011
By 
Jim Reaper (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lumiere (Audio CD)
I bought this purely on impulse as it was for sale at a very low price in a local shop and cannot recommend it highly enough. Having heard it i would happily have paid full price, something i rarely ever do.

Folk music isnt a specialist area of mine, country and blues is more my area, but i do have some folk cd's among them The Unthanks and Seth Lakemen. Both you could say are among the cream of the crop of their generation. If this resembles anyone i have it is The Unthanks only because os the purity of the sublime female vocals. Whereas The Unthanks are resolutely English in the best sense Lumiere are undoubtably Irish in the same way.

The voices here (Pauline Scanlon and Éilís Kennedy)have an almost ethereal quality which is genuinely bewitching and the sparse instrumentation compliments them perfectly. In fact you could easily listen without any and be just as enchanted and that is a very very rare thing indeed.

On reflection i have a Clannad cd where they sing in Irish Gaelic and these two women make that sound..."stodgy", sorry the only word i could come up with, which Clannad definitely are not.

There is about a third of the album sung in the Irish language and it just proves you don't need to speak a language to appreciate the art. Speaking of Irish initially i wasn't sure if it was Irish or Scots Gealic in some of the titles until track 4. Here a male vocalist shares the spotlight and i thought it was Cristie Moore until i looked at the box. They would be easily at home in such company but Declan Dempsey as he's called was more than able as it was.

To finish, i was smitten with the opening bars of track 1, but by the time they began track 6 Wayfaring Stranger i was head over heels in love with this cd. Buy this and play it to everyone you think will appreciate it, or better still just buy it for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic should get best CD 2010 award!, 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: Lumiere (Audio CD)
I am surprised there is no review on this CD yet. One of the best CDs I have listened to in a long time and keep on listening. I gave it to all my friends and family as birthday or Xmas gift.
The harmony of the two voices is outstanding, and the second song in Irish Fill Fill A Rún Ó is absolutely fantastic. I can recommend this for the pure pleasure of listening to beautiful singing you will not get tired of. Very relaxing and invigorating at the same time. To step out of a hectic day or just enjoy some moments of relaxations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lumiere, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Brian Rafferty "ceili dancer" (bangor ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lumiere (Audio CD)
formerly known as the dingle whiite ladies.i have had the pleasure of seeing these delightful ladies live on a number of occassions always a great nights music and craic.i was delighted when they released their first cd and what a cd it is,full of the most beautiful harmonies. the cd is half in irish and half in english and is a must have for lovers of folk music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lumiere
Lumiere by Lumiere (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews