Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good film with a good transfer.
You can't please all the people all the time, or so the saying goes.
For the gentleman that has sold his blu ray of this film and kept his DVD...I suggest he goes to Specsavers.

Before I make my remarks, please allow me to quantify them.
I have never seen "Bay Of Blood" at the cinema. I have seen it on VHS (both PAL and NTSC) and have seen it via the...
Published on 20 Sep 2012 by M. Crossman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far from Bava's finest hour
A Bay of Blood aka Twitch of the Death Nerve is something of an endurance feat that seems more interesting for its influence on the splatter movie genre (in particular the Friday the 13th series) than as a film. It's light on plot for a giallo, being little more than a collection of gruesome sudden deaths, some, like the opening murder of a woman in a wheelchair,...
Published on 20 Sep 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Arrow Blu-Ray looks like it's...., 17 April 2011
By 
A. Waite "Spara73" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
had all the life and colour sucked out of it.

I much prefer the dvd in the Bava box set.

sold my blu-ray pretty sharpish.

Just because it's the only blu release out so far people are praising it, wait till the blue-underground release comes out, it will urinate on it from a great height I'm sure.

...and don't get me started on them hideous Arrow cover artworks...YEUCHH!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a good release...was hoping for better soundtrack though., 29 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a comment on the blu-ray disc and NOT the DVD...It is great to finally get the Italian print of this classic, but I have to knock a star off for the terrible English dubbing! All these years with terrible translations and bad actors dubbing the lines. This appears to have been the original English release from way back when. Why wasn't the Italian print in HD instead of this horrible American cut? And is this THE true Italian print Tim Lucas (a brilliant commentator on Bava) mentions in his commentary on English dubbed version? There still are sound effects included on Italian print that Lucas says that was placed in English dubbed track and it seems to be the EXACT same version as the English version even though Lucas says it was filmed simultaneously with each other...therefore there should be two different versions out there. I am confused about this issue. I am not looking for two different movies, but different angles at least.
The film does look good in HD finally, but still prefer this Italian version instead.
By the way, this seems to be the same commentary as on the Anchor Bay release of this classic. Instead of listening to English soundtrack flip over to listen to Lucas' great commentary.
There are great special features also.
This blu-ray disc is one disc and it is stated as being regions A, B, C and Pal for standard stuff (although the standard stuff and Italian print played fine on my region A NTSC player and NTSC TV).
This is probably the best we are gonna get of this classic, so we just have to make due.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film but, is it really uncut?, 18 Dec 2010
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan and collector of Mario Bava's films and love this film, however i'm a little confused, the dvd box has a sticker saying that the movie is now uncut for the first time so I bought it and put in to watch but the film runs for 80m 35s and the previuos version released by boulevard entertainment runs 80m 28s and was cut by 43 seconds. Maybe arrow video used an other print to b.e. but surely the full U.K. print must be 81m 11s long, so i am a little unsure wheather this is the uncut version we are promised on the box or if arrow themselves pre cut it and handed this into the bbfc so they could call it uncut.

All of that said this is a very good horror movie and one of the first slasher movie of it's type and horror movie collectors and video nastie collectors should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murderley Sexy, 19 Feb 2013
Very 1969..Mini skirts..Glamour music a suprising ending..not bad on this budget..maybe they ran out of cash..don't worry it doesn't go to black and white because they ran out of colour film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You've read about the DVD, here's the film...., 21 Mar 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [DVD] (DVD)
Lots of reviewers have gone into the ins and outs of which DVD/Blu-ray version is best; that's fine if you know that you want to buy it, but for those who don't, here's something about the movie itself.

Yes, I watched it on the Horror Channel and am seeing for the first time (I'm mid 40's) a number of horrors of this vintage on this channel. It is not my usual fare, so I'm not expert. The version was dark and well saturated. It was dubbed, too. Normally I never watch my World Cinema dubbed but this is 70's horror and like badly dubbed porno of a certain age, a degree of naffness adds to the overall charm. And you don't want your screen littered up with tiny writing when you want to see all the gory details, do you?

No, there's not much plot - that also would get in the way, too much to think about. Something about the Bay in question being turned into a holiday resort and the consequent nasty removal of those persons inheriting that land. What you DO get are some very inventive murders - 13 of them, apparently, naked bathing beauties and some pretty scenery. Much better than today's total, full-on barrage of splatter. It looks quite European.

What is great about this director is the very fast moving camera - it zooms in and out very fast at times for maximum shock effect, which may only appear for a few seconds. Unfortunately the dark screen hid quite a lot of detail, there were fight scenes where you could only make out wrestling bodies and nothing else. The final scene will have you in amused disbelief.

I enjoyed it, at least and seems to be a bit of cult classic, so is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars italians did much better horror films than any Hammer British Horror ever did, 28 Oct 2006
Long live Mario Bava (the godfather of italian macabre & giallo).

This movie is perhaps the most Bava's surrealistical brutalism that has shown a mysterious machette Killer. If you like Blood and the black lace, you'll surely love this one.

this one is a pure Giallo ! The italian slaughter-Horror Party really rules !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great transfer of a very underrated thriller, 14 Feb 2011
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
BAY OF BLOOD has, over the years, been very unfairly treated. Despite the odd release on video, it remained largely ignored except for die hard fans of very early giallo films. Thanks the Arrow, we now get a fantastic release which (despite the age of the film) looks and sounds very good. As usual with the Arrow releases, we get superb packaging with alternate artwork, a mini film poster and colour information booklet. An absolute bargain for what you get, and a worthy addition to any good film collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars summary, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
despatch and elivery was very good itme recieved in a few days
film was very good seemed more in the film that before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE MOTHER OF THE SLASHER, 17 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [DVD] (DVD)
Before anyone has a go at me I am basing my review on a TV screening not on the Arrow release which I fully intend to purchase.

This is a good film and has been copied many times since with varying degrees of success.

My only gripes really are with the version I saw. Firstly, and it is the case with many films of this era and style, is that the english dubbing is awful. I know some people prefer the dubbed versions instead of having to deal with subtitles (I'm not one of them) but I think to see the Italian version with subtitles would be much more satisfying, secondly the version I saw was cut which was unfortunate and thirdly the last third of the film was very difficult to watch because of how dark it was.

Again that is just the version I saw and I wouldn't want that to detract from what is an accomplished and underated film. If past Arrow releases are anything to go by then I fully expect this to be very watchable and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the Slasher/ Thriller genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
did not like to for postage when it free on play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free]
A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] by Mario Bava (Blu-ray - 2010)
£8.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews