Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good film with a good transfer.
You can't please all the people all the time, or so the saying goes.
For the gentleman that has sold his blu ray of this film and kept his DVD...I suggest he goes to Specsavers.

Before I make my remarks, please allow me to quantify them.
I have never seen "Bay Of Blood" at the cinema. I have seen it on VHS (both PAL and NTSC) and have seen it via the...
Published on 20 Sept. 2012 by M. Crossman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'EARLY 'SLASHER' MOVIE'
The film kicks off with a murder followed by a suicide.
After a brief introduction to some of the residents and key characters of the thinly populated bay, a group
of teens arrive at the lakeside location for some recreational fun-time.
From the moment they arrive you become aware that they are being watched.
The story though is centered around the...
Published 3 months ago by rbmusicman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BAY OF BLU RAY, 11 Jan. 2011
By 
M. M. Black "Dark Star" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was totally suprised and delighted by this blu ray after years of having a terribly bad copy of the film.

The colours are now pristine, the detail clear, and the general look of the film perfect.

One Giallo movie that I could never watch because of the condition of the film is now pristine. Better than the blu ray edition of Suspiria and similar to the revelation of the blu ray edition of Bird with the Crystal Plumage, this is well worth a look at.

Well done Arrow Films and I can't wait for The Beyond Blu ray, another film dogged by years of poor dvd releases.

Oh and by the way ignore those stupid comments about wrong colour coding of the film on blu ray, those people just have'nt got good blu ray players or good vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great release...., 24 Dec. 2010
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Don't believe some of the nonsense being talked about this release here (and no, I don't work for Arrow).

This is a top notch release and the film has never looked better. Great presentation, great extras and a nice overall package. Let's hope it leads to more Bava being released in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Botched colour presentation, 18 Dec. 2010
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
***** film, all the way * Blu-ray/DVD picture presentation

I'm becoming increasingly dismayed at how Arrow seems to be more concerned about the package that the thing that matters most - the actual film. It's not the first of their releases to have dissenters, but this time the muted colour in the transfer (for both Blu-ray and DVD) is unforgivable and just to clarify, this is not simply a 'difference of opinion' or a 'choice of personal taste' as some people (a few who genuinely just won't know the difference but mainly Arrow fan-boys) will have you believe, in the words of the foremost Mario Bava expert, Tim Lucas, regarding a comparison between the different versions of the releases available had this to say:

"I saw the film several times theatrically and it had a lush, late Technicolor look. On the basis of these grabs, the colors on the Arrow discs do appear to be too muted -- when you see the blue drained out of the sky to that degree, it's not quite accurate to nature and certainly not accurate to Bava. The Anchor Bay disc, as pictured, has the correct balance of color and darkness."

So don't just take my word for it, he should know having studied Mario Bava and his movies for many decades culminating in his 'All the Colors of the Dark' tome.

I've no doubt this Arrow release will still be worth picking up cheap/second hand for a lot of people due to the extras and the whole package, but if Arrow don't start taking care of their transfers then ultimately they're going to fail which would be a shame because they're releasing important cult movies that many of us really want to see looking as good as it's possible to look. Unfortunately, a lot of the Arrow releases aren't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a good release...was hoping for better soundtrack though., 29 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a comment on the blu-ray disc and NOT the DVD...It is great to finally get the Italian print of this classic, but I have to knock a star off for the terrible English dubbing! All these years with terrible translations and bad actors dubbing the lines. This appears to have been the original English release from way back when. Why wasn't the Italian print in HD instead of this horrible American cut? And is this THE true Italian print Tim Lucas (a brilliant commentator on Bava) mentions in his commentary on English dubbed version? There still are sound effects included on Italian print that Lucas says that was placed in English dubbed track and it seems to be the EXACT same version as the English version even though Lucas says it was filmed simultaneously with each other...therefore there should be two different versions out there. I am confused about this issue. I am not looking for two different movies, but different angles at least.
The film does look good in HD finally, but still prefer this Italian version instead.
By the way, this seems to be the same commentary as on the Anchor Bay release of this classic. Instead of listening to English soundtrack flip over to listen to Lucas' great commentary.
There are great special features also.
This blu-ray disc is one disc and it is stated as being regions A, B, C and Pal for standard stuff (although the standard stuff and Italian print played fine on my region A NTSC player and NTSC TV).
This is probably the best we are gonna get of this classic, so we just have to make due.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Arrow Blu-Ray looks like it's...., 17 April 2011
By 
A. Waite "Spara73" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
had all the life and colour sucked out of it.

I much prefer the dvd in the Bava box set.

sold my blu-ray pretty sharpish.

Just because it's the only blu release out so far people are praising it, wait till the blue-underground release comes out, it will urinate on it from a great height I'm sure.

...and don't get me started on them hideous Arrow cover artworks...YEUCHH!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You've read about the DVD, here's the film...., 21 Mar. 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [DVD] (DVD)
Lots of reviewers have gone into the ins and outs of which DVD/Blu-ray version is best; that's fine if you know that you want to buy it, but for those who don't, here's something about the movie itself.

Yes, I watched it on the Horror Channel and am seeing for the first time (I'm mid 40's) a number of horrors of this vintage on this channel. It is not my usual fare, so I'm not expert. The version was dark and well saturated. It was dubbed, too. Normally I never watch my World Cinema dubbed but this is 70's horror and like badly dubbed porno of a certain age, a degree of naffness adds to the overall charm. And you don't want your screen littered up with tiny writing when you want to see all the gory details, do you?

No, there's not much plot - that also would get in the way, too much to think about. Something about the Bay in question being turned into a holiday resort and the consequent nasty removal of those persons inheriting that land. What you DO get are some very inventive murders - 13 of them, apparently, naked bathing beauties and some pretty scenery. Much better than today's total, full-on barrage of splatter. It looks quite European.

What is great about this director is the very fast moving camera - it zooms in and out very fast at times for maximum shock effect, which may only appear for a few seconds. Unfortunately the dark screen hid quite a lot of detail, there were fight scenes where you could only make out wrestling bodies and nothing else. The final scene will have you in amused disbelief.

I enjoyed it, at least and seems to be a bit of cult classic, so is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murderley Sexy, 19 Feb. 2013
Very 1969..Mini skirts..Glamour music a suprising ending..not bad on this budget..maybe they ran out of cash..don't worry it doesn't go to black and white because they ran out of colour film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars italians did much better horror films than any Hammer British Horror ever did, 28 Oct. 2006
Long live Mario Bava (the godfather of italian macabre & giallo).

This movie is perhaps the most Bava's surrealistical brutalism that has shown a mysterious machette Killer. If you like Blood and the black lace, you'll surely love this one.

this one is a pure Giallo ! The italian slaughter-Horror Party really rules !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great transfer of a very underrated thriller, 14 Feb. 2011
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
BAY OF BLOOD has, over the years, been very unfairly treated. Despite the odd release on video, it remained largely ignored except for die hard fans of very early giallo films. Thanks the Arrow, we now get a fantastic release which (despite the age of the film) looks and sounds very good. As usual with the Arrow releases, we get superb packaging with alternate artwork, a mini film poster and colour information booklet. An absolute bargain for what you get, and a worthy addition to any good film collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars summary, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
despatch and elivery was very good itme recieved in a few days
film was very good seemed more in the film that before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free]
A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] by Mario Bava (Blu-ray - 2010)
£6.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews