Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bay of Blood
A truly inspired piece of cinema from the mighty Mario Bava. This film set the standards for Halloween, Friday 13th and pretty much every horror film after. Bay of Blood is the original, ultimate stalk and slasher experience. Check it out!Also, which is funny for a film like this, the plot is fantastic and actually took me 2 views to work out what was happening. Great fun...
Published on 16 Jun 2005 by Stoker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far from Bava's finest hour
A Bay of Blood aka Twitch of the Death Nerve is something of an endurance feat that seems more interesting for its influence on the splatter movie genre (in particular the Friday the 13th series) than as a film. It's light on plot for a giallo, being little more than a collection of gruesome sudden deaths, some, like the opening murder of a woman in a wheelchair,...
Published on 20 Sep 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bay of Blood, 16 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly inspired piece of cinema from the mighty Mario Bava. This film set the standards for Halloween, Friday 13th and pretty much every horror film after. Bay of Blood is the original, ultimate stalk and slasher experience. Check it out!Also, which is funny for a film like this, the plot is fantastic and actually took me 2 views to work out what was happening. Great fun if you love horror. And the cinematography is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good film with a good transfer., 20 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
You can't please all the people all the time, or so the saying goes.
For the gentleman that has sold his blu ray of this film and kept his DVD...I suggest he goes to Specsavers.

Before I make my remarks, please allow me to quantify them.
I have never seen "Bay Of Blood" at the cinema. I have seen it on VHS (both PAL and NTSC) and have seen it via the Image DVD and the Bava region one boxset.
In my opinion, this presentation is by far the best I have ever seen on any home theatre format. It knocks all the other presentations into a cocked hat.
This is for the English version. The Italian version on this set (both are included) is sadly lacking and perhaps that is where the vitriol for this release comes from.
Personally I'm delighted to have a high definition, uncut release at all. And at this price, with the usual Arrow packaging (poster, reversible sleeves etc...)and wealth of extras then personally I have no problem recommending this set.
However, if your standards are so high then you will only settle for a complete perfect set then I suggest you wait and hope that someone eventually releases one. And if they do then I'll be happy to double dip for this fine film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The origins of the body-count slasher?, 17 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
To my knowledge there is no other movie before (and for many years after, until Friday the 13nth) totalling 13 murders. I am not giving anything away, the number is on the box so you will notice it! Several early 80s slasher movies borrowed this kind of narrative, others, Friday the 13nth, chunked out a whole scene.

What sets this one apart from the others, is that there is no "maniac" running loose. This makes a huge difference in characterisation. And of course much more compelling. The plot and the motive are more in line with some classic narratives and early gialli, rather than the obsessive themes of Argento, but the very graphic gore makes the difference.

Arrow's release is great value for it's price. You get an English HD version and the Italian non-HD version. There is a difference of opinion regarding the color of the English version, not being as saturated as to instantly strike as a Bava movie, but since you also get the Italian version which allegedly is more authentic, 4 reversible covers, two of which are spectacular (personally i do not like the one shown, but that's my opinion) i am guessing it will be the European release to get for quite a while. An Italian company has also released this in the past, but they don't do Blu-ray yet.

A long special feature regarding the writer was very interesting, not so much for his work (LOL!), but as to the insider info on 3 prominent directors (Bava, Argento, Fulci). Also, subtitles are included for both movies and the features, which was a true fan service for those who are non-native English speakers. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE GRAND DADDY OF THE SLASHER FILM, 21 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
REVIEWED VERSION: 2010 Arrow Video UK Blu-Ray

Director: Mario Bava

Cast: Claudine Auger, Luigi Pistilli, Claudio Camaso, Anna Maria Rosati, Chris Avram, Leopoldo Trieste

SYNOPSIS

A wheelchair-bound heiress is strangled to death by her husband before he himself is stabbed to death by an assailant. This is the beginning of a series of stabbing, slashings and beheadings...

THE PROS & CONS

A BAY OF BLOOD is the grand daddy of the slasher film, even though Sean Cunningham denies having seen this film prior to making FRIDAY THE 13TH, I find it very doubtful as the two movies have a lot of similarities, especially the scenery at a lake (bay).
This Arrow release comes in 2 versions: The English language Export version and the Italian language Italian version which features different dialogue (no additional gore).
The killings look rather tame by today's standards, but when it came out it was violent enough to get censored by the BBFC (by almost 1 minute in 4 scenes) and banned in Germany until this day. Oddly the movie required no cuts to obtain its R rating. The second FRIDAY THE 13TH film copied two murders of BAY OF BLOOD almost shot for shot: the machete in the face scene and the spearing of two copulating teenagers in bed - although the original scenes in BAY OF BLOOD are a lot more graphic.
The acting is definitely better than in most slasher films. You do have the annoying sex-crazed teenagers but they are not quite as stupid as in most American-made slashers and they fortunately don't last very long.
The directing is superb - let's not forget this is the very first slasher film, so you have to forget about having seen all the stabbings und brutalities in other movies, this movie came out in 1971 when nobody even thought of FRIDAY, NIGHTMARE or HALLOWEEN! Mario Bava did a superb job with the killing scenes, they still are kind of shocking and "in your face", but they must have been really shocking back then. I especially liked the grim ending that you don't expect - brilliant! Bava also paced the film perfectly. I also liked the dark atmosphere and the film's score.

ON A SIDE NOTE

- A BAY OF BLOOD is known to have more alternate titles than any movie ever. "Twitch of the Death Nerve" is the best-known title and has been selected by Mario Bava himself. It was re-released under the title "The Last House on the Left Part II" although it has nothing to do with that film and was actually made a year before. Other famous titles are "Blood Bath" and "Carnage".

- Due to the low budget of the film, Mario Bava had to shoot most of it on his own property or property owned by the crew. He also had to be his own cinematographer.

BLU-RAY DETAILS

Feature running time: 84:02 mins. (English version) / 84:53 Min. (Italian version)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 / 16:9
Audio: English LPCM 1.0, Italian: LPCM 2.0
Subtitles: English
Extras: Export version (English) and Italian version of the film, Alternate (reversible) cover, booklet (8 pages), Audio Commentary, The Giallo Gems of Dardano Sachetti Featurette (33:09), Joe Dante remembers Twitch of the Death Nerve Featurette (12:24), Shooting a Spaghetti Splatter Classic interview( 21:16), Carnage theatrical trailer (3:56), Theatrical trailer (1:17), Radio spot #1 (1:00), Radio spot #2 (0:28)
Region: Region Free

Picture quality: 4/5
Audio quality: 3/5
Extras: 4/5

As usual, Arrow Video brings us a superb release with excellent picture quality (considering the film's age) and plenty of extras and Arrow-typical "gimmicks" like the booklet or reversible alternate cover designs. Unlike the US Blu-Ray Arrow's release is region free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far from Bava's finest hour, 20 Sep 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
A Bay of Blood aka Twitch of the Death Nerve is something of an endurance feat that seems more interesting for its influence on the splatter movie genre (in particular the Friday the 13th series) than as a film. It's light on plot for a giallo, being little more than a collection of gruesome sudden deaths, some, like the opening murder of a woman in a wheelchair, imaginative, others less so, all related to various unpleasant characters out to control the rather grotty looking bay of the title to either redevelop it or preserve its natural beauty. The plot is largely thrown away in a series of flashbacks in the last couple of reels, but seems little more than an excuse for the killings, which are exercised with surprisingly little atmosphere: until the finale there's no real build up or suspense, just multiple murders from multiple murderers. There's also surprisingly little flair to it all, leaving a film that's not much better than the very average splatter movie. Still, at least there's some fun to be had from a duplicitous lawyer being dubbed in the American version by someone doing what sounds like a Gregory Peck impersonation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just when you thought it was safe., 8 Dec 2002
By 
DM Webster "arakis2002" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a 'fun' horror film. Bava is on of my favourite horror directors and he doesn't fail to please here. He does excellent set pieces and the murders are graphic and original. This is often seen as a precursor to the stalk and slash films of the late seventies but is less moralistic and refuses to offer psychology as an excuse for the violence. I'm not even going to try to analyse this film as everyone is pretty unpleasant and deserves everything they get. This is a horror film for horror film's sake and Bava offers no apology. The scenes which stick with me are the opening hanging of the old woman in the wheel chair, the deaths of the couple by sharp spike coming up through the bed, the swimming woman who bumps into a decomposing corpse and the hilarious ending...just when you thought it was safe! Great fun, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..CLASSIC EARLY SLASHER..", 1 Jun 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
For the early 70's this film looks amazing on Blu-ray, arrow have done a top notch job transfer as usual, great early slasher film with a twisted murder guess who it is plot, there's plenty of cool death scenes that are really well done with good effects, some full female nudity which is always the way with most early slashers, not one of the best horror/thrillers ever but still a worthy arrow release for the collection, the audio commentary is very informative with plenty of good insight into the film and stars etc. the audio is a little hard in places you may sit with the remote at times turning the TV up and down. you get a booklet of info too and better reversible sleeve art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mario Bava's 70's Italian carnage classic, 14 Oct 2006
By 
Philip Yates (Merseyside U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Better known as 'A Twitch of the Death Nerve' this 1971 Italian slaughterfest from the great Mario Bava is the precursor of Friday 13th and it's numerous ilk. Leaving aside the slightly fuzzy plot involving the various characters attempts to secure the prime real estate of the title, the various gorrotings, impalings and mutilations are handled with much gusto. Though I suspect the 80 min version veiwed has been trimmed down it still remains a well paced tongue in cheek slice of Italian horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars VIDEO 2000, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film itself is rather good but the video 2000 copy states its 84 mins it also states this on the DVD cover,Having watched it the running time was 1.20.28 just over 80 mins,Every death scene has been cut.Wish now i had purchased the arrow copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, although suffers video problem, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. N. M. Hornby "nhornby" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Bought this last week and got round to watching it at 1am this morning. I enjoyed the film but it did suffer a major problem. The video would judder heavily at random points throughout the movie although I have heard many people have not has this fault and it is just apparent on the early pressings. Another minor niggle I had was with the dirt on the print, there is some majorly noticeable on the opening scene and a bit later on in the film there is a large spec of dirt on the bottom of the screen. I wouldn't usually comment as I am quite forgiving towards damage, dirt etc on early films but if I comment on in my opinion it then it is something that is VERY noticeable. All in all though I thought the picture quality was decent and sometimes it excelled(especially at the beginning where we first she the Countess) and sometimes it just seemed a bit flat. All in all I give the video quality 3/5(I would give this a 3.5/5 if it weren't for the faults on my copy

Due to me watching it early hours and there being others in the house I kept the volume fairly low. When I watched the film I had no problem with the Audio quality and everything seemed clear but I don't own a dedicated speaker system so I can't judge on the quality through other outputs. I give the audio a 4/5

The extra's seemed pretty decent with interviews(one with Joe Dante of gremlins fame), radio spots and trailers(featuring commentary by Edgar Wright) and a few other bits, one entitled shooting a spaghetti classic which sounds like a behind the scenes/retrospect perhaps. Packaging by Arrow was great and although I wasn't overly keen on some of the artwork I can appreciate others will like it, it also comes with a small booklet and reversible poster. Hats off to Arrow I give 3.5/5 for packaging.

Overall I enjoyed this film and considering it is now over years old stands the test of time and is obviously the precursor and inspiration for the Friday the 13th franchise that came a decade later. I give this Arrow release an overall 3.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free]
A Bay of Blood [Blu-ray] [DVD] [Region Free] by Mario Bava (Blu-ray - 2010)
£7.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews