Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quietly brilliant
'Pace' is a taken for granted quality in TV drama, invisible, unseen, rarely commented on, but it wasn't until I watched 'Mr Palfrey of Westminster' that I realised how formulaic modern TV drama had become. You know what I'm referring to of course; robbery/incident, opening credits/catchy theme, slow diagnostic twists and turns before final chase/arrest scene.'Palfrey'...
Published on 11 April 2011 by Prospero77

versus
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Production
Really wonderfull series spoilt by some poor/grainy episodes and worst of all the audio in some episodes is extremely poor.It is evident that with a bit of effort the audio could of been improved.I have run my set through a really cheap equalizer and improved the sound quality, something their technician did not do.
This was evidently a rush job,not up to their...
Published on 16 Sep 2010 by Neil M. L. Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quietly brilliant, 11 April 2011
By 
Prospero77 "Prosp77" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD] (DVD)
'Pace' is a taken for granted quality in TV drama, invisible, unseen, rarely commented on, but it wasn't until I watched 'Mr Palfrey of Westminster' that I realised how formulaic modern TV drama had become. You know what I'm referring to of course; robbery/incident, opening credits/catchy theme, slow diagnostic twists and turns before final chase/arrest scene.'Palfrey' however, belonged to a time when dramas simply unfolded through dialogue. I remember watching it in the eighties and I'll admit there are one or two anachronisms synonymous with that era. Yet because Palfrey was filmed on crisp, sharp video it has aged remarkably better than contemporary productions like Bergerac or Miss Marple. Every word Alec McCowen utters sounds like it was precision engineered at Oxford, meanwhile his linguistic dexterity is neatly matched by the chess-game plots of secret service traitors and underhand cold war intrigue. The most annoying aspect is that there are only 11 episodes (if you include the 2 supplementary tele-plays). 'Palfrey' has the feel of a good audio book rather than a TV drama but if you liked Smiley you'll love this. Clive Wood makes a superb sidekick and McCowen is first class throughout. A really interesting and careful study which at times is 'quietly brilliant'. There ought to have been many more-shame on Thames Television!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Production, 16 Sep 2010
By 
Neil M. L. Scott (Cape Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD] (DVD)
Really wonderfull series spoilt by some poor/grainy episodes and worst of all the audio in some episodes is extremely poor.It is evident that with a bit of effort the audio could of been improved.I have run my set through a really cheap equalizer and improved the sound quality, something their technician did not do.
This was evidently a rush job,not up to their normal high standards.
Worth buying and watching,pity about the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but dated, 15 Oct 2012
By 
Andy Jay (Herts & Beds, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD] (DVD)
This was ITV's answer to Tinker, Taylor and possibly introduced the idea of a women as head of the secret service. I enjoyed watching this perhaps because I am of a certain age and remember the time before gadgets became the center for spy stories. Alec McGowen is a very good actor and fits in well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great choice., 19 Feb 2012
By 
S. D. Robinson "S.D. Robinson" (Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fascinating view of the public service via spies, sort of. Mr. Palfrey is what you would want for a civil servant. Simple, competent and very capable. This is a great series and I wish it would have went longer. This is one that you will want to watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LITTLE GEM, 20 Nov 2011
By 
L. Wilson (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD] (DVD)
I remembered this from the 80's and unlike some other series that would have been better remembered and not seen again, this was a joy. The sets may have been a bit wobbly but the script was light and there was a decency about this quiet man hunting for background information as well as the indominatable female boss who clearly was modelling herself on the PM Margaret Thatcher. In the best possible way we were left desperate for more but this was an era where ideas were not done to death. If you like your spycatchers to be thoughtful and intuitive, try Mr Palfrey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe it didn't last longer, 4 Mar 2011
This review is from: Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD] (DVD)
When you first watch Mr Palfrey it takes a little time to warm to the cast, but they quickly form into a strong cast with some really entertaining and sharpe story lines. Despite its age the quality of dialog and story still stand out. Return to sender is perhaps the best story, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up for this one!, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD] (DVD)
The five stars for the series itself, audio is what it is.What an example this series is how it works like magic when you choose the right actor to play the leading role!You can really witness the long theatre background in every word McGowen lets out of his mouth as he plays the role to perfection.Actually the acting is pretty strong throughout the line, no weak links there.Few of the scripts are pretty basic spy-stuff, but still twisted enough to keep you on the grip.I felt that the female boss came a bit too early to the show,a few more episodes without her presence would have made the trick for me...anyway, great espionage-entertainment and if you liked The Sandbaggers,you`ll probably like this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - LeCarre class work., 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this as a teenager and was amazed at the quality of the work compared with Le Carre's works that were televized in the 70's. Great stuff, thoroughly recommended if you like British spy-mongering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD] (DVD)
So I am surprised there weren`t more made of this. Alec McCowan and Clive Wood are brilliant in this and work well together. There are no extras on these discs but you can`t have everything. Well recommended though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Palfrey, 4 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD] (DVD)
I like this series, Mr Palfrey is a quiet man, he does have his 'hardman' assistant but there is no real violence.

The battle of the sexes between Palfrey and his 'Iron Lady' female boss is rather amusing this long after the Thatcher years.

If you are a fan of violent gunfire filled DVDs then this series may not be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa481ce4)

This product

Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD]
Mr Palfrey of Westminster [DVD] by Alec McCowen (DVD - 2010)
11.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews