Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars47
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 July 2011
Book 10 (WOW...what a milestone) in a long running series that just seems to get better and better the characters keep growning and flowing with their ever expanding plot lines and movement into the ever larger arena of their times, as they and their careers / fortunes grow so do the scale and power of the troubles they encounter. The whole story and leaves the reader with a shanty lilt to their speech and a roll to their gait.

This is a book where i think we start to see a lead up to climactic book 11, it does have an element of a bridgeing book for me, but it does it with style and invention and in this case the submarine, i learned so much in this book and in the authors notes about the early sub, and it was as usual so well told you didnt know you were being educated while entertained.

All of this coupled with Julians obvious passion for the sea and all things nautical, this is a series that does rank up there with Forrester and O'Brian, every year i look forward to my new instalment of Kydd...but to get there you have to start at the beginning dont spoil it and come in part way.

Well recommended

(Parm)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
INVASION is another brilliant read by Julian Stockwin. His faithful attention to historical detail in this fast-paced tale places readers in the moment, as his narrative unfurls. The facts behind Robert Fulton's activities during the war are relatively obscure, compared to his invention of the commercially successful steamboat. But this authenticity is what I've come to expect from Stockwin. The particulars of Kydd's world, so well drawn in Stockwin's words, add texture to the fabric of his prose. It is the authenticity and human sides of Kydd and renzi that continue to draw me back again and again. Invasion is yet another master stroke from Stockwin's pen. I look forward to the next chapter in Kydd's life, VICTORY.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
First of all, I love these books so maybe a bit harsh only giving 3 stars. As with the rest of the series the book is well written tells an interesting story, however for me didn't really advance the story along at all. Essentially the first half of the book is fine Kydd gets transferred from the Channel Islands to the Downs squadron and fights in several ship actions, however after that gets attached to an inventor of a submarine and the rest of the book apart from one action covers the machinations of various parties to support, build or destroy the sub. So overall whilst interesting, it just feels the book didn't really move anything on. I'd really like to see Kydd making a bit more progress in the next book.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
I started at the beginning of the series and I am going through them in order. I do like the descriptions relating to sea and ships. Some of the plots are a little bit suspect but are balanced out by some really good ones and I do find them compulsive reading and will continue to work through them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2009
Julian Stockwin and his Kydd series of books are right at the top of the list for books of this type (Historical Naval) alongside Dudley Pope's Ramage series. Stockwin has again managed to introduce the life between decks to the story while still concentration on the main characters at the stern. This time we have Submarines and Torpedoes in Napoleonic Naval Warfare - no, the author has not lost it ! This is actually based on true events and the demonstration of "Nautilus" the first ever submersible ship (in France, before Napoleon). The torpedoes however are more like mines and unpowered, being towed into position.
The plot, in general, revolves around Renzi trying to lure the inventor (Fulton, an American) away from the French to Britain and then Kydd being assigned to help Fulton devise his new "toys" of destruction against some very strong opposition from the Admiralty. Finally they are used against the French invasion Flotilla but with very little success.
No major engagements but a few skirmishes, perhaps a little too much diplomacy but overall a good read. Overall mark 8.5/10.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
This latest instalment of the kydd series is one of Stockwins finest. The author really gets across the feeling of imminent doom that must have been prevalent during this important part of European history, with Napoleons victorious, seemingly unstoppable hoards waiting to cross the channel and take the old enemy.
'It's been done before' I hear you call, waving copies of Cornwells ' Sharpes Trafalgar' and any of O' Brians Aubrey/ Maturin series.But here the author has had a moment of genius and lights upon an obscure bit of naval history as the American inventer of the first ' plunging boat' called Nautillus ( yes there was such a beast, and Nemo would have been proud) attempts to persuade, firstly the French and then the Admiralty to fund this creation way ahead of its time.
Carried off with the usual pluck and derring do, this instalment is a welcome addition to my bookshelf...encore!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Disappointing compared to previous books. Far too much detail about the development of a submarine. Less action that usual plus a lot of Renzi's life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
yet another top notch tale from the new grand master of the age of fighting sail, this series gets better and better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
I read ALL of the books by Julian Stockwin, he is an amazing author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
excellent read, full of action and adventure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.