Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius
The more I read the more I understand the plot and each book builds on the characters, so you get them. Bit uncomfortable with the s & M sex but honestly could not put the book down.
Published 5 months ago by PerfectPurplePak

versus
57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty bad with a few good bits
I was really looking forward to this book. After the last novel where we saw a lot less gratuitous sex and much more of the old fashioned hard boiled Anita I was really hopeful about this one. But I was pretty disappointed when I finally read it the first 150 pages or so where slow and while I'm pretty sure there were a few little gems of real character development in...
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by S. Mckirdy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty bad with a few good bits, 2 Jun 2010
I was really looking forward to this book. After the last novel where we saw a lot less gratuitous sex and much more of the old fashioned hard boiled Anita I was really hopeful about this one. But I was pretty disappointed when I finally read it the first 150 pages or so where slow and while I'm pretty sure there were a few little gems of real character development in there you really had to dig to get to them, All in just a bit pointless.

Then after that it was probably the low point of the whole series, a rather long winded discussion about sex and the emotional problems of several characters that was felt both slow, unnecessary and was a little uncomfortable to read. It was all just a very poor start to the book. I think that by this point in time we understand that the author wants to challenge traditional sexuality but I think she has made her point pretty clear by now and I really wish if she wanted to write erotica she could have done it in another series and left the well loved hardboiled Vampire hunter with a little dignity. It's not that developing the sexual side of the main character is a bad thing because its not its the fact that its just WAY overdone. To the point where our favorite vampire hunting US Marshall now apparently works from home via teleconference.

In contrast the last half of the book seemed to have most of the return of the plot which was actually not all that bad if again you cut out some of the extra sex scenes. And I actually felt the last half of the book had all the best bits of the story crammed in between all the gratuitous sex scenes. We saw some good plot building here and some nice non-sex related character development and done in a more understandable setting than the superfluous dance recital in the beginning. One of the nice bits of development I liked is how the main character finally embraces the fact that she is pretty much a vampire now and it was a nice change in the normal whiny self denying character.

At the end I was fairly disappointed with the epilogue summary. It felt like the author ran out of steam for writing anything other than sex scenes so decide to summaries every aspect of the plot that didn't involve sex into one chapter of plot points that probably would have filled out a large novel in its own right. And that novel would have been better than this one because apparently hunting vampires is too much work for the vampire hunter and can't have any of the political intrigue between vampire groups with the potential for violence that doesn't involve sex. Basically she cheated at the end of the book and it was incredibly annoying.

So to sum it up very disappointed in this one I thought after the last one I would get more of Anita Blake original and what we got was Anita Blake ultra lite now with added rohipnol. It needs to cut out about 70% of the emotional BS talking points 40% of the sex and add in about 2 or 3 times more violence and plot and not cheat at the end. And yes I know the author may actually read this and she has said in the past she is apparently too good for feedback from her loyal fans but I'm writing it anyway because I really enjoyed the first 10 books in this series and I just really want more of them that are that good. To be honest it kind of feels like the author is punishing all the people that are fans of the first half of the series that complained about recent books by answering some of the complaints about the previous novel but piling on extra emphasis of the bits not liked about the last few books in general. It's not that having sexual development of your characters is a bad thing its not especially considering the lead character was basically a 24 year old nun at the start of the series. But it doesn't have to dominate the series like it does now glossing over all the things that drew people into the series in the first place punishing us for daring to enjoy a dark urban fantasy with a strong main character with a hardboiled PI influence. To be honest I'm not sure why I keep reading these books as this one especially had bits that I really didn't enjoy at all it was really hard to gloss over all the overdone sex scenes in this one like in previous. This may be the last of these books I read and I might still read the first few books again but unless when the next one comes out someone tell me its safe to read I'm not going to bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 5 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sigh. I have purchased my books from Amazon for many years and this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review.

This book was dire. Everything I loved about the series has gone - I miss Anita Blake the animator and vampire hunter but I accept now that she is gone for good. I found it tough going to actually finish the book because it could not hold my attention. Even now, I couldn't tell you what the plot was. Or if there was one. I'm pretty convinced that by now LKH is the only one who knows what is going on with all of the metaphysical references because, honestly, she lost me a couple of books ago.

Although not my cup of tea, I can deal with long-haired, pretty, effeminate men; questionable fashion sense (copius amounts of leather and over the knee boots, anyone???)and Anita being the Queen of everything, ever and the best at everything, ever. I love reading and what I can't deal with is my supposedly pleasurable pastime being turned into something boring and tedious.

After 19 books, I won't be buying any more in this series. That's it - I'm done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bullet to the brain, 2 Jun 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ruthless murders, treachery and a potential civil war among the vampires. Can it be... plot returning to the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series?

In a word... no. Laurell K. Hamilton's infamous Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series is obviously running on fumes in its nineteenth book, "Bullet" -- she just strings along one messy subplot after another, and tacks on some magical orgies and bickering about feelings to beef it up. It's like being shoved headfirst into a steaming pot of rancid bodily-fluids.

After a dance recital that has nothing to do with ANYTHING, Asher throws a fit over the fact that everybody is getting some man-loving except him. Can't say I blame him.

The obvious solution is to talk about people's feelings, then have an S&M foursome with Richard, Anita and Jean-Claude -- which is interrupted by a pair of far more powerful vampires who are trying to destroy Anita. It seems the supervampire Marmee Noir is not quite dead, and has apparently possessed the entire Vampire Council and is preparing to attack Anita and Co.

But instead of dealing with that, Anita makes some phone calls and then starts an all-out battle with the local werelion Rex, who has annoyed her in some vague way. To make matters worse, somebody has put a contract out on Anita and her vast harem, and there's a rotting Master of the City who's causing trouble.

In theory, "Bullet" has a plot. But once you actually sit down and read it, you'll find that the "plot" is just a string of sloppy subplots that have nothing to do with each other. It's just a big, messy, incoherent stew of S&M sex, wangst, whining, sexist snipes and Anita generating new powers like a gumball dispenser.

And honestly... it's BORING. Anita and her harem just sit around playing Metaphysical Tug-o-War and occasionally chatting on the phone. Occasionally there's actual fighting, but it's very brief and usually smothered in "metaphysical" stuff. And since there's no solid central plot, Hamilton crams in lots of stuff that has nothing to do with anything else -- dance recitals, Haven's meltdown, and a very unsexy mass orgy.

Hamilton's writing is grotesquely clumsy (Anita admiring the "creamy goodness" of her "mounded" breasts), and it gets worse when she tries to be poetic ("She offered her power to us like a dark wind" -- huh?). And endless pages are devoted to Anita's boytoys' clothes, hair, and hot bodies -- but I honestly don't care what color eyes Generic Vampire #7 has or how tall WereThug #39 is.

As usual, Anita is crude, self-important, crusty and demanding -- when she isn't sitting around having effeminate bishies wait on her, she's amassing new superpowers and setting herself up to become queen of yet another werespecies. Hamilton also fumbles some of the other characters -- Asher is suddenly a whiny, vindictive jerk; Richard has become a brainwashed buttkisser, and Haven (reportedly based on Hamilton's ex-bodyguard) has become a possessive maniac.

"Bullet" is a sagging, dribbling stew of sex and supernatural powers, and Laurell K. Hamilton devotes the few flickers of plot to... whatever will happen in the next book. I can hardly wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointed, 25 Jun 2010
By 
I was very disappointed in this book. It didn't go anywhere. Just as it seemed to be getting interesting there was a very abrupt end. I've read all of the previous books and stuck with them but I have to say the sex scenes are getting extremely tedious so much so that I glossed over them. A bit more action would have been good with more of a plot. Very, very disappointing. I won't be buying any more I'm fed up waiting for a decent storyline to come along. I'll be going to the library next time that way I won't feel cheated out of my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear, 12 Jun 2010
I hate to say it but i found this book awful. I used to love anita and her hard as nails attitude but gradually as the series has gone on its become more like soft porn. I felt hopeful after reading skin trade it seemed more like the old anita lots of action and a bit of sex but only a couple of chapters in to bullet shes at it again and way over the top!!. I think this will be the last of l.k.h books i will buy which is a shame as i loved her earlier work but it was personally too much graphic sex not enough plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lost little sheep, 7 Jun 2010
By 
J. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firstly, I'd like to congratulate LKH on a long running series. Its been like a long train ride picking up characters, story plots and dead bodies along the way.

Unfortunately this is where all the problems comes from, its reached a point where there are too many characters resulting in too much sex (yes I have to say it for this book) and the BS feelings that go with it. So much so that it's all that's left to fill the pages of this book before you even consider adding a plot. Its sad as a fan to see Anita fall so far so fast and disappointing to find LKH care so little about what made this series so great.

So as a fan I'm on the train that seems to be going backwards or at least in the wrong direction and considering whether or not to jump off.

If LKH can resurrect the series its in killing off a large part of the cast quickly (with little BS) and getting back to a workable plot but how many of her fans will be waiting to read that book after this latest one is anyone's guess. Clearly money made this book happen over love of the series and as a fan like others, I feel cheated - can we ask for our money back?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars um....., 19 Oct 2010
By 
sharon "I listen to my books while working, a... (Falmouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off let me say I am great Anita Blake fan I've read the books & I am up to book five on the audio books (which are very good by the way!), I love the characters, the world that's been built up, politics, I could go on. I am missing the likes of Dolph, Edward, Bert & the gritty suspenseful thriller that we got in the past. I do not mind the carnal exploits or the violence that seems to be the hallmark of her later books, I'm into dark urban fantasy etc, but this book really disappointed me, I put it down, picked it up again & I really had to make myself finish it off & to be honest found my self skipping a few pages, there's only so much discussion that you can have about guilt over shooting someone. I found Richards change of heart startling & the discussion of dynamic group sex before they did it a bore & analysing said exploits even more frustrating.

Not all the book was bad, the premise of story & what they have decided to do because they have to is brilliant, some of the turns of events make it gripping & the potential makes me hopeful for the next novel, but the actual execution of plot was uninspiring, I found the Anita Blake that I have grown to love, just a shadow of her former self, lost in a myriad of characters that I neither wanted to or could care about.

Disappointed not totally bad but not that good either......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear..., 6 Jun 2010
This is what happens when you take a loyal audience for granted. Heart-breaking really, because it is clear this book was written for revenue and not because there was a story to tell. L K Hamilton can write and can put worlds together that intrigue and fascinate... but unless she starts to care again, this series should be put out of its misery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, repetative and pointless....where did it all go wrong?, 29 Aug 2010
Where did the Anita Blake series all go wrong? Like many others I loved this series from the beginning. Feisty characters, action packed plot, romance and magic... but this latest addition to the series is nothing more than a shagfest with a few weak plot lines added in. Mommie Dearest is back and taking over the council members... how do we solve it? Why, have some group sex! Asher has turned into a whiny shell of his former self. How do we solve it? Why, have some group sex! Anita needs new powers. How do we solve it? Yup, you guessed it... more group sex. The main plot line is weak and confused and never actually resolved or dealt with. The sub plots make the established characters seem weak and confused too. Asher is suddenly a sullen whinge bag. Richard has become a weak and agreeable puppy dog with none of him former attitude, strength or torment. Anita herself merely mentions the fact she is a Vampire Executioner and Necromancer.... she doesn't actually do anything but talk about it and have sex. There are far too many chapters that are totally pointless... the dance recital and the gym workout for starters. As for the boring and drawn out descriptions of what every character is wearing at any given time.... why do we care? What could it possibly add to the book to know that the guards are wearing black Tshirts and character 1 is wearing blue, whilst character 2 is wearing yellow and 3 is wearing green.....

And as for the emotional 'turmoil' that fills every page.... boring, whiney, repetative, pointless, self indulgent rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars That's it - I am done too. No more Anita Blake books for me., 17 Jun 2010
By 
P. Rai "Raven" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been a loyal fan of LKH and her Anita Blake series, but I agree with all the negative reviews written on "Bullet". I was excited by "Flirt" and I had hopes for "Bullet" but after reading the first few pages I was infuriated by how bad it was, then utterly bored. The book made me cringe with the talk of emotions the overdone sex scenes...and thereafter I just skimmed through the book (What a waste of money!). I wanted to kill off whiny moany Asher a thousand times over... and pathetic Nathaniel...I will not be buying another "Anita Blake" book again. I am done!
I never write a review but I was so utterly dissappointed by this book I felt the overwhelming urge to write to warn others DON'T BUY THIS BOOK. IF YOU REALLY NEED TO READ IT, BORROW IT, YOU WILL BE RETURNING IT PRETTY QUICK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bullet (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 19)
5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews