Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use
Easy to use, beautiful item. Works fine. I would give it 5 stars if it could be hanged or had a magnet and if the ring was louder. Sometimes if I am out of the kitchen I cannot hear it.
Capa
Published on 30 Aug 2011 by Capa

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A case of form over function
This mechanical timer is made of a rubberised plastic, which feels a bit odd but is easy to grip even if you have wet hands. You set it by rotating the top half of the timer and this results in the dial on the top face showing something like a pie chart to indicate the time.

To get a long 'ring' you can set the time to 1 hour - its max - and then turn the dial...
Published 19 months ago by Cogvos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 30 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer - Grey (Kitchen & Home)
Easy to use, beautiful item. Works fine. I would give it 5 stars if it could be hanged or had a magnet and if the ring was louder. Sometimes if I am out of the kitchen I cannot hear it.
Capa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A case of form over function, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer - Grey (Kitchen & Home)
This mechanical timer is made of a rubberised plastic, which feels a bit odd but is easy to grip even if you have wet hands. You set it by rotating the top half of the timer and this results in the dial on the top face showing something like a pie chart to indicate the time.

To get a long 'ring' you can set the time to 1 hour - its max - and then turn the dial back to the desired duration. It also looks very modern and is reasonably accurate.

Unfortunately the dial face is not clear, its sort of mottled and translucent rather than completely transparent and this can make it difficult to read the mid grey (about the same colour as the case) figures. The tick is loud but the 'ring' is not, ranging from a asthmatic fart to a sick rattlesnake depending on the surface its resting on.

So only 3 stars. It's OK but has been over designed and I would not recommend it for anyone with poor eyesight due to the top face masking the figures rather than being clear plastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pie time, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Joseph Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer - Grey (Kitchen & Home)
Bought for my other half who is a prodigious producer of baked products. She loves it, it does everything you would need of such an item. Can't fault it.

Just beware, as the other products from this range begin to take over your kitchen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK IF YOU ARE PREPARED TO KEEP AN EYE ON THE TIME!, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer - Grey (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this a year ago after about 6 months it became erratic & I was having to keep an eye on the time which defeats the object of having a Timer.For the last 2 months 4 out of 5 times it stops 10 /15 minutes early.It is kept in the same place so it is not a surface issue. Today it went in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer, Grey, 16 Feb 2013
By 
NJ Gay (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joseph Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer - Grey (Kitchen & Home)
We bought one of these (not from Amazon). It feels about as cheaply made and flimsy as you could imagine and keeps stopping. I gave it one star only because when the timer does eventually run down the bell actually works, but that won't bear any resemblance to the time set because you have to re-start it several times along the way. I strongly recomend that you choose something else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UNRELIABLE - AFTER A FEW MONTHS, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Alan Freeman "Rowan Tree Cottage" (Portree, Isle of Skye (Scotland)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer - Grey (Kitchen & Home)
Originally delighted with this as it worked perfectly - but only for a while.

Was ideal to carry around the house when something was in the oven. Time left can be seen from a distance and the bells rings well (BUT you must wind it round to 60 minutes then back to the time you want - but WHY?).

BUT after only a few months of use mine has started to 'stick' (unless you stand it on its side - not ideal for a round piece of equipment). So, it can't be trusted any longer - one ruined meal in the oven as a result of this unreliability can cost more than the timer itself!!!

Surely it can't be beyond the capability of a manufacturer to produce a mechanical timer that will stand the test of time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cool, but too quiet., 5 Feb 2014
By 
Lynn (Steinhausen) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Joseph Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer - Grey (Kitchen & Home)
This is a trendy kitchen design item. It looks and feels great, but the ring pathetic!! So quiet that it is hardly fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars handy quick glance timer, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer - Grey (Kitchen & Home)
Superb design idea, so easy to see parts of an hour. Not that accurate if you only want to time a couple of minutes but a really useful for anything over 10 mins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kitchen timer, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer - Grey (Kitchen & Home)
Love Joseph Joseph design however this item isn't one their better ones. The timer works fine but the alarm doesn't sound for as long as it should nor is it very loud. There is a quiet buzz and that's it. Pity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for oldies!, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer - Grey (Kitchen & Home)
A really cleverly designed timer, I can set it by simply looking at the shape exposed rather than actually checking numbers. Very useful when eyes aren't as good as they used to be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joseph Joseph Pie Kitchen Timer - Grey
£13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews