Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, compelling debut
Popular wisdom says that Interpol are a bunch of Joy Division copyists. Popular wisdom is wrong. If we're talking influences, yes, Joy Division are there - but so are Echo and the Bunnymen, the Chameleons, Teardrop Explodes, Bauhaus and perhaps most neglected of all Magazine. These guys know their New Wave. But they haven't given us a preserved tribute - they've taken the...
Published on 11 Nov. 2002 by Peter Fenelon

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And prepare to be dazzled
Forget the misleading Joy Divison comparisons, the '80s band that Interpol most closely resemble in their sound is underrated Mancunians,The Chameleons. Chilly, stabbing guitars? Check. Huge, rumbling basslines? Yep. Subtle use of synths? You got it.

The only thing missing is a really commanding vocal presence, which would make these songs even more arresting...
Published on 19 Dec. 2003 by Kevin Clarke


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn On The Bright Lights [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Fantastic album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 Aug. 2014
By 
Sheldon Tamsett (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop has eaten itself, 18 Sept. 2003
By 
robulus (Annandale, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Let me preface this review by stating that according to modern standards I am about five and a half thousand years old, and the eighties were my time. I had a silly hair cut and everything. Ahh, those were the days...
After initially being annoyed by the mass outpouring of retro that we are currently experiencing, I have been swept away recently by some of the better exponents. First the Strokes, then Hot Hot Heat and now Interpol. I spent many a dark hour brooding in my room disturbing my almost estranged parents listening to Joy Division, and I am happy to hear their 2003 legacy in the form of Interpol.
"Turn on the bright lights" is a great album, I can almost taste the teenage angst again. Interpol distill a focus group of dark eighties infuences into a consistent style, most obviously Joy Division but also the Smiths ("Say hello to the angels") and maybe even Cocteau Twins...
However I can't give an album that is this derivative five stars. Interpol have crafted a great sound, but if you like this you simply have to check out "Closer" or "Atmosphere" by Joy Division, and plumb the depths of Ian Curtis's profoundly and tragically troubled imagination. Interpol convey melancholy in a borrowed style, Joy Division swung on the pendulum of psychosis in a devastatingly original and challenging new musical landscape. And you just don't see this in the new retro stuff.
If you are looking for vision and inspiration in contemporary popular music, look at Radiohead, Massive Attack, Tricky, assorted electronica. "Turn on the bright lights" showcases the styles of past masters worked into an enjoyable, palatable and compact form, but Interpol can never achieve the depth of their influences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 18 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This is awesome stuff. If you like the current wave of American new wave/garage rock bands (the Strokes etc) then you will adore this record. Dark and slightly foreboding, it is nontheless intelligent stuff. Gloom rock at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And prepare to be dazzled, 19 Dec. 2003
By 
Kevin Clarke "kevin17566" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Forget the misleading Joy Divison comparisons, the '80s band that Interpol most closely resemble in their sound is underrated Mancunians,The Chameleons. Chilly, stabbing guitars? Check. Huge, rumbling basslines? Yep. Subtle use of synths? You got it.

The only thing missing is a really commanding vocal presence, which would make these songs even more arresting. That said, Interpol's music has a pleasing mystery redolent of the best of those '80s bands who wore overcoats.

The album opens with 'Untitled' and its repeated line "I will surprise you sometime/I'll come round, when you're down" strikes a suitably ambivalent tone - is it a promise or a threat? Is he coming to comfort you or kill you?

'NYC' is strangely moving, with its stately pace and lyrics damning the coldness and isolation of city life - "I'm sick of spending these lonely nights, training myself not to care."

Moments of humour poke through the gloom too, like the cunning punning of 'Stella Was A Diver And She Was Always Down.'

Amongst the current crop of '80s obsessed indie bands, Interpol, in their vintage DMs and skinny ties, bring more style and elan to the party than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 10 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
Hello!
The first track; Untitled is one of the most beautiful,haunting,intelligent and moving songs i have ever heard. The piano that continues throughout to me has a quality that just forces you to listen on and become engulfed by it. Paul's voice is brilliant and original as ever though i don't see the compariosn with Ian Curtis that some seem to make. Obstacle 1 is en exceelent song with Daniel's repeated guitar riff throughout adding to Paul's voice that seems to break frequently to a haunting effect. However i don't really like the ending of the song and i find myself skipping it.I seem to under-appreciate the beauty of NYC probably because i want to move on to PDA however NYC is along with Untitled a very engulfing track filled with emotion when listened to and the ending parts( "turn on the bright lights " lyric)must be heard.
PDA (for me) is the best song on the album because it incoporates everything that makes Interpol the best band in the world.It has rock, different stlyes of voice from Paul(and some backing singer),slower-moving music(the end)and emotion.
I will mention now the weaker song on the album "say hello to the angels", i don't really see the appeal of it. "hands away" sometimes is my favourite song on the album if that makes sense, the music becomes unbelievably powerful and moving and at doesn't go on for longer than necessary at around three minutes.
Just briefly on the remaining songs beacuse i can't be bothered to drone on. Obstacle 2 is excellent and better then obstacle one in that it's just more intelligent. "Stella..."is adequate although i don't usually listen to it and at six minutes it is too long, fact. "roland" is the weirdest song for me; with Paul's vocals having some kind of effect put on them, making him sound more aggresive. The lyrics are qutie ambigious aswell(look them up), it's also the most rocky song at has a brilliant chorus. The New is good but "Leif Erikson" is by far the most atmospheric, haunting song. Paul's vocals sound confident and almost arrogant at times and it suits the song. The lyric "a rabbit's blow is like braille to the night" is either stupid or poetic genius make up your own mind. The last 40 seconds or so of it are my favourite part of the whole album, with Paul saying something about ponys.
You must get this album if you like good music. Also may I say that they sound nothing The Strokes or Joy Divison(both awesome), i laugh when i see the comparisons! Can't wait for album three from the best band around.
Thank You for your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Derivitive but I disagree with Joy Division comparison., 28 Jan. 2005
By 
Mr. Sp Shone "JohnnyM" (Hamburg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Buy it, it's worth it.
I really like this album and anyone who owns Script of the Bridge, by the Chameleons, will love it. In fact anyone into the new wave - WIRE, CHAMELEONS ETC. will enjoy it.
There is review after review saying that this sounds like Joy Division - erm... when?
Take Wire and a song like Outdoor Miner, then cross that with Fan And The Bellows by the Chameleons and you have Interpol. I'm sorry but the vocal performance is far from Ian Curtis - there's something missing at all levels - but it's very.. VERY Chameleons - even down to the style and phrasing on the vocal. NOT A BAD THING! Ask Clint Boon.
I advise anyone to buy this album, it's great, but don't pass on it's roots - buy "Script of the Bridge" too. Money well spent.
Regards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interpol enjoy the darklife, 26 July 2005
By 
I love this album from the moment i first heard it paul banks voice sounds so holy his voice is far better than ian curtis from the first track untitled which is a masterpiece to the dark depths of the new it grabs you chews you up and spits you out me and my best mate luke listen to interpol at least five times a day were massive fans and love both their albums but for an interpol begginer i suggest you seek this album out as soon as you can and then purchase antics which is a little weaker but an enjoyable listen what the hell its amazing as well its interpol for god sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real Turn On, 1 Dec. 2005
Best album of the noughties so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turn On The Bright Lights [VINYL]
Turn On The Bright Lights [VINYL] by Interpol (Vinyl - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews