Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LET THE MEMORIES FLOOD BACK!
Would there ever be a time a for a spice reunion? its true its pretty much formulated pop that was of a certain time and place! but oh what a time!

When the fivesome hit the music scene in the summer of 96 they where so fresh and in your face.."wannabe" wasnt a life-changing song vocally or lyrically but brought a breath of fresh air to the music scene...not...
Published on 11 Nov 2007 by Mr. Nathan Armstrong

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few decent tracks that haven't aged
Looking back retrospectively the Spice Girls were a lot better than people gave them credit for, but when looking at the hits on this album, it's also hard to work out what all the fuss was about.
The tracks that have lasted the test of time are generally the ballads. Wannabee will always be their most memorable tune, and although it's not horrendous, it's the...
Published on 19 Nov 2007 by Sam P


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LET THE MEMORIES FLOOD BACK!, 11 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Would there ever be a time a for a spice reunion? its true its pretty much formulated pop that was of a certain time and place! but oh what a time!

When the fivesome hit the music scene in the summer of 96 they where so fresh and in your face.."wannabe" wasnt a life-changing song vocally or lyrically but brought a breath of fresh air to the music scene...not just here but round the world! from schoolgirls to pop fans..to the parents and the odd grandparent..we all lapped it up!

we dressed up as our favourite spice...learnt the dance routines..sang along! this album will bring back so many memories!

the girls crafted pure pop and gave some great tracks...and marketed themselves to perfection! we had dolls, writing paper..even crisps!

although a lot of the songs are throwaway...the harmonies and blending vocals of all the girls from the strongest (mel c) to the weakest(geri)! to the dancing..but they gave great energy both live and on record!

you have the immense wonderful ballads "2 become 1" and "viva forever" the pure pop of "stop" and " who do you think you are" the dance workout "spice up your life" the sentimental slush of "mama" "goodbye" and the new single "headlines" and the great rnb floorfiller "holler"

apart from "headlines" the only new track is voodoo" which has a bit more ummph! but still fails to capture the glory of the heyday!

still every song will remind you of a special time or a crazy time. sort of what were you doing when this was out...where were you when you first heard this!

maybe a whole new generation will discover the girls! but i doubt it will be like like the abba revival as the sound has aged!

still buy this album and enjoy it for the pop perfection that it was and the way it changed/shook up the music scene! i cant wait for the concerts!!! got me tickets...and you just know it will be a great party!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply one of the best pop groups EVER, 16 Nov 2007
By 
S. Bokdam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Love them or hate them, the Spice Girls have made some of the best pop tunes of the last decade.

Every pop music fan should own this collection of killer tunes. They're really the ABBA of the 90's.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest hits from the biggest selling girl group of all time, 4 Dec 2008
By 
Gary Hall (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
In the weeks leading up to the release of their debut single, Wannabe, the music channel The Box played the fun video to the single 70 times a week. The single went into the charts at number 3 and then went up to number 1 and stayed there for 7 weeks. This was the start of the phenomenon called the Spice Girls. Five sassy, in-yer-face girls, well packaged with clever nick names and destined to be the biggest selling girl group of all time.

Their legacy includes 3 great pop albums (Spice, Spiceworld, Forever) and
Spiceworld: The Movie which topped the UK video charts on its first week of release, selling over 55,000 copies on its first day in the shops.

All the groups singles are here in this compilation - the first six of which were all UK number ones. So, if you're looking for a bit of fun in your music, you could do worse than checking out this bit of British pop history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spice Is Right!, 11 Nov 2007
By 
P. Derby "The Posh One" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
At last the greatest hits album we have all been waiting for from the best and biggest selling girl group ever! It features there 9 number one's, including Wannabe, 2 Become 1, Spice Up Your Life and Goodbye, plus there number 2 hit Stop, the Pepsi promotional single Move Over and 2 new tracks, Voodoo and there great new single for Children in Need, Headlines (Friendship Never Ends) As I write this, Headlines has entered the top 20 in the charts on download sales alone, so you know its going to be a massive future hit when it is released on 19th November with all sales going to charity.
This album is simply good quality pop music from the 90's, along with a few new gems, so make sure you buy it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of my childhood all on one CD, 1 Dec 2007
By 
G. Spencer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Being a huge Spice fan when I was younger, I went out and bought the CD+DVD just so I could relive the great videos as well as the songs. And well, I don't regret it at all.

I had been waiting for this package for 7 years. Even though I have all the albums, I was still so excited at the thought of them all on one CD (Sad i know!) The CD is near perfect.

Everybody will have heard 14 out of the 15 tracks here, and I think they are all awesome, the only duffish track here is Voodoo. It pretty much what we would have expected as a b-side in their hayday. But it's still great to hear a brand new spice track, so i'm not going to be complaining.

The DVD is a great bonus, with the only downside being the lack of video for 'Headlines', A song and video which i personally love.

I was still hoping for a couple more new tracks, but I still have the tour to look forward to, and I can't wait. Forget Christmas, I'm seeing the spice girls in January!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best girl band of the 90's, 6 Dec 2007
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Spice Girls may have paved the way for lesser known acts like B'Witched etc! but there image and sound where tailor made for the 90's i remember having to listen to a few girls on the school bus singing every line to their hits "Wannabe and 2 become 1" which annoyed me but at the same time they where a refreshing alternative to the boybands and while Girls aloud may be popular this group had a lot more to them in terms of them having a different individual personlality that sparkled when they sang apart from Posh Spice whose talent seems to be more for strutting and pouting as seen in their comeback tour of toronto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Women Power!, 23 Nov 2007
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Well after a break of six years the Spice Girls return with at long last the Greatest Hits us Spice fans have been waiting for. The album contains all their Spice singles including two new tracks.

While many of today's youth might have a hard time understanding the Spice vibe, it should never be taken away from them. These girls changes music in the 90s and without them the charts would not be how they are today.

While Headlines and Voodoo (the new tracks) don't really play on the Spice vibe the old hits do.

Buy it for your collection and let your hair down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the hits and videos from your favourite girl group!, 12 Nov 2007
By 
P. Derby "The Posh One" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
This album is packed with all the Spice Girls hits and the added dvd with 12 great videos, so its the perfect christmas gift for any spice fan or pop music lover. Buy it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Spice Girls Box Set, 15 Nov 2007
By 
P. Derby "The Posh One" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Box Set) (Audio CD)
I bought this box set yesterday and its really good value for money, despite what the previous comment says. You get the album, dvd with all their videos (those 2 together at the cheapest would cost u £22) and on top of that you get a remix cd of there hits, a karoke cd (great with christmas coming up) AND you also get 5 limited edition post cards of the girls, AND a limited edition charm braclet (im giving mine to my mum)
So you see if you are a big pop music lover or a mad Spice Girls fan, then you have got to buy this box set, it would make a great christmas present too. BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relive Late 90's!, 25 April 2008
This review is from: Greatest Hits (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
The SPICE GIRLS was a short-lived pop group back in the late 90s. After losing a member and unofficially splitting up, each girl went and had a solo career in music. The total number of solo albums they recorded is greater than the number of albums they made as a group. However, discussing further their solo albums is not relevant in this review.

After more than five years since they released their last album Forever, the girls had finally agreed to reunite for a "world" tour and the much-awaited (by the fans) Greatest Hits.

This particular item is the CD/DVD edition. All their singles are included in the CD, from Wannabe to Headlines (Friendship Never Ends). The radio edits and single versions of the songs are used. So for those who only have their albums you finally get the single version of 2 Become 1, in which Victoria sang the fourth verse instead of Geri.

Their well-known Pepsi advert theme song called Move Over (Generation Next), and a second new track Voodoo (Headlines is the other one) are included here to complete the 15 tracks that composed the CD.

What's better in this album is that the songs had been remastered. Though not mentioned in the inlay of the album, the improvement over the sound of the tracks can be heard, especially in Who Do You Think You Are.

The DVD contains all of their music videos sans Headlines (the US version includes Headlines though). It's fun to watch once more their cool videos such as the futuristic Spice Up Your Life, the sexy Holler, and the MTV-awarded Viva Forever. You'll get to notice some cute and petty little things in their videos which you might not have noticed before, since during their time DVD was not yet popular.

If you want to relive 90's music, have a happy/light mood, have fun, or maybe dance, then this album is recommended for you. The SPICE GIRLS may not have lasted long. But their impact in music and their legacy are presented once again in this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Spice Girls
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews