Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerry & Sylvia Anderson's SUPREME Science Fiction Odyssey - NOW ON BLU RAY
This is absolutely 1st class. The picture and sound quality will astonish you! The work that Network have done in terms of restoration and remastering (both on this and on the previous DVD release) is amazing!

SPACE:1999 remains one of the most controversial science fiction/fantasy series ever created... & I love it!

I can only hope that Network...
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by Steven J M Foster

versus
1 of 92 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHY?
WHY? when I clicked on what I had called up from the menu, "Space 1999 Season 2 Blu-Ray" is there information & reviews about season 1.
Yes I bought Season 1 ages ago on Blu-Ray & a fabulous job was done & I have no complaints about it, & still love watching it.
So can anybody tell me if Season 2 of "Space 1999" will be released on Blu-Ray & when?
Why the 1...
Published on 8 Feb 2012 by Rockin' T.C.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars present, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space 1999 - The Complete First Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Never watched it myself as bought as present for step-dad had it dvd but wanted in blue ray he was very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 70s Brilliance, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space 1999 - The Complete First Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Fantastic science fiction TV show from the mind of Gerry Anderson.Now remastered with blistering 1080P picture quality and sound.Never looked or sounded better.Recommended for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old time favourite, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space 1999 - The Complete First Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was 10 years old when I saw it for the first time and it is my favourite sci-fi series ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1999: A Space Odyssey, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Glenn-emlyn Richards (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space 1999 - The Complete First Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
To say that this first series of 'Space: 1999' (1974) was influenced by Kubrick's '2001: A Space Odyssey' (1968) - right down to its colon - is somewhat of an understatement. Barry Gray's orchestral score includes a beautiful string piece often played toward the end of many episodes that is eerily reminiscent of Aram Khachaturian's adagio from the Gayane Ballet Suite as used in 2001;* Moonbase Alpha's stark, sterile sets and uniforms, and the impact this environment has clearly had on its personnel making them somewhat cold and unemotional (I'm particularly looking at you Dr. Helena Russell); an external Moonbase Alpha model that looks uncannily like Clavius Base...

And yet although clearly launched in this garb, the series soon found its own identity until by the final episodes it has become an almost entirely different animal. Apart from the occasional hoary old sci-fi trope, the stories often have a supernatural, quasi-religious aspect to them which helps move them away from the scientific reality presented in Kubrick's film. And along the way the Alphans shrug off the robotic qualities we see in the pilot episode and we see them laugh, flirt, fight and generally emote. As well they might, for around the corner was Star Trek producer Freddie Frieberger ready to unleash not one but two monster costumes in a range of increasingly ridiculous story-lines which ignored logic, common sense and quite often the laws of physics for the ill-starred Season Two, which we shouldn't concern ourselves with here.

It's perhaps important to remember and even hard to believe that Space: 1999 was designed as an adult action/drama show, as opposed to a childrens programme and it is probably this ethos that dates it now. In the 1970s characters in television drama rarely behaved like living, real people with, you know, lives. And yet Space:1999 remains a model of clear story-telling (punctuated with the little cliff-hangers timed to coincide with the all important commercial breaks), with outstanding production values and a very retro 70's feel (flares, white and orange plastic etc...) which makes it look either very cool or just old, depending on your age I guess.

This Blu-Ray set is the high-definition version of the Network's 2005 DVD boxset which was digitally remastered from the original negatives. Unfortunately, in spite of the superlative production values, the HD really does allow you to see the rough edges of plyboard cut to allow television screens to poke through as if they were 'built in'; the bits of Letraset used to 'busy up' all sorts of space-age tools and the soft lens filters inserted for close-ups of the two leads... Barbara Bain in particular looks like she demanded a FOG 5 for her so-called 'reaction shots' where she invariably arches a pencil thin eyebrow whilst tilting her head with her lips parted like a quizzical goldfish.

The DVD's here contain innumerable special features - commentaries, separate music tracks etc. but the surprise for me were the photo libraries. On standard definition DVD this always seemed pointless, but huge beautiful grainy black and white stills taken on the set look gorgeous on a wide screen TV.

If you are in any way interested in Science Fiction or 70's television you simply cannot go wrong with this, and it's a giveaway at the moment for 25.

*Khachaturian's adagio was also used again in 'Aliens' (1986), but that's another story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars popular, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space 1999 - The Complete First Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Although made on a budget this sci-fi series became popular a few decades ago. I remember watching whilst young and rekindled some fond childhood memories I used to have whilst watching the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 92 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHY?, 8 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space 1999 - The Complete First Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
WHY? when I clicked on what I had called up from the menu, "Space 1999 Season 2 Blu-Ray" is there information & reviews about season 1.
Yes I bought Season 1 ages ago on Blu-Ray & a fabulous job was done & I have no complaints about it, & still love watching it.
So can anybody tell me if Season 2 of "Space 1999" will be released on Blu-Ray & when?
Why the 1 star? that's for Amazon's shoddy quality control on it's advertisements.
5 stars for Season 1 Blu-Ray though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space 1999 - The Complete First Series [Blu-ray]
Space 1999 - The Complete First Series [Blu-ray] by Barbara Bain (Blu-ray - 2010)
28.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews