Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely classic comedy
A lovely classic british comedy, like; are you being served, robin's nest, man about the house etc.
We really enjoyed it and I checked immediately if the other series were available. Unfortunately not. Can't wait for them to be released on dvd.
Published on 18 Sep 2010 by sagitta

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Thats my boy.
I expected so much from this but honestly it was just tatty very few jokes and an unbelievable story line not up to Mollie Sugdens professional standard
Published 7 months ago by Robert Crichton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely classic comedy, 18 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's My Boy: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
A lovely classic british comedy, like; are you being served, robin's nest, man about the house etc.
We really enjoyed it and I checked immediately if the other series were available. Unfortunately not. Can't wait for them to be released on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mollie Sugden classic, 12 Aug 2010
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's My Boy: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Mollie Sugden (Are You Being Served?) stars as Ida Willis, a housekeeper who goes to work for a Dr Robert Price and his wife Angie who is a model. Ida moves into their London flat and gradually realises that Robert is, in fact, the son she gave up for adoption as a baby. From then on she calls him Shane, (the name she originally chose for him when he was born) Ida then gets maternal; as she tries to catch up with the years she lost. But she also struggles with Robert's adoptive mother, who finds that she now has some very unwelcome competition.
That is the basis for this good fun and pleasant comedy that ran for a long five series including Christmas specials.
Here we just get series one on this product and I hope that Network release the other series as this is a strong series that was very successful. Mollie Sugden is best remembered for Are you being served, and it's easy to forget the other great work she did. This is an example of that great work. Mollie is in good form and relies on her genius for visual expression and excellent timing. She is a wonderful actress and always has good screen presence and this series is no exception. The series was written by Pam Valentine and Michael Ashton (You're Only Young Twice), they also wrote another series for Mollie Sugden called My Husband and I which did co star her real life husband William Moore. That series followed the final series of that's my boy. The point I mention this is that the writers were very successful in British Comedy and also were successful in writing for Molly Sugden. That's My Boy was an enduring success for Yorkshire Television.
This product has only one disc containing the whole first series.
If you are a fan of Are you being served, or Mollie Sugden you will like this. It's a gentle comedy with a feel good factor.
Are You Being Served? - The Complete Series One to Five [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decent early 80s comedy, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: That's My Boy: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This Yorkshire Television comedy showcased the superb comical talents of the late Keighley - born Mollie Sugden. Fresh from her success on BBC's Are You Being Serves, That's My Boy was a Friday night hit for ITV running for five series. The first of these five series introduces Mollie's character Ida Willis to the son she gave away for adoption years ago. With a fantastic supporting cast including the late Christopher Blake as son Robert (or Shane as Ida prefers to call him), Jennifer Lonsdale as Robert's wife Angie, Clare Richards as Robert's "other mother" and the late Harold Goodwin as Ida's brother Wilfred.
The six series one episodes on this set are
Live as a Family (original ITV transmission 23 October 1981)
Settling In (30 October 1981)
Happy Birthdays, Robert (6 November 1981)
Is It Catching? (13 November 1981)
Driven Apart (20 November 1981)
Think Thin (27 November 1981)
This comedy is suitable for the whole family and it is a pity that there isn't more decent comedy still around like this on ITV today.
Well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comedy, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's My Boy: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
a great classic comedy from the 1980's , one not to be missed, the lovely Mollie Sugden stars with good supporting actors , nice warm storylines, light hearted viewing, watch them you won't get them any more today. a wonderful series well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy u won't be disappointed, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's My Boy: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Very. Good indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Thats my boy., 25 May 2014
By 
Robert Crichton (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's My Boy: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I expected so much from this but honestly it was just tatty very few jokes and an unbelievable story line not up to Mollie Sugdens professional standard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You've got to love Molly!, 30 April 2013
By 
Leona K. Thigpen (Augusta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's My Boy: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Molly was a wonderful actress and comedian. This is a great series. It is very funny. She reminds me of some old women I've known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's My Boy: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Nostalgic buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing DVD with poor writing, 2 Nov 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: That's My Boy: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Very disappointing. The glorious Mollie Sugan tries so hard but even she cannot save a poor script. I was bored with hackneyed and predictable storylines. I felt sorry for the actors, who did not fare well. I shall not be buying any more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing DVD with poor writing, 2 Nov 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: That's My Boy: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Very disappointing. The glorious Mollie Sugan tries so hard but even she cannot save a poor script. I was bored with hackneyed and predictable storylines. I felt sorry for the actors, who did not fare well. I shall not be buying any more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

That's My Boy: The Complete First Series [DVD]
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews