Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spanish journey
Andrew's journey into the art of spain is informative, entertaining, and beautiful to look at. Though his presenting style is informal, he manages to carry a sense of weight behind his opinions - whether you agree with them or not - not seen on TV since Kenneth Clark. For some reason, his work has been slow to come to DVD, so let's hope this release is a sign of things to...
Published on 11 Nov. 2010 by Artsfan

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much of the presenter, too litte of the art!
Andrew Graham-Dixon seriously needs to get over himself. I'd say 50% of this DVD's run time is wasted on close-ups of him in his car talking, shots of his car from a little distance, and shots of unremarkable land by the side of the road as he drives by (rows of trees, weeds, nondescript hills in the distance, some industrial buildings, power lines...it could be...
Published on 18 Sept. 2011 by Jeena


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spanish journey, 11 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Art of Spain [DVD] (DVD)
Andrew's journey into the art of spain is informative, entertaining, and beautiful to look at. Though his presenting style is informal, he manages to carry a sense of weight behind his opinions - whether you agree with them or not - not seen on TV since Kenneth Clark. For some reason, his work has been slow to come to DVD, so let's hope this release is a sign of things to come. His excellent series on the Rennaissance and on British art are rarely seen on TV and DVD releases are long overdue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 5 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Spain [DVD] (DVD)
This is an intelligent and visually appealing art history programme combining imaginative interpretations and beautiful camera work of both scenery and art objects. Andrew Graham-Dixon presented the history with flair and enthusiasm without being bogged down by the snobbery of traditional academic views. The programme is divided into three episodes - the Islamic south in the early period, Catholic mysticism in Central Spain in the Middle Ages, Modern masters of the 19th -20th centuries in Northern Spain. A logical division. There is not a dull moment. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great road trip, 19 Jan. 2011
By 
K. Newman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Spain [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic chance to travel through an historic landscape in the company of a witty, urbane, cultured companion and to experience the beautiful heritage of Spain from the romance of Al Andalus to the extravagance of Gaudi's Barcelona. Thoroughly enjoyed this series and could happily have watched more. Really hoping that he will do Italy, Russia and the Netherlands too. Have put the Art of Germany on my wish list for February.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling viewing, 5 April 2012
By 
Chris (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Spain [DVD] (DVD)
Another fantastic Andrew Graham-Dixon series, again capturing perfectly the 'zeitgeist' of the period and country in question. Accessible, entertaining and inspiring stuff. Can't recommend it enough, even for those unfamiliar with Spanish history or art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining overview, 25 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Spain [DVD] (DVD)
Television presenters of art history don't come much more enthusiastic and easy to follow than Andrew Graham-Dixon, and his is a delightful and informative general view of Spanish art. I can only relate to the Andalucian section of the programme, and note in this connection he repeats the stuff that tourists love to hear, that the Moores imported just about everything from toothpaste to underarm deodorant. He attempts to do justice to the Alhambra palace but obviously couldn't gain privileged access for he and the crew to display all its wonders, so he has to resort quite a lot to the spoken word to describe one of the great wonders of southern Spain (it has to be visited early in the morning before the tourist scrum, to really be appreciated). The Alcazar in Seville (which I haven't vistited) was however a marvel to behold and it's on the list for a future holiday itinerary. I'm surprised at time of writing that his 'Art of Russia' hasn't transferrred to DVD yet, whereas the later broadcast 'Art of Germany' has, as the former is a much more interesting survey. For anyone with a general interest in Spanish art and architecture I also recommend Brian Sewell's dvd 'Naked Pilgrim' - a leisurely trip following the pilgrim trail through France and Spain to Santiago de Compostela. Both presenters do art history a service for the interested layman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling viewing, 4 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Art of Spain [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't just art appreciation. Andrew Graham-Dixon takes us on a compelling journey through the social, political and religious history of Andalucia. He is the the most inspiring of tour guides. If you've never seen Moorish Spain, you will be yearning to go once you've seen this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very clever art presentation, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Spain [DVD] (DVD)
This program was one of the best I have seen. I think I know quite a bit about Spanish art, in but this program they present the full impact of Moorish art and how it did survive in the Spanish art far up to our time in some ways. The explain the fanatical religius attitudes and give plausible reasons for how Spanish art and mentality have developed as they have. This gave a profound insight. Their presentation of the northern artist, the modern ones was also very interesting and entertaining. I was especially happy that they also included the exuberant filmmaker Luis Buñuel in their definition of Spanish art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much of the presenter, too litte of the art!, 18 Sept. 2011
By 
Jeena "Maggie the Cat" (San Francisco, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Spain [DVD] (DVD)
Andrew Graham-Dixon seriously needs to get over himself. I'd say 50% of this DVD's run time is wasted on close-ups of him in his car talking, shots of his car from a little distance, and shots of unremarkable land by the side of the road as he drives by (rows of trees, weeds, nondescript hills in the distance, some industrial buildings, power lines...it could be anywhere). What's missing is the art itself and a lot of solid information. Example: he talks about sherry as a very Spanish drink. Then he visits a cellar where sherry casks are kept and spends the entire time giggling about how inept he is at siphoning sherry from the cask into a glass. No information about how sherry is made, when it started being made in Spain, by whom...nothing. Another example: He visits a Joan Miro exhibit. Most of the shots are of him breezing through the rooms where the paintings are hung. Not of the paintings, but of him walking by them, yapping away. When he does stop in front of one of them, the painting is seen at an angle so it's barely visible, but he's in a full, straight-on body shot so you see all of him. Hey, I want to see the art, not the presenter! Paintings are seldom seen in their entirely for very long in Part III (northern Spain) of the DVD - often you just see a piece of a painting. Watching this dvd is frustrating because you see that Mr. G-D was in some wonderful locations and that he could have given you a good long look at some great art, and he could have done his homework and given you a lot of info about the art, and about history. For the most part he just mugs for the camera and flails his arms around. He does do a good job on El Greco and on Moorish architecture, I'll give him that. But with Picasso, Miro, Velazquez, and so many others, he seriously drops the ball. If you know even a little about the art of Spain, you won't learn (or see) much by watching this DVD. To sum up, the main problem with this DVD is that the focus is on Mr. G-D and NOT on the art. If I had it to do over again, I would not buy this DVD. And I will most certainly NEVER buy another DVD with Mr. "I'm in love with myself" Graham-Dixon as the presenter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful, atmospheric trip around Spain., 13 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Spain [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone who enjoys visiting Spain, this is a must. Andrew Graham Dixon is knowledgeable but not boring. It was a fascinating series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected joy, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Spain [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this when first broadcast, but finding myself needing to take a bit of a crash course in Spanish Art, I must say there is really no better place to start than this. Of course like all TV series it is an overview, but the visual immediacy of film and the enthusiasm of the presenter sent me rushing off to find out more. You don't have to agree with everything Graham-Dixon says, but his own personal commitment certainly carries you along the journey. Heartfelt recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Spain [DVD]
The Art of Spain [DVD] by Andrew Graham-Dixon (DVD - 2010)
£6.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews