Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight To The Front Of The Queue
Now here's a strong debut to light up the night sky!
'Gossip Girl' girl Taylor Momsen adds another string
to her bow and demonstrates an innate understanding of
the inner-workings of edgy urban pop-rock with a punky
twist. This tight little NYC quartet have delivered a vibrant
and energising collection of ten tracks all of which stand up...
Published on 1 Sep 2010 by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short for more stars
The quality of the songs deserves four stars (and three of them are 5 star riff-driven magic!), but at just over half an hour long (it's about 35 minutes), there's just not enough of them on here to justify giving it 4/5.
Published 6 months ago by DoctorRock


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Too short for more stars, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
The quality of the songs deserves four stars (and three of them are 5 star riff-driven magic!), but at just over half an hour long (it's about 35 minutes), there's just not enough of them on here to justify giving it 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guilty pleasure, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
Ignore the hype over Gossip Girl and just listen to the music. It isn't ground-breaking, but it is good fun and she has a satisfyingly growly voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
purchased this on a whim, as i like paramore and flyleaf. really great cd, havent taken it out my car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING CD, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
Amazing album, great songs. I know every lyric! defiantly worth buying! The pretty reckless rule!!
very good purchase indeed :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
Thank you so much, it came in a brilliant condition and it came very fast :) Sorry for the late review. I give you a 5 out of 5 hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
I have loved this band since I first them a few years ago Taylor is the New Marianne faithfull so talented and mesmerizing great vocals great songs I would highly recommended this album hard to believe she was so young recording this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Rock Album In A LONG TIME., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (MP3 Download)
I first heard of The Pretty Reckless when they were putting out their first demo tracks and instantly fell in love with Miss Momsens rich, heady voice. I adore the fact she writes the lyrics and music herself and her voice is genuinely perfect for the music. It is a warm, seductive rasp. The lyrics themselves are brilliant and so is the music. I have loved this album for a long time and will for a lot longer. Bellow is a brief review of the tracks.

1: My Medicine: This song is literally the perfect album opener. It has a nice groove to it, it's very funky and very old school Rock n' Roll. Great vocals and instruments. 5/5

2: Since You're Gone: This is not my favorite track of the album but on any other rock album it would be a stand out track. Good rhythm but the lyrics are a bit cliche for me. 3.5/5

3: Make Me Wanna Die: This is probably the first track by The Pretty Reckless most people heard, and it won them a lot of fans. The lyrics are dark and it has a seedy vibe to it. Again very old school rock. This is a very unique song that I really love. 5/5.

4: Light Me Up: The title track of the album, this has quite a country vibe to it, which I love. I love the lyrics, the vocals and everything else that goes with it. It is a brilliant song. 5/5

5: Just Tonight: This is one of my favorite songs on the album. It is very dark and hypnotic. Taylor's voice works brilliantly. It is very emotional and raw. Without any doubt 5/5.

6: Miss Nothing: Another single, I wasn't originally over keen on this song but it really has grown on me. It is an amazing song for when you're in a bad mood. So with that in mind I'll probably give it a 4/5.

7: Goin Down: A song about sexual relations with a priest after killing someone? Well...Why not? Unsurprisingly it is a unique concept but it works very well. "Well hey there father I don't mean to bother you but I have a sin to confess, I'm just 16, if you know what I mean, do you mind if I take of my dress?" You may wish to skip this track if you a religious but I personally love it. Another 5/5.

8: Nothing Left To Loose: Another country vibe track, I do really love this track and it slows the album down nicely after the very fast Goin Down. I'd probably give it a 4.5/5.

9: Factory Girl: WOW. This track is actually amazing. It is sleazy and rhythm driven. It is everything you'd want from an old school rock album. It is great fun and without a doubt my favorite track from this amazing album. 5/5.

10: You: This is probably the weakest track on the record but it is still very good. It is a very soothing balled that shows the softer side of Taylor's voice. But very sadly it doesn't match the sheer brilliance of the rest of the album. 3/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my review, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
I chose the rating as it fits the group and I can not wait to get the other albums of theres and my friends feel the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cindy Lou?, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Ciarian F. J. Miles (Tunbridge Wells, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
A great Debut album I personally loved Miss Nothing, My only dislike is the fact it wasn't long enough as the American and Japanese versions have more songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New band to follow, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
This album has some great songs, and the more i listen to it the better it gets. A great addition to my collection and a band I will enjoy following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light Me Up
Light Me Up by The Pretty Reckless (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews