Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value for money & taste
When it comes to protein bars, the first things that you must realise when you compare them to ordinary chocolate bars is:

a) They contain a significant amount of protein which makes them chewy
b) They contain better quality ingredients and have less sugar which means they don't taste as nice
c) They are a lot more expensive

Now thats is...
Published 10 months ago by PPS076

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but I'd go for something cheaper
The nutrition in these flapjack bars is great, plenty of protein and creatine also to aid you in building muscle. After a while you also get used to the taste, however it is something of an acquired one.

The bars aren't really like normal flapjack, they break apart in your mouth as you eat them as the flapjack does not go well with the extra protein that has...
Published on 2 Mar 2011 by mr ff


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value for money & taste, 8 Dec 2013
By 
PPS076 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MaxiNutrition Progain 90 g Chocolate, Raisin and Hazelnut Mass and Strength Flapjack Bars - Box of 12 (Formerly Known as Maximuscle) (Personal Care)
When it comes to protein bars, the first things that you must realise when you compare them to ordinary chocolate bars is:

a) They contain a significant amount of protein which makes them chewy
b) They contain better quality ingredients and have less sugar which means they don't taste as nice
c) They are a lot more expensive

Now thats is out of the way, let's gets back to the review.

I have tasted nearly all the protein bars out there so I have learnt what good value is when I consider ingredients, taste, price, flavour & texture.

These bars are hazelnut flavoured flapjacks and they taste surprisingly nice. They have sufficient calories (328 Kcal per bar) which makes them a good meal replacement or a protein bar to bulk up your daily protein requirement (22.3g protein per bar).

They also contain CLA, Probiotics and creatinine (In smaller amounts).

Nutritional information per 100g

Energy = 1528 KJ
Protein = 24.7g
Carbohydrate = 49.0g (5.0g sugars, 17.5g polyols
Fat = 10.8g (3.9g saturated)
CLA = 1.14g
Fibre = 3.5g
Sodium = 0.032g
Creatinine Monohydrate = 1.14g
Probiotics = 154 million cultures (Bacteria name = Bacillus Coagulans)

When purchased on their own, these bars are expensive, however when purchased in a box of 12,they offer very good value for money at just over a £1 each.

If you are thinking about buying these bars just to add calories to your meal plan but only plan to eat them when you are home, it would be much cheaper having this type of ingredient in powder form (Meal replacement powder, not protein powder). It would cost you less and you would be getting more calories, carbs, fat, protein and fibre (You could adjust calories accordingly to suit your requirement. Less powder added = Less calories).

However if you want to increase your calories whilst on the go (Bus driver, Electrician, Mobile fitness instructor, salesman etc) and you do not have a canteen etc to make a powder then these are perfect.

I personally use them just after my gym session as I have a 45 min drive home, when I go on a hike / climb or when I am in work sitting at my desk when I know I won't have time to eat lunch properly.

In summary: A nice tasting, nice textured protein / meal replacement bar with plenty of healthy calories.
Given the price, taste & ingredients compared to rival products, these bars offer very good value for money.

Highly recommended.

Feedback:
If you wish to provide feedback on this review then please follow the link below.

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but I'd go for something cheaper, 2 Mar 2011
The nutrition in these flapjack bars is great, plenty of protein and creatine also to aid you in building muscle. After a while you also get used to the taste, however it is something of an acquired one.

The bars aren't really like normal flapjack, they break apart in your mouth as you eat them as the flapjack does not go well with the extra protein that has been added. I can cope with this, but I imagine those that want something tastier after their gym session would not be able to.

The main problem is the price, I'd go for the promax bars which cost about 20p less.

Not a bad buy, but better options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MaxiNutrition Progain 90 g Chocolate, Raisin and Hazelnut Mass and Strength Flapjack Bars - Box of 12 (Formerly Known as Maximuscle) (Personal Care)
Excellent value and taste, worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery. Tasty and effective. Only protien bars ..., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MaxiNutrition Progain 90 g Chocolate, Raisin and Hazelnut Mass and Strength Flapjack Bars - Box of 12 (Formerly Known as Maximuscle) (Personal Care)
Quick delivery. Tasty and effective. Only protien bars I will buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars but these are great for eating on the go, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to eat these when i weight trained but I struggle with long hours and kids now, but these are great for eating on the go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have acquired the taste for edible chocolate pollyfilla, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MaxiNutrition Progain 90 g Chocolate, Raisin and Hazelnut Mass and Strength Flapjack Bars - Box of 12 (Formerly Known as Maximuscle) (Personal Care)
I've been using the Chocolate hazelnut flavour version of these bars for almost a year now. Let's first be clear that's it's not going to taste like a flapjack. There are oats in there but they merely accompany the chocolate `pollyfilla'. There are actual nut pieces in there, which actually do taste good. And the chocolate is more light chocolate flavouring. There is an apparent coating of chocolate on the base but its taste is masked by the rest of the bar.

Although I discredit it as a flapjack, its actually not that bad as protein bars go. It's not too sweet and so isn't going to be sickly nor will it attack your teeth if you normally struggle with sugary food. It's not too dense and gooey so doesn't feel like its structurally pulling my teeth out to chew it. It's a large bar but I've never struggled to finish it, yet it leaves me feeling settled in the stomach and not hungry for a while after that. It's a fairly good protein dose for the size of the bar, along with small quantities of Creatine and CLA.

One of the reasons I continue to buy this is that these bars are suitable for vegetarians, which many other bars are not as they use some form of gelatine to keep the bars soft or gooey. The batches I've had have been variable though, some are hard some are softer, some are sweeter and some have had a bitter taste, it seems down to luck. If you are buying in a shop, give the bar or a box a light squeeze to check if that batch is soft enough. Even if it is dry, I tend to drink a couple of glasses of water at the same time as they mix well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bars with great taste. The price is ok too. so 5 stars.
I would buy the product again for sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for that extra calorie hit, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: MaxiNutrition Progain 90 g Chocolate, Raisin and Hazelnut Mass and Strength Flapjack Bars - Box of 12 (Formerly Known as Maximuscle) (Personal Care)
This is great for those that are looking for an extra 300 calories in their diet that they can not find. The taste is superb, I find it nice anyway. Each to their own I guess. I have tried both variations and they both taste nice, go down well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Taste is horrible, they are dry and have a gritty texture, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: MaxiNutrition Progain 90 g Chocolate, Raisin and Hazelnut Mass and Strength Flapjack Bars - Box of 12 (Formerly Known as Maximuscle) (Personal Care)
Taste is horrible ,they are dry and have a gritty texture.there are much better bars on the market than this and charged 9£ delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sugary mush, 22 Jun 2014
Very disappointing. Thought it was supposed to be a type of flapjack but not like that at all. I'm trying to force myself to eat them but they don't taste good and so sugary it's hard to imagine they can be good for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews