Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the style of Robert Heinlein
I enjoyed the book and felt that it was written in a 'Robert Heinlein' style - the characters, reasonably easy going storyline and the setting (The Moon is a Harsh Mistress/Podkayne of Mars/Have Spacesuit Will Travel).
Well worth the read and interesting (even if the idea of an element far heavier than current known elements (114) is a little hard to believe)...
Published on 29 Nov 2010 by M. Thompson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden the stars by Baltimore daniels
Boring, stuffed with technological jargon to "pad out" a weak storyline. Whatever the follow-up contain will be as mysterious as this is! And as much a waste of time with which I can be reading other sf.
Published 17 months ago by Bob Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the style of Robert Heinlein, 29 Nov 2010
By 
M. Thompson "Mike Thompson" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book and felt that it was written in a 'Robert Heinlein' style - the characters, reasonably easy going storyline and the setting (The Moon is a Harsh Mistress/Podkayne of Mars/Have Spacesuit Will Travel).
Well worth the read and interesting (even if the idea of an element far heavier than current known elements (114) is a little hard to believe).
For Kindle readers - few if any typos and will allow Text to Voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden the stars by Baltimore daniels, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Boring, stuffed with technological jargon to "pad out" a weak storyline. Whatever the follow-up contain will be as mysterious as this is! And as much a waste of time with which I can be reading other sf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Decent premise with a good plotline even though parts of the story leave loose ends. A longer book could have dealt with these and added to story without detracting from it. overall though a fair read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Sentinel, 8 April 2014
By 
William J. Fox "KillerBill" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Although I have given this book 4 stars I am not likely to read the sequels. The writing is good, there is plenty of compulsion to turn the pages, strong and interesting characters and plausible science, but I was haunted by the spectre of the original Arthur C. Clarke story which gave birth to Kubrick's "2001".

I am not accusing the author of plagiarism in any way at all but it was a difficult topic to cover without some echoes of Clarke's short story. If you have not read the Clarke story, seen the film, or read the novelisation of the film, then you will find it a fresh and interesting look at First Contact and faster than light travel.

Recommended with some reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good story, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is well written with good characterisation and proof reading. The plot is relatively routine but I was gripped enough to want to read it all the way to the end. I am not sure I can be bothered to try the next one but this one was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We are not alone, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good concept but a little sparse in places in connecting the i's and dotting the t's. A good read but could have been a lot better with a bit more fine tuning. Thats my personal opinion as a reader and I admit I could not do better or even come close as a writer - so respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent story, 16 Aug 2013
By 
Simon Skinner (Penge, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is the first of the trilogy and makes you want to buy the rest to finish the story.
Although it can stand alone as a story the end leave you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bit slow to get into, but well worth perservering!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book took me a bit of time to get truly hooked, but once I did, wow, what an incredible read! By time I finished the last page there was no question about whether I was going to download the next book or not.

Great story, and got so involved felt like it was actually happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not memorable, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
it was long enough but not very memorable and i wouldn't buy the rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
At first I was not too sure of this story, it was a slow start to the story. Usually I will stop reading if it is a slow start, but something was there to read more of it.

I am glad that I did. It turned into an amazing space tale, yes for some people there is some technical information, but if you are willing to read past that, it will be a great story.

To the author, please do not let it go for the movie rights. It will never be as good as the movie that I watched in my mind !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews