Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Marley transcends Reggae.
To have any kind of a great record collection, you MUST have either or both Exodus and Burnin' both by Bob Marley and the Wailers.
Exodus is the pinnacle of what Bob was trying to do in bringing Reggae to the masses and keep the political edge to his music and this is put in no finer detail than the title song from this magnificent album.
As well as that you...
Published on 22 Dec 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Exodus Bob Marley
A classic in its genre, but sounds less good to me than it did 30 years ago. A must for any reggae lover.
Published 1 month ago by Hans Westerlaken


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Marley transcends Reggae., 22 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Exodus - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
To have any kind of a great record collection, you MUST have either or both Exodus and Burnin' both by Bob Marley and the Wailers.
Exodus is the pinnacle of what Bob was trying to do in bringing Reggae to the masses and keep the political edge to his music and this is put in no finer detail than the title song from this magnificent album.
As well as that you have, One love, waiting in vain,Jamming, natural mystic and what I feel is one of the greatest love songs of all time, turn your lights down low.
This album is a must for anyone serious about there music, but don't take my word for it, PLEASE go and buy it for yourself, you'll thank me one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive version of the 'Exodus' album: a must-buy, 16 April 2010
By 
L. Hennessy (Twickenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Exodus - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
This is arguably the best album from Bob Marley - it contains many of his most famous tracks such as the groove-packed 'Jamming', the romantic classic 'Waiting in Vain', the humble and optimistic 'Three Little Birds', the philanthropic masterpiece 'One Love - People Get Ready', and of course the unmistakeable opening track that sets the the bar high and the tone of tracks to follow, 'Natural Mystic'.

The remastering is fantastic - the bass is ripe and pure, while the detail of the drumwork and horns is a treat for the ears. For those of you who are like me, CD1 has some real collectors' tracks: two extra versions of 'Jammin' - an instrumental and an extended, as well as an instrumental of 'Exodus', and an alternative version of 'Waiting in Vain', which is very interesting.

The great news is that CD2 is more than just a thrown-in add-on, there's 5 live tracks, taken from his gig at The Rainbow, London, in June 1977. The tempo seems to fluctuate slightlyat times, especially on 'Jammin'. But the real good stuff are the 4 tracks from the 1977 Lee Perry sessions - I'm so pleased to have them: 'Keep on Moving' and 'Punky Reggae Party' with dub versions of the two as well. They'll raise a few eyebrows at any muso parties for sure.

Finally, there's a brief audio commercial for the CD, featuring Bob cackling "Hi, This is Bob Marley..." doing a nice little cameo over Exodus, seguing into "Waiting in Vain".

This CD is THE DEFINITVE version of the album - now that summer is here, make it something special and get this album. Give it a spin at a barbecue in the garden and you can't go wrong.

IF you want an album to start your Reggae or Bob Marley collection going, you couldn't find a better starting place than here.

Have a great summer, everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have?, 2 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. P. Rogers "guderian11" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exodus - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
if you like bob this is a great cd the bonus live stuff is real classic.you will not be disapointed bob was always at his best live. one of those rare artists.outstanding a must have for any reggae fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob's commercial triumph, 19 April 2001
By 
This review is from: Exodus (Audio CD)
As well as containing some vital hit singles like 'Jamming' and 'Three Little Birds' this is the most complete album I have heard by Mr. Marley. It is inventive reggae dealing with many issues from the deeply religious (without sounding sanctimonious) in 'The Heathen' and 'So Much Things To Say', through to political with 'Exodus', prophetic ('Natural Mystic') and simply humanitarian (One Love/People Get Ready). This music engages the brain and relaxes the body and strengthens the soul - not any easy feat, but here performed expertly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless masterpiece, 14 Aug 2007
By 
Red Mosquito (Horton Bank Top) - See all my reviews
Everything that needs to be said or written about this 20th century musical masterpiece has already been said and written, so here's a personal perspective that I sometimes share with myself when listening to Exodus. I'm not a huge reggae fan, in fact this is the only reggae album in my collection, which has be growing steadily for the last 36 years.
There's a sort of paradox with Exodus, on the one hand the music is so tight that you couldn't get a proverbial cigarette paper between the bass, percussion, guitars, keyboards, and vocals. On the other hand here's a group of musicians who are so talented and confident about their music that the notes seems to drip off them with very little effort. You get the impression that they had a great deal of fun making this album, no pressure no deadlines. Island records had a reputation for giving their artists time and space to develop their craft in those days.
For the purists out there this 30th anniversary edition has no extras, just 37 minutes of original perfection. No need to clutter it with stuff that wasn't deemed worthy of inclusion 30 years ago.
Sometimes when groups of like minded talented people get together, their mood, skill and enthusiasm produce great things, a moment in time never to be repeated in their life time. England won the world cup in 1966. Nirvana recorded Nevermind in 1991. Exodus was one of those moments. If you've not heard it give it a try I'm sure it will be in your collection for many years to come and who knows, your might one day replace it with the 50th anniversary edition!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A natural man, 1 July 2012
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exodus (Audio CD)
This is where it all came together.
After the lucid delights of Catch A Fire, the feisty Burnin` and Natty Dread, the intensity of the live album, and the more languid Rastaman Vibration, Exodus is a bona fide masterpiece. And it`s all here, with two superb extra tracks, in glorious
sharp-as-a-diamond remastered sound.
Some of Marley & the Wailers` most winning songs are here, and not just the `hits` either, but other great tracks like Natural Mystic, So Much Things To Say, and Turn Your Lights Down Low. Sometimes it`s the lesser known songs that tell you more about an artist. Listen to the incredible second side of Kaya for example...
I guarantee if you put this album on at any kind of party, most of the people will put down their drinks and get dancing. They`d just have to move about to this jubilant music.
I admit I took Bob Marley a little for granted when he was alive and making records like this, but I can now see he was one of his era`s greatest artists, on a par with Al Green, Marvin Gaye, Curtis Mayfield or Stevie Wonder as a creative singer, and catalyst for the talents with which he surrounded himself. And boy, did he have soul.
Exodus is an essential album of the eclectic 70s, which should adorn any collection
of music from that time.
Mind you, the magically wondrous Kaya was to come next, containing my all-time favourite Wailers track, Misty Morning. But that was some months away, and we had Exodus. More than enough to go on with.
These days, Bob`s voice sounds as natural as breathing.
What a loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Marley Exodus, 8 July 2011
By 
David Freeman "DDxxx" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exodus [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Bought this to replace the scratched version I'd had for over thirty years.Glad theres still some vinyl arround and this one in particular is excellent.It plays perfectly and I'd much rather have it on vinyl than CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Reggae King's Finest "International" Album, 28 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Exodus (Audio CD)
This 1977 album contains some of Marley's most memorable singles (the gloriously upbeat "Three Little Birds") and some lesser known gems like "Guiltiness" although the highlight is the remarkable romantic song "Waiting In Vain." Absolute class from probably the finest reggae singer of all time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movement of JAH people, 29 Aug 2003
This review is from: Exodus - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
If you were to choose a Bob Marley album then this is the right one for you. This album is a MUST have. The music is fantastic. Bob Marley is a true legend. He doesn't create bad material in his music, he is a true hero. You'll definately enjoy geate hits such as the incredible "Exodus", "Waiting in Vain", and "Three Little Birds". This CD is the right way to start getting into Bob Marley, the music is incredible and relaxing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: Exodus (Audio CD)
99,9% of reggae music lovers will agree with me that Robert Nesta Marley Booker, better known as Bob Marley, is the most influencial and best reggae musician has ever lived. His band, Bob Marley and the Wailers, have made lots of hits, of which Exodus is just one good example. The singles One Love and Jamming will be familiar to anyone who only know a bit of classics, without being such a rastaman. Although, as vital are the love song Waiting In Vain, the title track, and the brilliant one Guiltiness. This was the first album to feature Junior Murvin on guitar, while the expressive use of horns adds new texture to the established quality of the the band's backing. Other songs of this album are, for example, Natural Mystic or Much Things to Say, two great songs that are essential to enjoy and understand Bob's music. I really recommend this album to you, because it's very relaxing. In addition, you can buy it very cheap (7-10 euros more or less), so you should buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exodus
Exodus by Bob Marley
Buy MP3 Album10.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews