Customer Reviews


340 Reviews
5 star:
 (218)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good sequel that only just falls short of 'Dragon Tattoo's genius
Lisbeth and Mikael are back, as the titular 'girl' and journalist Mikael Blomkvist respectively, although they spend almost the entire film apart. As someone who hasn't read the books, I'm unaware of how faithful that is, so I'll just address the film as a sequel to the last movie. 'Dragon Tattoo' stood out for me as having a searingly intense and brave storyline for the...
Published on 6 Mar. 2011 by Benminx

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did I see the same film as everyone else?
So I know, everyone loves the books. However, coming at this film from a purely cinematic view point I have to say that this second installment in the Millenium trilogy is sadly lacking, and here's why:
Whilst The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo [DVD, directed by Niels Arden Oplev, was a beautifully photographed and well observed journey into the dark heart of Swedish...
Published on 16 Dec. 2011 by Mr. T. COLEMAN


‹ Previous | 127 28 2934 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars there are a directors cuts out there, 28 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Girl Who Played With Fire [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Be aware there are dir. cuts of all three movies, each approx. 90-120 min longer, the dir.-cuts are released in germany feb. 11. 2011 (no english subs, no englisch language.) I hope these dir.cuts will released in uk also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 18 Jan. 2011
I'm not writing a lengthy and deeply informative review, but please don't let my brevity detract from the message: this film is god awful.
I loved the book and it's prequel, but this on-screen version really blows. I found all the characters dull and two dimensional and the story is a shadow, truly snippets, of the actual story written by Larson. It's like a budget Channel 5 movie. I think if you've read the book you'll be thoroughly disappointed and if you haven't the film will put you right off. Utter parp. Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mess, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Girl Who Played With Fire [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I enjoyed the film adaptation of Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, which I thought was one of those rare occasions when the film improved on the book. So though not having read Played with Fire, I was looking forward to this.What a disappointment. I can only assume all those 5* reviews are by people who have read the book and so could make some sense of the plot. I certainly couldn't from what is shown on screen, other than to spot the massive holes in it. But it's not just poor plotting that is the problem here, drama is built on character interaction. But here the main characters are kept apart for most of the film and what interaction there is, is purely used to cover plot points and exposition. So for me they was little engagement with plot or character. Even when key interactions do take place towards the end they are wasted due to the one dimensional nature of the supporting cast. The final third which could have been engrossing is in fact ludicrous.

The one shining light in all this is Noomi Rapace as Lisbeth, who breathes life into the character and is riveting when on screen, shame the rest of the film wasn't anywhere close to her performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's okay, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Who Played With Fire [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
i bought this as i wanted it to watch as i've seen the other ones and i was a bit disappointed that the voice overs did not go in synck with their mouths
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dubbed!, 6 May 2013
By 
H. Charlesworth (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Who Played With Fire [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The plot of this film is ok but it's hard to follow because it is dubbed. I found myself watching the mouths instead of concentrating on a bit of a weak plot. Also, I think I was influenced by the first film which starred Daniel Craig and was absolutely brilliant!! Trilogys for me always get weaker - having said that the third of this series, although still dubbed, had a much better plot and I really enjoyed it (The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets Nest). If you can get through this one it's worth watching all three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GIRL WHO PLAYED WITH FIRE (DVD), 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Who Played With Fire [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
ENJOYED IT TREMENDOUSLY AND VERY TRUE TO STIG LARSONS BOOK IT HAS NOT BEEN ALTERED FROM THE ORIGINAL PLOT OF THE BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read the books first!, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Who Played With Fire [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Having read the books first the Video did not quite match up. That goes for the triology of them. Entertaing to some degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Who Played With Fire [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Good buy, very good service and great product. Received it very quickly, extremely well packed. Cannot fault it in anyway. BUT NAUGHTY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a gift for my husband after he deleted the recorded films from the TV! He loves the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 127 28 2934 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl Who Played With Fire [DVD] [2010]
The Girl Who Played With Fire [DVD] [2010] by Daniel Alfredson (DVD - 2011)
£3.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews