Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just grab it!!
A must have for all Prince fans and an interesting collection of songs for who wants to discover his music.
It's a 2cd-set. The first cd contains lots of Prince classics, from 'I wanna be your lover'to 'When doves cry', from 'Alphabet St' to 'Nothing compares 2 U'.
But it's the 2nd cd that deserves more attention. You'll find here many of the finest 12"...
Published on 4 Feb 2006 by Andrea Cossu

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good cd wrong artwork
Really good cd, my only negative comment would be that the image doesn't give the true reflection, I bought this thinking it was an import or maybe special edition due to the cover artwork, when in fact it's a cd I already have! No worries though cause my friend loved prince too and so will make a very nice present
Published 4 hours ago by JR


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just grab it!!, 4 Feb 2006
This review is from: Ultimate Prince (Audio CD)
A must have for all Prince fans and an interesting collection of songs for who wants to discover his music.
It's a 2cd-set. The first cd contains lots of Prince classics, from 'I wanna be your lover'to 'When doves cry', from 'Alphabet St' to 'Nothing compares 2 U'.
But it's the 2nd cd that deserves more attention. You'll find here many of the finest 12" versions/remixes of songs like 'Kiss', 'Let's go crazy', 'Pop life', 'Cream'. Many of them were previously unreleased on cd format.
Last but not least, all of the songs have been digitally remastered for the occasion!!
This is the complete tracklist:
CD1
01: I Wanna Be Your Lover
02: Uptown (Single Version)
03: Controversy
04: 1999 (Edit Version)
05: Delirious
06: When Doves Cry (Single Version)
07: I Would Die 4 U (Single Version)
08: Purple Rain
09: Sign O The Times
10: I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man
11: Alphabet St.
12: Diamonds And Pearls (Single Version)
13: Gett Off (Single Version)
14: Money Dont Matter 2 Night
15: 7 remastered
16: Nothing Compares 2 U
17: My Name Is Prince (Single Version)
CD2
01: Let's Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
02: Little Red Corvette (Dance Remix)
03: Let's Work (Dance Remix)
04: Pop Life (Fresh Dance Mix)
05: She's Always In My Hair (12" Version)
06: Rasberry Beret (12" Version)
07: Kiss (Extended Version)
08: U Got The Look (Long Look)
09: Hot Thing (Extended Remix)
10: Thieves In The Temple (Remix)
11: Cream (N.P.G. Mix)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate? Is this the last ever Prince?, 24 Aug 2006
This review is from: Ultimate Prince (Audio CD)
I think not... his latest album '3121' would suggest Prince is so back (of course for us die-hards he never really went away). So, the Purple Paisley God rides high once more, in the US at least, and to mark the occasion those insatiable executives at Warners have packaged us up another greatest hits. And great packaging it is, with it's ace inlay fold-out documenting Prince's Warner-years singles-sleeves.

This 'Ultimate' anthology has glaring omissions, but to be fair any Prince collection will. It's peculiar why they chose to include the full version of 'Controversy' (fab as it is) but only the edited singles-cuts of bigger hits such as '1999' and (probably the finest pop moment of the 80s) 'When Doves Cry'.

Still, what's great about this double-CD is: 1. the tunes are remastered for your iPod pleasure, and 2. there are remixes on the second disc. The aforementioned die-hard fans will have all these remixes on original vinyl, naturally, but to have them on CD/MP3, and remastered, makes one dribble like Homer over his dounuts.

'Ultimate' is a great intro for those seeking to understand what all the fuss is about with Prince. And great for those that were there the first time 'round. Maybe the videos remastered next? Go on Warners, milk it... we'll always shell out the pennies for Prince - the greatest musical hero of our times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE PURPLE PRINCE OF POP-THIS IS TRULY HIS GREATEST MUSIC, 2 April 2010
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Prince (Audio CD)
Ultimate
The Purple Prince of Pop. Formerly known as Prince. Formerly known as..I don't care..in this collection of greatest hits the miniscule maestro struts his stuff over the pop world like a giant. Forget your prejudice. He sometimes looked so weird in those sprayed on leather trousers and frilly lace blouses. No other artist wore that much eye liner, not even Dusty Springfield, but this singer can hold a tune. Listen to the hyped up "Let's Go Crazy" for sheer energy, "Get Off" for pure naughtiness and "When Doves Cry" for absolute heartbreak. There isn't a boring track on this CD. Go beyond the music and listen to the lyrics. Prince is quite a poet and lyrically gifted. There's much soul and sensitivity behind the raunch and sequins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regal, 21 May 2009
This review is from: Ultimate Prince (Audio CD)
From the early signs of Promise; the dirty funk of 'Controversy' and 'Uptown', and the restrained 'I Wanna Be Your Lover'; to the golden years of '1999', 'Delirious' and anything from the Purple Rain soundtrack; from the sparse yet elegaic 'Sign o the Times' to the bump and grind of 'Gett Off'; this album is full to the brim of classic chunks of sexy and vibrant tunes. With a remix disc to top things off - the peerless 'Cream' and extended mix of the joyous 'Raspberry Beret' being two highlights - this is an invaluable CD set - buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince Ultimate, 26 July 2006
This review is from: Ultimate Prince (Audio CD)
Hi

I've been a long term Prince fan, so in fairness this could be seen as a bit bias. The album ultimate is just that on the 2nd disc there is some really rare mixes, such as the quality Lets Work remix( only available on vinyl) if you can find a copy!!! Furthermore this album sounds great, it's remastered and is one of only a few CD's that do this artist justice. Anybody who is a fan needs to get this ASAP, it also has a great inlay which details somebodies pretty amazing collection of rare vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true genius of rock, funk and soul, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate (MP3 Download)
If you are a purist, then you will notice tracks that are missing but this is the most complete compilation of prince's hits you will ever see/hear. After watching a you-tube documentary on his life-story, I simply had to get this. It makes you look back and feel that things aren't as good as they were in the 1980s and 1990s. Maybe they are not. True musicianship and top production was all the rage then before sampling and dance music, boy bands, reality TV etc. took over. A living legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album - Prince, 6 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate (MP3 Download)
This is a great album with all the hits and some really good LP versions of his big tracks. If you love prince but can't afford his entire back catalogue of albums then this is a good general compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Prince, 12 July 2010
By 
K. Brazier (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Prince (Audio CD)
I am a huge Prince fan and I think this album perfectly represents a wide selection of his hits (and some more obscure ones too, the extended mixes on CD2 are worth the money alone!) There are, of course, some songs missing that I would have liked to have seen, but then if you're as big a fan as me then there were bound to be some missing.

Prince's music never sounds dated and always gets you up and dancing. I've seen him live 6 times and he was wonderful each time.

This album will definitely remind you why you loved him in the first place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for CD 2, 5 Mar 2009
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Prince (Audio CD)
This is Prince's latest hits compilation - his third, I think - and it wisely concentrates on his older material. Thankfully the songs here have been remastered, so even fans like me will find stuff to like in the form of songs which now sound cleaner and more polished than ever before. The second disk is the main reason for buying this though, as it is a collection of some of his 12" single versions of well-known songs.

If you're a casual fan curious to hear more of Prince's music, this is a good buy. If you're a fan, buy it for disk 2. If you want a better compilation, buy "The Hits / The B-Sides".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another wonderful trip down memory lane!, 9 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. D. J. Underwood "Excessional" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Prince (Audio CD)
Actually released last year, this Ultimate collection of Prince material is riding high again thanks to his recent high profile shows in London along with the slightly bizarre choice to release his latest cd via a sunday newspaper. But then, this is Prince after all - with whom words like 'normal' don't tend to share the same sentence!

A few reviews have been critical of the constant raiding of his back catalogue to release yet another greatest hits package - a feeling I understand but how can you give a poor review mark for such quality musicianship (is that a proper word?) - Prince, in the 80's to early 90's, was an absolute musical genius and consistently released strong, original singles with his brand of rock/pop and listening to this compilation not only reminds me once again of so many incredible songs but brings me a sense of joyousness, that music can be great and fun, which I often find lacking in much of todays music.

The key tempter to buy in this package is the second disc which contains eleven extended or alternative remixes, often taken from 12" singles of the time which have previously been unavailable on cd and these are a welcome surprise - so these along with the usual favourites does make this quite a comprehensive collection overall. No collection though can completely please and I also would change a few things - it always seems to me that every Prince compilation reflects his american market - so we always get 'Pop Life' (no.60 in UK) rather than 'Paisley Park' (a no.18 single); we always get 'I Would Die 4 U' (top-10 in US but stalled here at 58!) but never EVER get the UK only release of 'Girls and Boys' (a no.11 hit). So in my ideal collection, I would trim 'Controversy' and 'Alphabet St' down to their single versions, kick off 'I Would Die 4 U' and 'Nothing Compares 2 U' (Sorry but Sinead does it best!) and bring in the singles of 'Girls and Boys', 'Glam Slam', 'Gold' and 'Most Beautiful Girl in the World'. Maybe it'll happen in another couple of years....

This is a great package though and does contain most songs that any fan or more casual buyer would want to hear. So buy it, put it in your player - loud, and just enjoy some of the best songs ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate
Ultimate by Prince
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews