Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maligned but not forgotten...
Now re-issued as a 2 CD and 1 DVD set (all for a bargain price of under £10), this is probably Madness' most maligned (and forgotten) release and the one that has been pretty much ignored by the band when it comes to live shows since they re-formed back in 1992, however in lots of ways it has elements that are as good as it's predecessors. Yesterdays Men is a classic...
Published on 4 Oct 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mad Not Insane
This album represents the end of the 'Madness' that we all know and love.

Nevertheless, it features some excellent moments such as 'Yesterday's Men' and 'I'll Compete'.

In a radio interview at the time the band joked that the working title of the album was 'Lost In The Museum'. This was actually the comment of the record label boss upon hearing what...
Published on 11 Sep 2007 by Vitamino


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maligned but not forgotten..., 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mad Not Mad: 2 CD + 1 DVD (NTSC) (Audio CD)
Now re-issued as a 2 CD and 1 DVD set (all for a bargain price of under £10), this is probably Madness' most maligned (and forgotten) release and the one that has been pretty much ignored by the band when it comes to live shows since they re-formed back in 1992, however in lots of ways it has elements that are as good as it's predecessors. Yesterdays Men is a classic Madness single with Suggs trademark deadpan vocals, Lee Thompson's soulful sax solo and much more. The other singles from the album "Uncle Sam" and the very much maligned cover of Scritti Pollitti's "Sweetest Girl" are more lightweight and of all the bands singles, the ones that have dated the worst (despite being more recently recorded than some of the others), there are however some great album tracks in there "Burning The Boats" with it's criticism of the government of the time, has all the classic Madness hallmarks of getting across a serious message without preaching, title track "Mad Not Mad" is darkly brooding and yet upbeat, "I'll Complete" is a perfect album opener, "White Heat" (later to be adapted and renamed "Margate" for the "Our House" musical based on the band's songs) paints a picture in words and songs in the way that only a few (including Madness) can.

Coupled with the original album and completing CD1 with the rest making up CD2 you get an assortment of B-sides, 12" remixes and demo's as well as their "swansong" single (Waiting For The) Ghost Train, which of course proved not to be their last after all. Amongst these are some gems such as Beatles-esque "Please Don't Go", and the wistful "Maybe In Another Life" - although the repetition of the various mixes of the singles does get a little much when you're listening to the whole re-issue in one sitting!! A further criticism here of EMI who put the re-issue together (who have otherwise done a sterling job) - the "extended mix" of "The Sweetest Girl" actually appears twice on the first CD (track 6 and 13) meaning you get exactly the same track twice, whereas the assumption in Madness fan circles is that track 13 should be the 12" single mix.

Finally you get a DVD featuring the video's for all four singles that feature on the re-issue, appearances on TOTP and Wogan, two tracks "Burning The Boats" and "Time" as performed on The Old Grey Whistle Test at the time, and four tracks being performed live from the Hammersmith Odeon on New Years Eve 1985 which was broadcast "live" on the BBC. These tracks again provide a slight criticism of the attention to detail that has gone into this re-issue, in that the performance of "Time" from that gig starts part way through the song, which was "as broadcast" at the time, however as the whole gig was recorded, surely it wouldn't have been too much effort to get the whole s

All in all a very good package at an extremely good price - not the bands best work (see earlier albums, or 2009's masterpiece "The Liberty Of Norton Folgate" for that) but still testament to a much under-rated band who dominated so much of the early 80's singles charts, and are finally being recognised (and not only for their singles)
as the master songsmiths that they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums of all time..., 23 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. M. J. Burgess "Martin Burgess" (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Not Mad: 2 CD + 1 DVD (NTSC) (Audio CD)
Yes, I know everyone will disagree! Anyway, I have all of the brilliant Madness albums in the box set, "The Lot". I play them all the time but I have to say the one I probably play the most is this one: "Mad Not Mad". I've been gradually buying the double disc reissues. I already have "One Step Beyond...", "Absolutely" and "7". So now I only need "Rise & Fall", "Keep Moving" and this fine collection to complete my set of the band's original albums. I am really pleased that with this disc they're giving us a bonus DVD of the original videos and a few rare TV and concert appearances. The band has since dismissed this album as being dated and overproduced with its '80s sound. However, when you're dealing with tracks such as "Yesterday's Men", "Time", "Burning the Boats", "Uncle Sam", etc you can't go wrong. Quite simply Madness are genius writers and musicians. In the '60s there was The Beatles. In the '70s there was Queen. In the '80s there was Madness. They were untouchable. And they still are. And thank God they're still around making music such as "The Liberty of Norton Folgate". Long may they continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mad Not Insane, 11 Sep 2007
This album represents the end of the 'Madness' that we all know and love.

Nevertheless, it features some excellent moments such as 'Yesterday's Men' and 'I'll Compete'.

In a radio interview at the time the band joked that the working title of the album was 'Lost In The Museum'. This was actually the comment of the record label boss upon hearing what they had to offer this time around.

It's a confused and unhappy album reflecting the mood of the members of a band who had experienced wonderful success, world tours and a hectic schedule that had left them totally drained.

They always produced good stuff and even under terrible pressure this album reveals moments of utter loveliness.

This lopsided and sometimes desperate CD is propped up by the folded beermat of life.

Some old coals refuse to turn to ashes.

For melancholy Madness lovers everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars madness most soulfull and political album to date, 19 Oct 2001
this is probably the nutty boys finest studio album and captures them at their most political. ill compete is an upbeat never give up song that gets the toes tapping from the start whilst yesterdays men tackles the out of touch fogeys in the house of lords and yet somehow manages to remain bluesy and soulful showing a band at ease with their musical abillity. uncle sam is a catchy pop tune poking fun at gung ho america and shows that madness have a unique talent in tackling serious issues whilst churning out a catchy hook at the same time. burning the boats also has a go at conservative britain and here we hear suggs vocals reaching new heights to an uptempo tune that wades through time changes and in my book is the second standout track on the album the first being white heat which is classic madness conjuring up images and thoughts of social aspects and problems in a multi cultured british society. forget blur.forget britpop this is an album damon albarn could only maybe possibly dream about writing.mad not mad mad not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice reissue, 5 Jun 2012
This review is from: Mad Not Mad: 2 CD + 1 DVD (NTSC) (Audio CD)
It's a nice remaster of one of the finest albums Madness have made, just before they split. Very much pop and very far away from the ska sound, but you can recognise the Madness tunes anywhere. I was a little dissapointed with the extra tracks. I missed the 12" of (waiting for the) ghosttrain. But for this price the package is very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Album Indeed, 17 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. D. Watson "doogemeister" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Not Mad: 2 CD + 1 DVD (NTSC) (Audio CD)
It always puzzled me why Madness didn't like this album because from the moment I heard it when it was first released I loved it. I'm glad to see that 'Mad Not Mad' is part of the reissue series, I wasn't sure that it was going to be when the series was first announced. But they managed to get it sorted and I wonder if the reason why this album has a black spine whilst the rest of the series has white spines is because it is regarded as the 'black sheep' of the Madness catalogue!
Whatever the reasons for the different packaging it is the music that matters and tracks like 'I'll Compete', 'Yesterday's Men' and 'Burning the Boats' are just fantastic and 'Uncle Sam' and 'Waiting For the Ghost Train' are so typically Madness. A brilliant collection and a welcome addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Of course it's a masterpiece, but I have one query...., 17 Nov 2010
This review is from: Mad Not Mad: 2 CD + 1 DVD (NTSC) (Audio CD)
Surely someone must know the answer to this question.....
What is number 7 in the 2010 reissue series??

1 - M - One Step Beyond...
2 - A - Absolutely
3 - D - 7
4 - N - The Rise & Fall
5 - E - Keep Moving
6 - S - Mad Not Mad
7 - S - ????
8 - ! - Wonderful

I cannot for the life of me figure out what #7 is, or was, or where to get it & it's driving me insane.... any help?? Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shut up, listen and dance, 11 Nov 2010
By 
R. J. Kasimier "kasi" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Not Mad: 2 CD + 1 DVD (NTSC) (Audio CD)
Mad not mad: This is a must have for every Madness fan. The original album with bonus tracks. The DVD makes this reissue all complete.
For a nice price at Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad Not Mad: 2 CD + 1 DVD (NTSC)
Mad Not Mad: 2 CD + 1 DVD (NTSC) by Madness (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews