Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buying iLife to get iDVD
Great product as usual from Apple. The only frustration is having to buy it to get iDVD as Apple do not include this program in its new products. Be careful when installing. make sure you only install the iDVD program as the other programs are older versions and will cause problems.
Published 22 months ago by Paul Mcfarling

versus
116 of 118 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars iPhoto 09 users should consider this upgrade carefully
OK this software doesn't cost too much so if you're a big user of iMovie and/or Garageband you'll be pretty pleased with the new features I should think. iWeb and iDVD get no new features. However, if you are a big user of iPhoto 09, be prepared to lose a lot of features you may like, or consider downgrading back to iPhoto 09 before the new version touches your photo...
Published on 30 Oct 2010 by Pimms w/o Mint


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 118 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars iPhoto 09 users should consider this upgrade carefully, 30 Oct 2010
This review is from: Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac) (Software)
OK this software doesn't cost too much so if you're a big user of iMovie and/or Garageband you'll be pretty pleased with the new features I should think. iWeb and iDVD get no new features. However, if you are a big user of iPhoto 09, be prepared to lose a lot of features you may like, or consider downgrading back to iPhoto 09 before the new version touches your photo libraries.

The good things I found out about iPhoto 11 are some neat new slideshows, playing video within the app (and slideshows), smoother book making and it seems quicker to manually assign faces. There may be other improvements I haven't discovered or don't use.

iPhoto '11 loses a lot of things like the ability to view or edit your photos full screen (the new 'full screen' mode is just a sort of iPad interface, not sure why, I'm still using a mouse and a keyboard). There is a lot of wasted space and inflexibility now due to panels being used instead of the old HUD overlay windows for info, effects, etc. It isn't possible, for example, to crop/enhance, etc while also seeing the file information. As soon as you require any info or edit controls you lose about a quarter of a laptop screen. You can only zoom in on your photo when the edit panel is present.

Quickly reviewing photos is harder - you'll need the large info panel open to see any file information because the small panel that used to sit at the bottom of the sidebar is gone. Another change in the sidebar is the missing count of photos in smart albums.

The application is no faster than before (except for the book-making interface, which seems better) and in some areas performance is much worse. Scrolling thumbnails used to be the benchmark for iPhoto but it seems like Apple have just given up and it now jumps jerkily from row to row. If you have inertial scrolling active you're going to get very frustrated. Dragging the scrollbar is even more staggered.

If you use the one-click email feature and your recipients like being able to add your photos quickly to their own library, you may be disappointed with the clumsy new built-in emailing feature. Of course you can drag the photos to the Mail dock icon instead, as long as you are not in full screen mode.

If you are familiar with OS X and rely on UI consistency to work efficiently, expect some surprises. iPhoto uses new non-standard visual candy, much of it inconsistently within the app itself. The contextual menus in particular are odd, but some of them will be good if you are partially sighted or if you are new to OS X.

Conceivably some of these problems (like the can be fixed with patches in the future but it looks like a lot of users will be forced to stick with iPhoto 09 or fork out for Aperture (and expect a bit of a learning curve with that option).

These observations were made on iPhoto '11 (v9.0) on a MBP 2.8 GHz C2D with 4 GB RAM and an 18 GB / 6000 photo library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buying iLife to get iDVD, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac) (Software)
Great product as usual from Apple. The only frustration is having to buy it to get iDVD as Apple do not include this program in its new products. Be careful when installing. make sure you only install the iDVD program as the other programs are older versions and will cause problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apple iLife '11,Single User (Mac), 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac) (Software)
Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac)

The iDVD software is not included when you buy a new iMac with IOS Lyon or later as your operating system . If you go to Apple you will be told that the iDVD software is no longer available. Being able to get the iLife '11 software from Amazon is a God send, particularly if like me you want to create DVD's with the iMac.
With the iLife '11 software you can "custom install" the missing iDVD software from the disc.

Easy to order, cost effective and a life saver when you pay for a Apple machine and expect the software to be included as advertised and it isn't there. This is the way to get and complete the iLife '11 suite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling Upgrade to iPhoto in iLife '11, 14 Nov 2010
By 
Dream On (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac) (Software)
My wife and I have used iPhoto 09 to email photos of family to our relations abroad, and have been reasonably happy with the way it enabled one to do this. I bought the upgrade to iLife '11 because of the new easier book creation function. That function is pretty good, I'm happy with it. But we are going to have to return iLife '11 and reinstall iLife 09 simply because iPhoto '11 is a downgrade when it comes to emailing photos. There are now only two options, and both are pretty poor. You can send the original image (i.e., big file size) or you can send the Apple-specified "Optimised" photo. This latter creates a one-megabyte version of your photo, which is all of about 4 inches wide, yet it is at 72 dpi and so you can't enlarge it usefully. Normally the same image size at 72 dpi created say in PhotoShop and saved in jpeg format would weigh in at about 200k max. Why the "optimised" jpeg which iPhoto creates is 5 times the needed file-size is beyond my ability to explain or figure out. The photo is surrounded by an large unwanted and purposeless white border, this is not an option, you have to have it. But even that should not create this large file size.

Where have the other file-size options gone??? In previous versions you could choose from 4 different settings. This so-called upgrade has reduced that to just two options, and neither are useful.

This is a shockingly bad upgrade, and a waste of time and money. Until Apple get their act together, this is software to be avoided at all costs!

I am a multi-decade and committed Apple Mac user by the way. I have never seen such rubbish software emerge from Cupertino before, pretty disappointing to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the previous version, 28 Oct 2010
By 
N. B. Chatfield "Boxley" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac) (Software)
This is an awful product and really should have been given more testing before release. Apple have agreed to refund the purchase price because of the problems I was experiencing, especially with iPhoto '11.

The new iPhoto has some great ideas; unfortunately these appear to have come at the expense of more basic functions. I reported to Apple that when I was typing information, each letter was repeated two or three times or more. I was told by Apple that this was because there was an issue around importing the iPhoto library from previous versions. I followed their instructions and created a new library (which appeared to resolve the problem temporarily) then as I organised the rebuilt library into events, the problem returned.

iPhoto '09 is wonderful. I suggest that you hold fire on iPhoto '11 until Apple have worked some of the bugs out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't!, 12 Dec 2010
By 
John Quiggin (Brisbane Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac) (Software)
I foolishly bought and installed this before discovering that it crippled the basic function of exporting photos to Mail, as discussed above. Why would Apple do something so stupid? Now I have to decide whether to work around and hope it gets fixed, reward Apple's incompetence by buying Aperture or attempt a downgrade to '09. In 25 years, I've never felt so negative about an Apple product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iLife Software, 19 Oct 2011
This review is from: Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac) (Software)
The only way to obtain iDVD which is not available on the App Store and sold at a very good price on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid, for now., 21 Nov 2010
This review is from: Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac) (Software)
This upgrade is a number of very small steps forward and one major leap backwards. My one year old machine it is so slow with iLife open its unusable. Apple make great software, and have the ability to fix this. Give them time and I am sure this will be fixed, in the mean time get or stick with '09.

For more info, google "iphoto slow"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another polished Apple!, 3 Mar 2011
By 
D. Beggs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac) (Software)
I was a bit concerned by some of the negative reviews on here - especially as the primary product I use in the iLife suite is iPhoto but I'm glad I went for it.

On my 1st generation MacBook Air it's smooth and generally feels tweaked from iPhoto '09. I've not experienced the slowdown/jerky response experienced by the other users. There is a critical update out already and I wonder if these issues have been addressed in that?

I am totally satisfied and the negative comments seem to have driven the price down to less than half what I paid - it's a steal!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stay with ilife 9!, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac) (Software)
I bought this version of iLife trusting Apple to have done a good job;
How wrong was I; this versions is not at all better! I miss functions in the new version that I really liked in iPhoto 9; i.e. being able to zoom in/out in full screen, not possible in iLife 11. Also the new iMovie has a lot more functions maybe; but quickly putting a movie together now is much more of a struggle then before with iLife 9.
I wish I stayed with iLife 9; the upgrade seems like a half finished product to me; a little bit like the old Windows days where they bring out a software package and then keep bombarding you with updates later; I want it to be finished when I buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apple iLife '11, Single User (Mac)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews