Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2010
I've always loved this album & to have it remastered is fantastic. The bonus tracks are awesome & it was great to hear the demo version of You'll Never Stop Me Loving You which I hadn't heard before.
The booklet is fantastic - heaps of great information on Sonia & all song lyrics are included.
A great collection for fans of Sonia, Stock/Aitken/Watermnan & pop fans in general. You will love it!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
Even in the late 80s, Sonia felt slightly like a step too far towards childish pop. The awful dayglo styling, the heart shape in the typeface, the sheer perkiness of it all. 'You'll Never Stop Me From Loving You', whilst being hugely catchy, also seemed saccharin sweet on first hearing (notwithstanding the co-dependency of the line "It doesn't even matter what you put me through").

Yet this album has stood the test of time far better than most of the albums Stock, Aitken & Waterman produced. Other artists had superior singles (Kylie, Sybil) but the accompanying albums were often rather disappointing. 'Everybody Knows' just feels right from start to finish - polished, catchy and with robust production throughout. Sonia's vocals are superb: much, much better than they needed to be.

Tom Parker's always-excellent sleeve notes pinpoint the appeal of this album's production - the bassline is "chunky", lending a bit of extra weight to the overall sound. Unusually for a PWL album, there are many strong tracks and potential single releases. 'Can't Forget You' is a neglected masterpiece; it perfectly showcases S/A/W's ability to undercut apparently lightweight pure pop melody with melancholy and regret.

Harding & Curnow's tracks are by no means the weak link and one of them - 'Now I'm Without You' - is an album highlight. The songs on this album fit together perfectly and genuinely feel like a body of work written and produced for one specific artist. The only other S/A/W album that really achieved this was the superb 'Another Place and Time' by Donna Summer.

The bonus tracks are mainly extended versions of the singles. There is also the b-side 'Better Than Ever' that was easily good enough to have deserved inclusion on the tracklisting first time around. Don't bother with 'Let's Have A Party', which is a woeful attempt at 'rock 'n roll' and feels very out of place here.

If you already own 'Everybody Knows' this new release doesn't add all that much (unless, like me, you were longing to hear those stuttery 'What Can I Do' sampled vocals in the extended version of 'Can't Forget you'). But if you missed out first time, or just love the sound of pure dance pop, you can't go far wrong with this.
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
'Everybody Knows' is a mighty fine example of the great pop that Stock Aitken Waterman and PWL created. Sonia is a good singer and the songs are right for her voice. The album includes the hit singles You'll never stop me loving you (UK singles chart number 1), Can't forget you (17), Listen to your heart (10), Counting every minute(16) and End of the World (18). This re-mastered album also has 'Better than Ever' which was the fabulous B side of Listen to your heart.
Enjoy.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2010
How us pop lovers long for the days of PWL. Spending Saturday nights throwing ourselves around a nightclub dancefloor to the eurobeat/HI-NRG sounds on PWL, Ian Levine productions & the myriad of fantastic euro disco anthems...
SONIA appeared on the International pop scene in 1989 after signing to Chrysalis records via Pet Waterman. Her debut single "You'll never stop me loving you" shot straight to No1 in the UK pop charts and also hit the club and worldwide charts as well. A new star was born....This stunning debut was followed by a string of International top 20 hits including "Counting every single minute" "End of the World" & the fantastic "Listen to your heart". In 1990, Sonia released her debut album, which by now was more of a "greatest hits" package. The title track "Everybody knows" is a personal favourite and it's a pity it did not get a single release.
It is so good to finally get a "special edition" of this fabulous slice of PWL pop history. Hats off to Cherry pop for bringing us this little gem of an album after all these years!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
it arrived on time and was put through my letterbox which is always a good thing instead of leaving with others and outside. good value for money as well. This album has lots of my favourite songs on it as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
I bought this cd because I always liked the song COUNTING EVERY MINUTE and when I played it I remembered LISTEN TO YOUR HEART and of course not forgetting YOU'LL NEVER STOP ME FROM LOVING YOU , this cd arrived within 3 days in perfect condition , seller recommended thanks .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 September 2010
...as the Pet Shop Boys so wisely sang, but here is a review of the original album in case anyone's wondering if it's worth buying in the first place...

Of all the last year or so's less well-known SAW Re-releases, this is up near the top, along with Lonnie Gordon. If you like the SAW heyday sounds and songs, you'll love this.

Apart from track 8 (the original album comprises the first 10 tracks), and the slow track 10, the songs are the usual brilliant, hook-filled stormers. 'Climb to the Top of a Mountain' is a 100% neglected SAW classic.

So if you don't mind the cheeky chapesse image, don't worry about not liking this. Sonia's voice is fine, and not half as lightweight and squeaky as some SAW artists. Lonnie Gordon could blast her into the middle of next week, of course, but she could do that to the 3 tenors in a head-to-head. It would be a tough call between these two SAW 2 re-releases.

Will get back later when I've heard the remixes, but I might wait for the price to drop a bit, first - why does single-album Sonia cost more than double-album J Donovan?
44 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
If u own all sonias' cd singles then there is no need to buy this cd but if u don't then this is a must buy for the following reasons:

1. You ll never stop me loving you (for both 12' and kiss mix versions)
2. Can't forget you (for the 12' version of...WHAT CAN I DO WHAT WHAT WHAT WHAT WHAT CAN I DO...WHAT WHAT WHAT...ETC)
3. listen to your heart (for the 12' version)
4. Counting every minute (for the 12' version)
5. Better than ever (7' version) "Sadly the 12' version is not available here"
6. Everybody knows (album version)

This cd would have been perfect IF there was also an extended version of "end of the world" which i think is not exist (not even in the cd single)
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
i loved sonia back in the day,and rushed out to buy the original album on cassette,(i didn't have a cd player in 1990!).i played it that many times,the tape snapped!!gutted at this,i've trailed round charity and second hand shops,trying in vain to buy another copy!(you sonia fans know a good thing when you hear it!).i did manage to find a copy on vinyl,but it skips and crackles. when i saw this advertised,i knew i had to have it! listening to it again brought back so many memory's of the early 90's,when life seemed better!featured on this collection is the original album,plus the rare b-side "better than ever" which is!also included are the 12" mixes of her singles,plus the original version of "you'll never stop me loving you" the only downer i got with this is a remix of "you'll never...",i which it sounds like a woman having an orgasm!! hope it wasn't sonia! also,they should have included the duet with big fun,"you've got a friend".but,that aside,i'm very happy with it..you will be too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
A brilliant album of Sonia of her top twenty hits and extended version mixes. Only one, however is missing and I bought the CD single separately to add it to my collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)