Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Sporting Blu-ray's Around Amazing in HD.
After Watching The Official 2010 Fifa World Cup South Africa Review on Blu-ray i am going to say Football in High-Definition looks simply breathtaking.
I dont have SKY HD, BBC HD or ITV HD so i didn't watch the Tournament back in 2010 in HD so i wanted to know what it was like watching football in HD as i have never watch football in HD and the difference is...
Published on 23 Dec 2011 by Saf

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it if you really know what you're buying
I bought this bluray after trying hard to find out the real content, and still not knowing what I was buying.
Hope this will help you to decide before.
The first disc includes de goals (not the highlights) of all the matches.
Well edited, with broadcast soundtrack, and showing every goal of every match.
Only England matches have a little more extensive...
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by Gillis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it if you really know what you're buying, 18 Jan 2011
I bought this bluray after trying hard to find out the real content, and still not knowing what I was buying.
Hope this will help you to decide before.
The first disc includes de goals (not the highlights) of all the matches.
Well edited, with broadcast soundtrack, and showing every goal of every match.
Only England matches have a little more extensive montage and contains the real highlights of each game(8-10 minutes).
About 180 minutes of goals. Not bad.
There are chapters to separate rounds and there is direct access to each round from pop-up menu.

Second disc contains the final game with a montage of the previous ceremony, but with no chapters at all. It's not easy to find the beginning of the extra time, for instance. I think this is a major flaw which shows a sloppy authorship.

Also in second disc, 5 short montages (around 5 minutes each) about best goals, saves, bloopers, Magic moments and so.

The image is not bad and sound is acceptable (only english and no subtitles).
As I'm Spanish, I'm happy to have the final in hd, but overall, I'm a bit disappointed about this bd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictably poor quality, 1 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Official 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa Review [DVD] (DVD)
This is an overblown production that claims to show highlights of every game, but for many of them does nothing more than show the goals (with a tiresome 3-5 replays for each piece of action shown). The commentary is largely post hoc, and of awful quality. The England matches, semi-finals and final have BBC commentary, and Mark Lawrenson's comments have unfortunately not been edited out. The introduction gives the impression of having been written before the tournament started, bigging up England's chances and then showing around 10 minutes of "highlights" for each of England's games. Despite its length, many key pieces of action, such as missed penalties, saves, red cards and penalty shoot-outs, are missed in order to fit in endless replays and footage of fans grinning. In its favour, all the goals are shown, but it's something of a marathon to watch them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flatters to deceive, like the tournament itself, 10 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: The Official 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa Review [DVD] (DVD)
All a bit of a mess really. The producers of these review DVDs seem to think that fans are desperate for something complex and time consuming when the reality is that we'd be perfectly happy with just the goals and one replay of each goal

The action begins promisingly with the games shown in group by group order with a few highlights as well as goals. Too many replays as usual but still a suitable 3 or 4 minutes for every game. However, when it comes to England's group, we are subjected to 10 minutes of highlights of each England game, including moments that barely even constitute highlights. The producers seem to freak out afterwards about how much time they've wasted on England games and now stop showing highlights at all. From Group D onwards it's just goals, meaning in the Germany Serbia game for example, there's no footage of Klose's red card or Podolski's penalty miss

As usual with these reviews the commentary is not the same as it was on TV (apart from the England games) The commentators actually sound bored and it's pretty obvious the commentary was done afterwards . This is a personal pet hate of mine though most viewers probably won't care. Still it only adds to the shoddy nature of yet another tournament review DVD churned out asap without any real care put into its production

One to avoid unless you're an avid collector
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Sporting Blu-ray's Around Amazing in HD., 23 Dec 2011
By 
Saf "Safx" (peterborough, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After Watching The Official 2010 Fifa World Cup South Africa Review on Blu-ray i am going to say Football in High-Definition looks simply breathtaking.
I dont have SKY HD, BBC HD or ITV HD so i didn't watch the Tournament back in 2010 in HD so i wanted to know what it was like watching football in HD as i have never watch football in HD and the difference is Miles,
I collect regularly WWE Blu-rays and their Picture quality is simple breathtaking but i am going on the record and say this is without a doubt one of the best Sporting Blu-rays around simply amazing.
2 Disc Set, 1st Disc Covers the Whole Tournament and final And you get the Final in Full in HD on the Second Disc which the final wasn't the best but it was absorbing match that you simply couldn't take your eyes away and im so glad Spain Won the World Cup Cause they deserved It.
The Picture is presented in 1080i but my TV Displays in full 1080p HD at 60hz and the picture is gorgeous, the grass on the football looks so real, the ball when moved around looks amazing, players up close have so much detail this blu-ray just take its to another level its like you there and up close you can feel the vibe, priced currently at £5.49 you cant go wrong with this so much that i loved this i just brought All The Goals from Germany World Cup 2006 so that should be amazing in HD. I'm Probably going to be collecting more Football Blu-ray next purchase should be the Man City vs Stoke City Fa Cup Final 2011 on Blu-ray.

Positives:
+ Every Goal is Showing from the World Cup.
+ Even the 0-0 Games get shown but albeit very brief.
+ Each Game is Shown by Group by Group Basics instead of Match day.
+ Commentary Team is awesome, I Loved Kevin Keatings Commentary (La Liga Commentator for Sky Sports in the UK )on the Germany vs Australia Match, his voice is perfection it makes the match that much better and i believe he is without a doubt the best commentators around.
Other Commentators included John Helm, Gary Bloom and from the BBC Guy Mowbary and Mark Lawrenson for England Matches.
+ England Matches get 5-8 min Highlights which i liked and disliked which i will point out in the Negatives.
+ Full Final in Second Disc.
+ Top Goals and Top Saves.
+ A Special Look at the Fans.
+ Loved revisiting the Portugal 7-0 thrashing of North Korea and the Germany 4-1 win against England, Lampard goal was clearly over the line and it even looked more bate in HD.

Negatives.
- There should have been a bit more highlights on the 0-0 Games like in France vs Uruguay Match that finished 0-0 only one chance gets shown which i know the game was dreadful and nothing much happened but their were few more chances and i would have like to have seen them.
- England vs Algeria match that finished 0-0 gets treated to a 5 min highlight which it didn't even deserve, matches like Germany vs Serbia should have a got bit more highlights than showing just the goal that Serbia scored by Jovanovic.
- As pointed out the Germany vs Serbia match had a lot of incidents i remember when watching live yet on here they dont even show Klose Red Card and Podolski Penalty Miss which another reviewer here on amazon pointed that out which is lazy.
- Kaka Red Card is not shown in the Brazil vs Ivory Coast Match, His red card was a big talking point in the Tournament yet the producers think thats a moment worthy of not showing emmmmmm.
- Not every Penalty is shown just 1 or 2 kicks which i hated this is e.g in the Paraguay vs Japan and Ghana vs Uruguay matches.
- The FIFA logo is present In the bottom right hand corner which is annoying but not a deal breaker i believe they did this for copyright as they didn't want some one to copy the dvd or its because its the official FIFA product.
- Some of the matches deserved more highlights than just goals.
- Would have like to seen some facts and figures and the team line ups for the matches as i would have liked to have known who was playing and playing in which position, it just jumps straight into the games.

All in all this is a fantastic Blu-ray and with the price is currently at £5.49 you cant go wrong.

PICK THIS UP NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long and England centric, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Jeff White (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The disc I got was a 3 hour review, with video from all games (if only for 20 seconds). It was very England national team centric, to the point that for the last day of group stage, we got 5 minutes of the England v. Slovenia game, but only 30 seconds of the USA v. Algeria game. I was surprised at the length, but I guess I shouldn't complain for getting extra footy. The bonus disc was okay, no big surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive summary, 3 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. B. Garcia (Birmingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa Review [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is an absolute bargain.You get highlights from every game of the world cup,clocking in at about three hours.Then on top of that you get the whole final on another disc.This was the cheapest I could find it anywhere,it arrived promptly and it came in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for all Spanish supporters, 27 July 2011
By 
Alejandro Barreras Massa (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great chance of having all the goals from the World Cup so the full Final of the World Cup. Awesome!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!!, 23 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. B. Thomas "BAT" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa Review [DVD] (DVD)
Every goal captured from start to finish of the Worlds greatest sport event, it comes but once every 4 years, i cannot wait for Brazil 2014!!!

Disc 2 features the top 6 best goals, group stage goals and fans videos not to forget THE ENTIRE FINAL MATCH between Spain & Holland

Well worth it!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars World Cup Sudafrica 2010, 19 May 2013
By 
Alejandro Perez Guzman "Alex" (México D.F.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa Review [DVD] (DVD)
It's a good video, on can see a summary of the World Cup held in South Africa in 2010, it's really what I expected, it is worth, contains a summary of all matches of the World Cup, if you love football must have this video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review of 2010 World cup DVD, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa Review [DVD] (DVD)
I collect these DVD's on world cups and Euro's. This is another great DVD for my collection to include the best bits including the goals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews