Customer Reviews


306 Reviews
5 star:
 (201)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woo Who!
How could I not love it? After all the angst about "Who is this young upstart?", "Who decided to have an incredibly 'young' Doctor?" and most of all "Who was the idiot who decided that Matt Smith would be the perfect follow up to David Tennant?" this first series (in my mind) proved all the naysayers to be completely wrong.

This young man, under Mr Moffit's...
Published on 19 May 2011 by Hedge Witch

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Foreigners beware!
If you live outside the U.K., pay extra attention to the advice in this product's page ("Please note that this product will not play on US spec 60i Blu-ray players as the Blu-ray discs are authored to UK 50i specs"), as it won't play on most Bluray Players sold in America (as the PlayStation 3 or any Sony player).

Not all is lost, as some Bluray Players...
Published on 16 May 2012 by Marcelo C. Salinas Vega


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woo Who!, 19 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who -- The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
How could I not love it? After all the angst about "Who is this young upstart?", "Who decided to have an incredibly 'young' Doctor?" and most of all "Who was the idiot who decided that Matt Smith would be the perfect follow up to David Tennant?" this first series (in my mind) proved all the naysayers to be completely wrong.

This young man, under Mr Moffit's aegis, has shown us a multifaceted character, a young man's face that can express such old emotions, that depth of anger that links all three new doctors and a wonderfully whimsical surface that can occasionally make me laugh out loud.

As far as I'm concerned Matt Smith's performance is the perfect antidote to the doomed darkness of David Tennant's last days as the Doctor and this first series has been such fun. Okay, many adult viewers have complained that the stories have been simplistic or ridiculous but they certainly showcased the new team's acting chops whether you liked them or not. Amy is growing into a strong, modern woman and if I had daughters I'd be proud to think that she was as determined, caring and intelligent as Ms Pond. We all thought Rory would be a damp squib that would turn up whenever he was needed but, instead, he became Rory the Centurion: Amy's guardian, a man the Doctor can trust and, bless him, the man who dies, all the time, over and over... and every time I'm as horrified as the last!

So, yes, remember Chris Ecclestone's powerful, playful Doctor, weep over the little death of David Tennnant's demise but don't belittle young Mr Smith's performance. Remember that last episode where he sat beside Amy's bed telling her all those wonderful things, his face mirroring his emotions, the shadows of the old man drifting across his face and then tell me he's not the right man for the job.

Long live the Moff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eleventh Doctor Arrives In Style On Blu Ray, 13 Mar 2011
By 
A. Foxley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The 2010 series of 'Doctor Who' is, at first glance, very different to what went immediately before. Lead writer and executive producer Russell T Davies has departed, to be replaced by Steven Moffat, and David Tennant has handed over the keys to the TARDIS to Matt Smith, the youngest actor to play the role to date. There's a look and feel to Series Five that marks it out as different from its predecessors, but ultimately, it's still cut from much the same cloth as before, mixing exciting adventure with great writing, and still being one of the best things on British television in years.

Matt Smith had a tough job, following in David Tennant's footsteps, but from his first moments in series opener, 'The Eleventh Hour', you know everything is going to be fine. His relative youth seems irrelevant, because he feels so at home in the role of the Doctor that you can absolutely buy into him as a 900-odd year old Time Lord. In many ways, his performance brings back memories of Tom Baker and Patrick Troughton - he's a natural, juggling the dramatic and the comedic effortlessly. He's ably supported by Karen Gillan as the feisty Amy Pond, and Arthur Darvill as her sometimes-bumbling fiancee Rory, not to mention a stellar guest cast that boasts names such as Ian McNeice, Sophie Okonedo, Tony Curran, Iain Glen, Helen McCrory and Toby Jones, as well as Alex Kingston making a glorious return as River Song, the mysterious woman whose life keeps intersecting with the Doctor's.

As usual, there's a real ambition to some of the stories told here, both in their scale and the complexity of the storytelling - 'The Eleventh Hour' takes place across fourteen years of Amelia 'Amy' Pond's life, whilst 'Amy's Choice' slides between a number of realities, only one of which may be real, and season finale 'The Big Bang' features all manner of jumping forwards and backwards in time, alternate realities and other such head-spinning concepts. The series has lost none of its epic potential, either - 'Victory of the Daleks' is a WWII epic in under 45 minutes, 'The Time of Angels / Flesh and Stone' by turns a creepy horror and epic sci-fi action thriller, and 'The Hungry Earth / Cold Blood' presents an entire underground civilisation living beneath the Earth. For me, the stand out episode was 'Vincent and the Doctor' by Richard Curtis, a wonderful character-driven piece treading the difficult ground of exploring issues of Vincent Van Gogh's terrible depression, whilst also throwing in an invisible giant space turkey for good measure. The fact that it manages to do both of these - and throw in a scene-stealing uncredited cameo from Bill Nighy - just shows how good the series can be when it's firing on all cylinders. It's not all perfect, of course - some episodes don't work as well as others, and the attempts to reinvent Who icons such as the Daleks and the Silurians don't quite come off as planned. But it's certainly up there with the best the series, past and present, has to offer.

This Blu Ray release presents the episodes in stunning high definition - as they're meant to be seen, really. The 2009 Specials didn't always exploit the potential of HD to the max, but this series really does - whether it's the space battles of 'Victory of the Daleks', the sky lit up with alien spacecraft in 'The Pandorica Opens', or simply the gorgeous (and incredibly detailed) new TARDIS interior. The episodes have, quite simply, never looked or sounded better than they do here on BD (though you may need a bit of tinkering with your player settings to get the sound mix right if you don't have a surround set-up - switching audio output to 'Bitstream' may help), and it's definitely worth opting for this version over the slightly cheaper DVD set.

Extras wise, there's plenty here for viewers to enjoy - perhaps most notably two new scenes penned by Steven Moffat, exclusive to DVD and Blu Ray. These sequences feature the Doctor and Amy in the TARDIS, and serve as preludes to 'The Beast Below' and 'The Vampires of Venice' respectively. They're a lot of fun, and are a nice little bonus. It would be good to see more of these in future, if possible. As with previous boxsets, there's a bonus disc housing the 15 minute cut-down editions of 'Doctor Who Confidential' covering each episode, which offer behind-the-scenes access and insights, and are consistently enjoyable. There are commentaries, too, although disappointingly compared to previous sets, these are only on selected episodes, and are in-vision commentaries, which aren't to everyone's tastes. Aside from that, there's an array of video diaries, trailers, and 'Monster Files' focusing on some of the Doctor's enemies throughout the season.

All in all, 'The Complete Series Five' is a fantastic Blu Ray release for a series which not only continues the 'Doctor Who' legend in the quality to which we've become accustomed, but also reinvents it in style. Minor issues over the extras shouldn't deter you from giving this a go, as it really is the best way to watch the Eleventh Doctor's first adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Box set review, 29 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who -- The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
What I liked:

- The episodes are awesome. There is not one bad episode.
- The boxset isn't like the previous 4 series, instead it is in the style of a book where you flip through the DVD's.
- The quality of the DVD's (Standard definition) is fantastic.
- There are a lot of special features on each DVD.
- There is a 6th bonus DVD for the confidential cut downs which I really enjoyed.

What I didn't like:

- Instead of having 3 episodes on each disk, on some there are only 2. The boxset would be better having 5 disks instead of the spread out 6.
- Because of it only having 2 episodes on some disk it messes up some 2-part stories. For example on the weeping angle episodes you have to change the disk to watch the second part.
- No episode guide included.

Conclusion:

If you are a Doctor who fan I would definitely recommend buying this box set as it is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gift, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who -- The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This was a gift for my great grandson and he is thrilled with it, the DVD's have been watched several times already. Item was dispatched and delivered on time. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who series 5, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who -- The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Am a great Doctor Who fan, have been since William Hartnell !!!! but David Tennant & Matt Smith are the bees knees!!!!
really enjoyed this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That Difficult Fifth Series, 19 Jan 2011
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who -- The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
There is a received wisdom that Russell T Davies' time on Doctor Who divided fans and that he delighted and appalled in equal measure. Well, all that seems a long time ago now, and as nothing compared to reactions to Steven Moffat's first series at the Who helm. Of course, Moffat has a long and accomplished track record, including the underrated Coupling and, in the last year, co-writing the superlative Sherlock and the screenplay for the upcoming Tintin movie. And this is before we even start to consider his contributions to Series 1-4: The Empty Child/The Doctor Dances, The Girl In The Fireplace, Blink and Silence In The Library/Forest of the Dead. Unlike Davies' broad emotional sweeps, Moffat seemed more adept at dealing with tricksier elements of plotting and continuity, something which would play a large part in series five's arc. Reaction to the series was polarised between those who thought that he had trashed the entire franchise to those, like me, who thought he had breathed new life into it. It was not an unalloyed success, but there were many wonderful highlights to justify the rating.

Episode one introduces us to a new Doctor, a new TARDIS, a new companion and, shock horror, new titles! Matt Smith is surprising, looking (as some have noted) like a young man built out of parts of old ones, but sounding as beautifully eccentric and alien as The Doctor should be. Frankly, from the moment of, "Fry something, you're Scottish" and "Fish custard", I was sold. It was an episode that took lots of chances, including the wonderful time lapse sequence where The Doctor first meets Rory. And it was a nice touch to position Smith in the canon in his meeting with the Atraxi (who still sound uncomfortably like a brand of handcream to me).

In contrast, the promised thrills and spills promised in episodes 2 and 3 were a bit underwhelming. The Beast Below was a serviceable pot boiler to introduce us further to the new TARDIS occupants, though the much heralded Smilers turned out to be something of a red herring in the larger scheme of the plot. If episode 2 was underwhelming, then the Daleks' appearance in episode 3 was probably the biggest let down of the entire series, feeling as much of a misfire to me as series 3's clunking Daleks in Manhattan. The design of the new generation Daleks aroused huge amounts of anger and negativity. These were almost secondary matters compared to the story, which simply did not work. It was also disappointing that the solid Bill Patterson was not that well used in his role.

After this lull, however, things started to pick up again with the Weeping Angels double bill The Time of Angels and Flesh and Stone. Reintroducing the high point of series 3 was a risky gambit, but one which allowed both Smith, Gillan and the returning Alex Kingston some time to develop their characters and really let them fly. The second part in particular was stunningly good. In comparison, the following Vampires of Venice could have been a real disappointment, but happily wasn't, managing to maintain some of the two parter's momentum. What is noticeable by this stage is the crackling dialogue and the rapidly developing interplay between the Doctor, Amy and Rory: it's this kind of writing that the Moffat Who really manages to excel at.

Next came the Silurian two parter: The Hungry Earth/Cold Blood. In retrospect, these episodes, while serviceable, are not hugely spectacular. They left me feeling much the same as I had with series 4's Sontaran encounter: glad that they'd been revisited, but not wedged in the mind in the same way other episodes were. Such things are common in mid-series, where it's possible for the pace to drop off a little in anticipation for the run-in to the end.

In contrast, Vincent and The Doctor was simply stunning. It's an episode resonating with colour and real emotional power (though some accused it of being emotionally cheap and manipulative), and possibly my favourite full episode of the run. Tony Curran's van Gogh is by turns inspirational, irrational and convincingly tortured; it's a fine performance and does Richard Curtis's script justice.

I wasn't expecting much from The Lodger, having a difficult relationship with James Corden. Thankfully for me, the Corden of the The History Boys showed up, instead of the one from Horne and Corden. The main thread of the plot was almost incidental here; we got much more fun from Smith playing for laughs and the rather sweet relationship developing between Corden's Craig and Daisy Haggard's Sophie. It was a fine appetiser for the inevitable finale...

..which didn't disappoint. One of the big criticism's of RTD's time at the helm was that series finales tended to be lots of noise and plots holes colliding in a big messy heap at the end. In Moffat's hands things were very,very different. Things which seemed inconsequential or just wrong (like the jacket in episode 5's forest scene) suddenly took on huge amounts of extra meaning. And of course, there was Moffat's delight in playing with the narrative structure, the timeline and the expectations of the audience. None more so than episode 12's threat from all of the Doctor's adversaries being nothing more than a cypher for the wonders of what was to come in the final episode of the series. The Big Bang manages to make the end of all creation an intensely personal experience, centering everything around Amy and her life. It's a masterstroke, and one that is tightly and nimbly written. The "Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue" moment had the hairs on the back of my neck standing on end, jumping up and down with glee. The ends that needed tying were tied, while enough was left hanging to bring us into the 2011 run running

As mentioned before, the series did have its low points and longueurs, but these are easily outpaced by the highs, of which there are very many. Karen Gillan's Amy Pond has not met universal approval (I think she's fine), while Smith has a claim to have not only prevented himself becoming trapped in Tennant's long shadow, but to have surpassed his forerunner. Smith's Doctor is sparky, funny, occasionally and unexpectedly melancholy, lanky, otherworldy and, of course, obsessed with bow-ties. Series five represents good progress, and bodes well for 2001's split series six.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor is in, 26 Oct 2013
Firstly I must say that what I am about to write will be very one sided as we all have different tastes. With that out of the way I must say that this is the best series of the show I have ever seen.Matt Smith was perfectly cast for this role as the new Doctor and I will be sad to see him leave also Karen Gillen was a surprise that lass knows how to act. Each episode is brilliant 13 amazing episodes that leave you wanting more. The doctor must battle weeping angels,Darleks Vampire fish , a beast that he cant see a race that lived on earth before the humans. all this as well as learning the secrets of the Pandorica and what the phrase silence will fall means. This series made me fall in love with the show all over again after a disapinting year with only 4 episodes.the picture and sound qualituy are amazing and after this series the next two are also amazing.To conclude the new Doctor is my favourate of all this is the best pieece of telivision i have seen in years and a perfect jumping on point for new fans and returning old ones alike 10/10 for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Doctor, new heights!, 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who -- The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Matt Smith's new Doctor had unsettled me to some extent. The paradigm shift was even more pronounced with Moffat replacing Davies, as the focus of the episodes became more interlinked in an abstract & complex way (nothing like the visual "BADWOLF" clues). I used to think that absolutely nobody can beat Rose (Sarah jane is beyond comparison and rather sui generis) as the Doctor's companion in these post-modern days, but I was pleasantly surprised by Amy Pond, and Rory, and the recurring presence of River Song, and ...... To cut the things short, this was a brilliant continuation of the rebooted Doctor Who, and Matt Smith was a revelation. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


167 of 205 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moan moan moan moan moan..., 19 Aug 2010
By 
'Oh, I didn't like it', 'He's not as good as David Tennant', 'It's not as good as the original show', 'Well of course, I remember William Hartnell' blah blah blah blah blah. It's funny, Doctor Who fans now don't have to hark all the way back to the original series ('63- '89) anymore, but now can hark back to more recent times to come up with a flaccid 'the new series isn't as good as it was' argument. I have been a fan for Doctor Who since 1973, through it's considerable highs and it's many (lets be honest here) considerable lows. To admit one was even a fan of the show was at one period of history akin to admitting to necrophilia, although not as racey. But Doctor Who has done what it always does; it dusts itself off and enjoys the fact that it can regenerate, just like the main character in the series. It saddens me that Who fans have a demographic within them that is bitter, bitchy, po-faced and nostalgic to the point of myopia. Some of the more negative critiques (and I use that word very loosely indeed) aimed at series 5 on Amazon have again been sadly penned by this camp of moan-mongering morons who wish it was yester-year again. It's not; get over it.

Here's joke for you; How many Doctor Who fans does it take to change a light bulb? Just one, but they think the new light bulb isn't as good as the old one.

Matt Smith was a suprising choice and I had mixed feelings when the news broke late in 2008. Tennant did a wonderful job and was given many wonderful stories to get his teeth into. Smith has taken the mantel of Who and done some equally wonderful work with it. I think Moffatt was put on a pedestal by fans to be knocked off if any of his tenure of producer gave stories worse than 'Blink', 'The Empty Child' etc, and much of the complaints by those who disliked this series are generated by such a line of thought.

Not every part of this series totally worked for me; I thought the new titles and music not as good as previously since returning in 2005, and I thought the new Daleks were inferior to the previous model. But I think, on balance, this series worthy of 5 stars as it was excellent; well acted, well written and well produced. After years of the bitch abuse Russell T Davies got from nasty bickering Who fans, I expect he can enjoy halcyon days as these same fans now like him as he was better than this young Moffatt upstart!

I thought 'Vincent and the Doctor' one of the finest stories ever made (Tony Curran as Vincent van Gogh and Karen Gillan as Amy Pond giving some of the best acting performanced I have seen on tv for a good long while), and the final few episodes gave a less bombastic and more measured climax in 'The Big Bang' than some of the previous ones we have had. The fact that all loose ends have not been tidily sorted is a great idea, as this leads a viewer back to it next Spring (what is The Silence? Who's is the voice that speaks of it? Who is River Song? What role does she play in the Doctor's future?). I thought Smith's first story to be one of the finest tales to introduce a new actor in the role (loved the fish fingers in custard), the Silurians were at last given some depth and were no longer blokes in rubber suits with dodgey Cornish/Russin hybrid accents, and the Weeping Angels story was not a simple remake of their previous tale (something that could easily have happened in the hands of someone less skilled than Moffatt). Brilliant stuff!

For those who cannot enjoy this for whatever reason, ok, we are all entitled to our opinions, no matter how misplaced and ill-judged they may be. But let me finish on this point; it is no so long ago that Doctor Who was really very poor, a fact illustrated by it's deserved removal from our screens for 16 years. By the late 80s it really was a limping duffer of a programme, lead by a producer who thought he was working in light entertainment; it is now in comparison a strong, engaging and thought-provoking show. Long may it remain a flag-ship of the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt smith rules!!!!!, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic series of story's here, introducing Matt Smith as the Doctor.
And in my opinion, the best Doctor of the new era so-far.
NOW Bring on Peter Capaldi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who -- The Complete Series 5 [DVD]
Doctor Who -- The Complete Series 5 [DVD] by Matthew Smith (DVD - 2010)
11.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews