Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value
Simple to setup and use, this heart rate monitor does exactly what it's supposed to. The instruction manual is clearly written and easy to follow. The chest strap fits well and is comfortable to wear; most importantly you can easily replace its battery (some of the more expensive brands require you to buy an entire new strap when the battery runs out, which is an...
Published on 15 Mar 2012 by southeastrunner

versus
50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good features - Poor instructions
The one thing letting this feature-packed heart monitor down is its instruction booklet, which makes it hard to understand how to programme it for use.

The watch itself looks and feels good quality and reminds me a lot of an old Nike sports watch I once had. It tells the time and date and features a light, stopwatch and countdown timer. All off these are easy...
Published on 1 April 2012 by The Truth


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good features - Poor instructions, 1 April 2012
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultrasport Heart Rate Monitor with Chest Strap (Sports)
The one thing letting this feature-packed heart monitor down is its instruction booklet, which makes it hard to understand how to programme it for use.

The watch itself looks and feels good quality and reminds me a lot of an old Nike sports watch I once had. It tells the time and date and features a light, stopwatch and countdown timer. All off these are easy enough to navigate and use - its the main function that is a bit annoying.

The heart rate monitor does works and that too has some nifty features, like and optimum heart rate zone, which you can personalise to suit yourself. Work out your perfect zone for burning calories (this is easy enough to do using your age and a simple equation given to you in the instruction booklet) and you can enter it into the watch... This is where things get a bit tricky.

The instruction to do this are terrible; with things in an illogical order and ill thought out instructions. It makes it a real chore. However, keep at it and your will eventually get your head round it.

One you have your optimum heart rate zone entered, you can then set the watch up to beep when you exceed or drop below you ideal heart rate, thus ensuring an efficient workout.

It also tells you the percentage of your maximum workout rate too, so you'll know just how hard your pushing yourself. The chest strap works well, transmitting data to the watch, but it can start to slip down your chest a bit when you get sweaty and you're moving about.

Overtall, I'm happy with the device. It does what's asked of it, it's just it was about 5 or 6 workouts before I figured it all out... I think I've got it now, but I'm not 100% sure I'd be able to set it up again when the batteries run out, so I won't be throwing away the instructions - even though they are very poorly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 15 Mar 2012
This review is from: Ultrasport Heart Rate Monitor with Chest Strap (Sports)
Simple to setup and use, this heart rate monitor does exactly what it's supposed to. The instruction manual is clearly written and easy to follow. The chest strap fits well and is comfortable to wear; most importantly you can easily replace its battery (some of the more expensive brands require you to buy an entire new strap when the battery runs out, which is an absolutely ridiculous concept).

I was pleasantly surprised to find out that it's also compatible with gym equipment (at least with Technogym machines, anyway). I jumped on the treadmill and it picked up the signal from the chest strap straight away.

Why waste your money on anything else?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fitness aid, 26 Feb 2012
By 
Ms. L. Escobar "Creaking Willow" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultrasport Heart Rate Monitor with Chest Strap (Sports)
There are a few things you will need to read in the instructions - for example how to set the date / time and access the different modes but once you've done that this is a very simple piece of kit.

The elastic strap goes horizontally across the solar plexis or breast bone I think, with the reader in the middle - not on the left.

Put it into heart mode, click again for it to start reading, and off you go. The strap is not uncomfortable to run in, but keep it reasonably tight to stay in place - especially if you are thin - not like me!

There are so many uses for this device. Firstly it shows how high your hear goes if you go out running from 'cold'. I went up to 210bpm, but once I was warmed up it went down, first to 180 then 160. Next time I'll take it more gently to start. It's also good to get you moving. When I rested between running spells, I used 110bpm to start running again.

Also you can take off the watch and attach it to your bike or device in the gym eg rowing. The watch is waterproof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, almost everything you could want (for the price), 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultrasport Heart Rate Monitor with Chest Strap (Sports)
I wanted a heart rate monitor and to not spend too much. This item almost does all that I could ask for the price.

I found it quite easy to set up and, whilst the instructions are in a very small font, if you can read them they are easy to follow.

The one thing I would have liked but would have had to go out of the price bracket to get would have been a way of downloading the results to a PC or similar. The one change I would have wanted that I think could have been done without increasing the price is to toggle between the heart rate display and the stopwatch display.

I would have liked to have done this whilst running but you can only toggle between the heart display and the clock time display. So if I'm running with both stopwatch arnd HR on I have to go through four steps between the two, not something I want to do whilst moving. Hence only four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aerobic monitor, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultrasport Heart Rate Monitor with Chest Strap (Sports)
This is a perfect reasonably priced heart rate/ECG monitor, just strap on chest band, attach the watch to your wrist. At the start of a session try to reach recommended heart beat for your age and programming it is so easy. It will bleep if exercise rate is not enough or overdoing it! Its better than getting an overpriced treadmill/exercise bike with heart measuring devices already fitted. Innovation - I would suggest to include pedometer facilities as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better product than some of the more expensive monitors., 4 Mar 2012
By 
Hugh Glass (Bury st Edmunds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultrasport Heart Rate Monitor with Chest Strap (Sports)
Originally purchased a more expensive heart rate monitor (not from Amazon) as it advertised the ability to display heart rate as a percentage of max. However it did not have this feature really, so product was returned and I decided to buy a cheaper product which has the same features. The Ultrasport had good reviews and the same features as the more expensive product but was less than half the price!
The watch is good quality and looks good. Heart rate is picked up quickly and accurately, and most impressively actually displays hear rate as a percent of max!
Very impressed with the product, especially at the price. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a cheap item, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultrasport Heart Rate Monitor with Chest Strap (Sports)
I ordered this as I wanted to see how my heart rate picked up during exercise. And it does just that.

Please be aware this really is a no frills heart rate monitor. It will track your heart rate and time from when started but does not save the information so unless you are able to take note whilst using it then this will do but if you want to refer back to your maximum and average heart rate then this is not the monitor to go for.

You can enter your date of birth and set the monitor for max & min heart rate based on your age and if set up correctly it will beep when below or above these rates - you can also set manual rates should you have info from docs or personal trainer for instance.

Instructions are a bit lax but have a good read through and eventually it can be figured out.

Like I said for a cheap monitor it's fantastic but it is basic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exceptional for the price, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultrasport Heart Rate Monitor with Chest Strap (Sports)
I decided to buy a cheap monitor when my third (in about 30 years which cost 70.00 in 1991) died and would have cost more than this one to fix. I am old now and don't need high performance monitors so decided this would do and I am absolutely delighted with it.
Contrary to many reviews I found the instructions extremely easy to follow and clear as long as you read them and do exactly what it says! Possibly if you have never had a monitor before it is confusing until you get your head round the various screens and certainly the print is small - par for the course with kit like this I am afraid.
It has all the average person needs and more. Heart rate, percentage of maximum heart rate and the facility to fix a different max rate if you need it for health or training reasons. Easy to use stopwatch and count down timer are both useful. Guess the only thing it doesn't have is calories burned - which I didn't need anyhow.
For those who find the instructions difficult the following might help:
Remember the watch is a mini computer so the principles are much the same.....think of it as a filing cabinet with each function a separate 'drawer'
from your main screen (time) you access each function (drawer) by pressing the bottom left button (mode)
Once in a drawer (function) you access all the individual files (different parts of the function) mainly by using the right hand buttons (u) (d). These buttons where you need to go up and down perform that function but they also do other things. The get out of jail free card is the bottom left button which takes you back to the main screen ( drawers) - press it a couple of times and you will get back to the main (time) screen and can start again if you have become confused and lost your place somewhere along he way.
Example: wearing chest strap and watch (d) gets you to screen with heart and dots then (u) then gets you to screen where your own heart rate and % is shown. I stay in this screen while training so I can keep an eye on the fluctuations of my heart rate - get familiar with this first then when you are comfortable with it you can start moving into the screens where you can use the stop watch etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bit of kit, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultrasport Heart Rate Monitor with Chest Strap (Sports)
I bought this because i had never used one before even though i have been training for over 20 years. I find it very easy to use and accurate. It picks up my heart rate very quickly, there has only been 2 occasions when it didn't but just making my chest damp and the back of the sensor this cured the issue. Great bit of kit, i would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and I like the watch, 4 Jan 2012
By 
JJ (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ultrasport Heart Rate Monitor with Chest Strap (Sports)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this watch to time exercise and particularly to monitor heart rate during exercise. It has been very successful in achieving this. The elasticated chest strap is sufficiently stretchy to fit effectively on a range of chest sizes and is easy to put on although the fixing points can slip out rather too easily particularly when putting on. The watch picks up the heart rate reading fairly easily and calculated (from your date of birth which you have to insert) a maximum heart rate. This is useful for getting your heart rate up to a reasonable level and keeping there for a preset time. The watch will even let you know when you hit your maximum so you can always work within safe limits.
The watch is quite stylish and has all the usual functions which are straight forward and easy to use.
I would definitely recommend this product for someone wanting to take aerobic exercise but who was concerned to ensure they don't overdo (or underdo) it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultrasport Heart Rate Monitor with Chest Strap
25.29
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews