Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quick comment on the tracks
If like me, you have the Direction, Reaction, Creation box set, then you have all these tracks apart from the last two demos as far as I can tell from the track listing. I do not know if they have been remixed or remastered again for this release.
You can get Direction, Reaction, Creation used for about 50% more than the price of this box set which will give you...
Published on 10 July 2009 by AFG

versus
3 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LAZILY OVERATED
MUST BE GOOD COS IT'S THE JAM INNIT? WELL SORRY, BUT NO, ONE GOOD SONG DOESN'T MAKE A GREAT OR EVEN GOOD ALBUM. ALL THE PEOPLE WHO GIVE THIS ALBUM 4 OR 5 STARS SHOULD HAVE A LONG HARD HONEST THINK ABOUT HOW INSPIRING THIS ALBUM REALLY IS. PERSONALY, LISTENING TO IT NOW 25 YEARS OR SO SINCE I FIRST HEARD IT, I FIND IT DULL AS DITCH WATER. HAS A MORE BANAL SONG THAN...
Published on 29 April 2007 by HBMAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quick comment on the tracks, 10 July 2009
By 
AFG (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
If like me, you have the Direction, Reaction, Creation box set, then you have all these tracks apart from the last two demos as far as I can tell from the track listing. I do not know if they have been remixed or remastered again for this release.
You can get Direction, Reaction, Creation used for about 50% more than the price of this box set which will give you every studio track The Jam made, then you can add Dig the new Breed and The Jam Live along with The Jam at the BBC to give you the live tracks (you will need the 3 disk version of Snap! for the last live EP to more or less complete their recordings apart from boots).
If you just want the best Jam album, then this is it.
It will never be as good as being 15 / 16 and buying the singles and albums as they came out though... sorry if you missed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the rescue, 29 Nov 2010
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
By the time The Jam were hitting number one with ease, their most feted album seemed to be 'Setting Sons', while Paul Weller later said that his favourite was 'Sound Affects'. All of this ignored the album which really broke the band big when they appeared to be heading for oblivion. 'In The City', an all too often ignored punk debut contained a clue to what would make The Jam great: it was the track, 'Away From The Numbers', which revealed that Weller could craft stimulating pop. The 'Modern World' album all but squandered the band's initial success, but the band's cover of The Kinks' 'David Watts' put them back in the charts ahead of the release of 'All Mod Cons'.

This album contains several tracks with similar qualities to 'Away From The Numbers', notably 'To Be Someone' and 'In The Crowd'. Weller discovered he could convey his sense of outrage without resorting to all-out fury while writing some positive stuff too. 'All Mod Cons' certainly betrays the band's English influences, those of The Kinks, The Who and The Beatles, though the last-named only shows through occasionally. Weller apparently preferred The Beatles until he discovered the other two bands.

Having salvaged their reputation with one single, of course, they cemented it with the wholly original classic, 'Tube Station'. It showcases Bruce Foxton's bass skills as well as Weller's storytelling abilities, a soundtrack to the dark corners of urban Britain. Every track is a winner, even Weller's self-conscious acoustic love song, 'English Rose'. 'All Mod Cons' was one of the most unlikely successes of 1978. These days, it's all you would expect from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Honest,Informed,Brief Opinion/Review!!!", 11 Jan 2005
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
If you have got this far along the road to buying "All Mod Cons" & need reassuring by reading a review,I can only say,WELL DONE!!!
I mean it...
My excuse for owning this Jam album is that It was the soundtrack to my youth,& if youre contemplating owning it 27 years later,I would love to meet you & discuss the reasons why,
Whilst simultaniously making sure that all my close friends have a copy, because this album is class.
Listen to the following tunes... "It`s Too Bad, Fly, & English Rose" they are quite simply classics.
Tube Station is also here,but forget that,& enjoy the lesser known of Wellers offerings on the album,they are all great tunes tunes all work together...
I`d pay whatever Amazon are asking for "All Mod Cons" and then sit quietly in the land of the smug,
Safe in the knowledge you own a copy.............x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paul wellers shedding of 60s reverence,and creates anew...., 19 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
Wiping out the overbearing ,one dimensional second album,ALL MOD CONS lets Paul Weller slow down,take a breather,and look around....And his songwriting improves with a newly acquired depth and contemporary sound...From the past albums concrete thudding sound,a clean and precise beat is on display here,with intelligent guitar lines snapping at the taut words...a universal dictionary of emotions is being used now,not a local A-Z.....A new era beckons...Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice extras, but sound no improvement on 1997 version, 3 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
Anyone buying this album will probably know the music inside out, as is often the case with CD-issues of popular records from the vinyl era. Therefore the question for a reviewer trying to be helpful to others must be whether this version adds anything to what has previously been available, and if the sound quality is really an improvement.

First the sound. Since I own both the original UK vinyl pressing and the 1997 re-issue of this album, it is quite easy for me to compare. These things, of course, depend on personal tastes, but I do NOT find the sound is improved with this version. Compared to the 1997 release, it is harder and more polished sounding (and strangely, the stereo image appears to have moved very slightly to the right, though you will only notice that using headphones). If your system is a bit dull, however, or you've been at too many loud rock gigs in your life, you may find that this current disc sounds "clear and crisp", or whatever terms people use about CDs these days.

This Special Edition offers as extras a number of very interesting outtakes, demos and alt. versions. Personally, I prefer some of them to the album version, which had a few too many overdubs for my taste. Some of these tracks may also appear on the Jam Box Set (which I haven't got at the moment).

Finally there is a DVD with the three members of the Jam talking about the making of the album. It seems that the producers were unable to get them in the same room together, which is a bit sad to say the least. For musicians there is very little in the way of explaining and showing the techniques that were used in the studio, so instead we're given more-or-less the pretty well-known story behind this classic album.

Finally there is a small booklet with sleeve notes.

If you want these extras, this album is worth getting, but for the sound alone I would recommend the 1997 release or the original vinyl. There is also a CD version from the 1980s around selling for chip money, but I don't know what it is like and I doubt it could be better than the one from 1997, as generally CD from the mid-90s have the most natural and "analogue" sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the Stone Roses..., 13 Mar 2003
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
All Mod Cons defecates all over it from a great height. NME have just voted The Stone Roses' eponymous debut as "The Best Album Ever". It is however a mere pretender to the crown. The similarities are obvious - from the sixties influenced guitar stabs, to the pumping bass and drums which underpin some sublime plectrum work - but All Mod Cons is better because is as diverse as it is distinctive.
A footnote: All Mod Cons is NOT a punk album.
"In The Crowd" demonstrates this perfectly. It evolves from the Kinks & Small Faces, and melds into a psychedelic mixture of the Who & Beatles. What more could you ask for? Not a lot!
The best Jam album (and that's saying something) and certainly better than the Stone Roses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a great album but a great Jam album ..which is something else altogether, 27 Sep 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
Or when The Jam took off and really started fulfilling the potential they had shown with a string of singles and intermittently on their previous albums In The City And This Is The Modern World. All Mod Cons see's Paul Weller embracing a more English stance to his song-writing , with undercurrents of 1960,s pop like The Kinks - so much so they even cover the Kinks song "David Watts". The albums title also alludes playfully to the bands prevalence in the Mod revival.
The songs on All Mod Cons are often about ordinary people , or places but viewed through Weller's coruscating filter . He scorns the 9-5 existence of "Mr Clean" ( "If I get the chance ill f**k up your life") while seemingly revelling in the indestructible qualities of "Billy Hunt" right down to it's terrace chant chorus. "In The Crowd" is a glistening pop tinged number about the numbing anonymity of being errr part of a crowd. "The Place I Love" manages the neat trick of being urgent and wistful at the same time while "To be Someone ( Didn't We Have a Nice Time)" neatly encapsulates the celebrity grasping culture we have saddled ourselves with . The original vinyl edition ( which i still have) ended with the prescient twins "A Bomb In Wardour Street" powered by a chugging riff and the first person narrative of "Down In The Tube At Midnight " replete with Bruce Foxton,s expressive bass lines and Weller's vivid imagery. "They smelt of pubs , and Wormwood Scrubs and too many right wing meetings".Both these songs are probably more topical now than they were then .A bomb is taking it a bit far maybe but then you cast your mind back to the horrendous London bombings ...
By way of contrast there is the lovely acoustic ballad "English Rose" ( which portents some of Weller's solo work) which was not acknowledged on the original vinyl pressing in any way as Weller found it too personnel. The soaring chords of "Fly" are added to Weller's rather strained falsetto after the incongruously jaunty break up song "It's Too Bad".
All Mod Cons eschewed the more strident punkish themes of the era for a more considered quintessentially English album. The Jams angry punk album followed with the brilliant 1979 album "Setting Sons" . So what if it is lyrically clumsy sometimes ( "And my only link is pots of Walls ice cream"....oh dear) and that it contains a cover version ( I rather like" David Watts" and rather identified with it's scabrous envy of someone more self assured, better looking and more successful with the opposite sex) All Mod Cons is not just a great album but a great Jam album and that makes it something else all together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic of the Seventies, 5 Feb 2007
By 
Steve Keen "therealus" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
The Jam's third album saw them at the zenith of their powers. Their first two had established them as a vital force amongst the angry young musicians of the punk era, and In The City in particular is a classic in its own right. But All Mod Cons has all the energy of its predecessors with the added thoughtfulness probably enabled by a record contract and a decent time interval between albums (This Is The Modern World was reportedly rush-recorded by a record company desperate to exploit the success of In The City).

The two opening songs, the title track and To Be Someone, reflect some of the disillusion that must have been assailing the still-young Paul Weller, berating the hangers-on making a living from his talent.

Mr Clean is the first of three tracks, with David Watts and Billy Hunt, in which a real resentment of the meritocracy comes to the fore. The band performed David Watts on Top of the Pops at the time, and the disdain in Weller's voice and facial expression was tangible - it was very clear that "I wish I could have all he has got" is 100% ferrous irony.

English Rose is the best slow song Weller has recorded, and the final three tracks form a suite for the seventies, particularly the imagery of A-Bomb - "In the corner I can see my girl, fifteen geezers got her pinned to the wall" - and the thugs smelling of "too many right wing meetings" in Tube Station.

My one criticism is that, whereas on vinyl the dying notes of Place I Love segued perfectly into A-Bomb, the record company has sadly not reproduced the effect on the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer class!, 15 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
This album is a must purchase... If you like anything mod or even indie then shame on you if you do not already own a copy of this timeless masterpiece of modern music, everyone else could benefit from giving it a listen. Quite simply this is one of the best, well-rounded albums ever to be released. Every song has been crafted and although lyrically beautiful it is never trying to be too clever or wordy. Songs of all tempos are gelled together by very impressive turns from all the band and all topped off with an excellent cover of the Kinks 'David Watts' right in the middle. Love it!!! The Jam did other quality albums, but this is Weller and co at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU SEE ME IN THE STREET LOOK AWAY!, 19 Jun 2006
By 
COLSEE "colsee" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
1979...All Mod Cons....... the first penultimate Jam album.

The aggression of the first two albums is still here but with a certain style and class that puts it leagues above the rest so far.

The remaster is superb and although I cannot comment on the 5.1 mix it still comes across as having much more depth and clarity than any previous version. The drums and bass are crystal clear and really make you remember that Paul Weller wasn't the only contributer to the Jam sound. Foxtons bass is pounding throughout and Ricks drums are leading the way.

Superb stuff!

No doubt the fact you are looking at this review you know this album well, in which case you will know all the songs on the album. Even more exciting would be if you haven't heard it but are thinking about it.

The classic 'Tube Station', 'A' Bomb & 'David Wattts' are just the tasters.

'Mr Clean' is a song that still reminds of youthful energy and state of mind, seeing those that have more and wanting to destroy or rebel against.

'To Be Someone', a realisation that it could actualy be very nice to have all these things even if it is a shallow existance.

Weller has that rare art of being able to make you connect to his lyrics in a way that you feel like he is singing about you for you. Along with the power of his guitar and the 'Bloke up the road' style of vocals, this makes for one excellent package.

The original album had 12 tracks, this has an extra 14, made up of B sides and demos. A well worthy add on.

The second disc has a dvd documentary of the making of the album, with recent interviews with all three members.

Its great to see them all again talking 'Jam', even if they are in seperate locations.

It also contains a solo acoustic version of Weller singing 'English Rose'. I was hoping this would have been from that period but it is a up to date Weller performing.

Still worthwhile though.

Lets hope they repackage a few, if not all, of them in the near future.

'THIS WAS THE MODERN WORLD'...and for some of us still would be!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Mod Cons
All Mod Cons by The Jam
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews