Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Macca's finest
The story goes something like this; just after it's release a journalist mentioned the fact that London Town was a weak album. McCartney didn't take this lightly and 'banned'him for a couple of years from interviews and press-conferences. After ten years they met up again and Macca admitted that London Town was indeed sh*t.

They were both wrong...
Published on 22 Feb 2007 by Yovra

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars London Town
Not one of Macca's best. However there ae some great tracks that have stood the test of time and sound just as fresh today.
Published on 3 Mar 2010 by Sortean


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Macca's finest, 22 Feb 2007
By 
Yovra (Driebergen, Holland) - See all my reviews
The story goes something like this; just after it's release a journalist mentioned the fact that London Town was a weak album. McCartney didn't take this lightly and 'banned'him for a couple of years from interviews and press-conferences. After ten years they met up again and Macca admitted that London Town was indeed sh*t.

They were both wrong.

There IS some filler (as in all Wings/Macca-albums), but even the weak tracks are fun to listen to (Name and Adress, Famous Groupies). The best tracks are either acoustic (Deliver Your Children) or slow (London Town, With a Little Luck). Girlfriend is a nice, soulful track, I've Had Enough is your basic McCartney-rocker.

It sounds like a very relaxed album, most of the instruments played by McCartney and Laine (Wings were a trio again..).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem in the back catalogue, 26 Nov 2009
By 
John W. Edelman - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well! What a surprise. This is much better than I remembered from when I bought it on LP "All Those Years Ago". Listening to it 30+ years after its release I'm really happy to report that it's another "must have" McCartney album. It sounds like fun was had making this. I've certainly had fun listening to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mccartney At His Laid Back Best, 26 Jan 2005
By 
John Heaton (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Here is your review the way it will appear:
----------------------------------------------------------------
I may be a bit biased as this was the first Wings album I got into aged 14 but I will still adamantly defend it. It is not only underated but I believe contains many songs up there with the best in Paul's extensive canon. The title track is no less than a Top 5 contender from the afore mentioned canon. Superb melody, especially the "someone somewhere has to know" line. Who cares if the lyrics are a little strange? Paul's melody supercedes all this and it is simply an incredibly uplifting song. Which has not received the recognition it is utterly deserving. Up there with "Heart Of The Country" (1971) and "One Of These Days" (1980) in this respect. Maybe future generations will be more generous. "Cafe On The Left Bank" is great, particularly when played LOUD. McCartney's bass part an obvious highlight. "I'm Carrying" is simply as beautiful and moving a ballad as virtually ANYTHING he has written. And that, as you know folks, is saying something. "Girlfriend" the great song he gave to Michael Jackson, who inexplicably left out the superb middle eight which was about the highlight of the song. Michael? "I've Had Enough" is a good up tempo rocker but it HAS to be said, lest you think me totally subjective, Paul has done MUCH better than this. "With A Little Luck", the first single from the album and the eagerly awaited follow-up to "Mull Of Kintyre" is beautiful and will always have a soft spot in my book. **** what anyone else says. "Famous Groupies" is admittedly rather forgettable but ENJOYABLE all the same! "Deliver Your Children" and " Children Children" feature Denny Laine on lead vocal but are nice warm, melodic songs which hold up pretty well, not least due to McCartney's vocal harmony, something he excelled at in the Beatles years (also check out Laine's song "Time To Hide" for this, especially on the video of "Wings Over America" : "Rockshow", when will it be be released on DVD....Paul, this is an important live concert!)....anyway, back to this album..."Name And Address" is an enjoyable Elvis impersonation...but "Don't Let It Bring You Down" puts the rest of (what was) Side 2 with the exception of "With A Little Luck" into the ABSOLUTE shade...this is as dreamy and melodic and captivating as McCartney can be, with on this occasion, intelligent and (as always with Paul) optimistic lyrics to boot!! The closer "Morse Moose And The Grey Goose" is a great rocker to close the album, and in this case the lyrics absolutely reflect the imagery and mystery of where the track was recorded...On the High Seas near the Virgin Islands with more than a fair share of Jamaican tobacco no doubt. Even such a high authority as Lennon dismissed McCartney's late 70s work as well as that of Elton and The Stones as the work of "company men"....whatever that means....but I bet John was secretly grooving to this album. It is a marvellous album, made better by the inclusion of "Girls School", surely as good a rocker as ANY McCartney has produced, up there with "Drive My Car" and "Back In The USSR". YES. THAT good. And also "Mull Of Kintytre" which dull people with dull lives insist on dismissing as a throwaway. It is NOT a throwaway. It is, if you will pardon my inescapble subjectivity, a CLASSIC. The world leads songs like this...sentimental maybe...but in this case it is heartfelt and still very moving for me 27 years later. And I'm not Scottish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And Then There Were Three, 31 July 2011
History shows that in 1978 Wings were on the downward curve. Within two more years the band was effectively defunct. Only two years previously they were all-conquering. Mr & Mrs Macca then took a year off to drop a sprog and go a-sailing in the Virgin Islands where the early work on London Town was done. By the time of its release the musical landscape had changed. Punk and New-Wave was putting some vim and vigour back into rock'n'roll. With hindsight London Town is the sound of a band breathtakingly out of kilter with the prevailing zeitgeist. As I recall it was initially derided, then largely ignored. That is a shame because there is a great deal to enjoy here. For much of the album Wings were clearly having fun and there is a sense of joyous escapism about `Children Children', `Name & Address' and `Famous Groupies'. But there was no escaping the fact the group had again fractured with the departure of Jimmy and Joe. A very real uncertainty seeps through the performances. "Don't let it bring you down," implores McCartney in one of the standout songs towards the end of the original record. The scorching and metropolitan `Cafe On the Left Bank' notwithstanding much of the best music is in the second half. `With A Little Luck' finds a hesitant McCartney reflecting that it's going to need some good fortune for this whole damn thing to work out. `Deliver Your Children' is one of Wings' best that should have ousted the lamentable `Girlfriend' for a place on the later Wingspan compilation (the latter was written for the Jackson 5 and should definitely have been left to them - it is the low point). `Morse Moose' is unique and superb, part sea-shanty, part wig-out. If you weren't listening in 1978 then there was probably a lot of other great stuff vying for your attention and that is fair enough. But try slipping a little London Town on now, perhaps after some Fleet Foxes, and you may be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth a look, 16 Sep 2002
This review is from: London Town (Audio CD)
You may have heard the title track and "With a little luck" but this album has far more to offer. It definately ranks (in my humble opinion) as one of Wings' best. It's worlds apart from "Band on the run" with it's Irish folk/rock overtones (side two in particular) but by God it moves along nicely all the more for it. To me it lacks the self indulgent flavour of other Wings albums (not a bad thing), but its pure McCartney all the way. Make this album second choice after "Band on the run", then try "Red rose speedway" and "Venus and Mars", and the rest..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: London Town (Audio CD)
London Town is definitely my favorite Wings album. Why? Well, the songs are great (obviously) and they're made great by powerful and sometimes emotional melodies. One or two songs (e.g. Morse Moose and Grey Goose) are a bit strange, i.e different, but if you listen to them more then once you're probably going to like them. All in all, this album is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Melodic Go(o)dness, 8 Jun 2004
By 
J. Whitworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album is outstanding. Its reputation has been a little up and down over the years, but that's more to do with music fashion than the actual songs which are first rate. The album is melodic, sunny, chilled and essentially sounds like what it is - a stoned millionaire recording an album on a yacht. and if that's not enough - as a bonus track you get Girls' School - one of the best rockers of the decade. London Town is often the forgotten Wings Album (not the big seller that Band on the Run was, not the dog theat Back to the Egg was. Buy it - your life will be better for the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful album, with some great tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful ....., 27 Jan 2014
Strange as it seems but it is one of my favorites Paul/Wings albums from the early period; I love it ...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Jose Molist Diaz (Barcelona, catalunya,España) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Town (Audio CD)
THIS CD IS VERY IMPORTANT FOR MY COLLECTION BECAUSE I’M A BEATLE COLLECTOR MUSIC. GREAT SONGS IN THIS CD THANKS FOR THIS RECORD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Town
London Town by Wings
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews