Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent
This is a good value compilation album of Paul's most successful singles from the period 1970-78, the latter five years of which he and his band Wings sold more records than virtually anyone. And it is especially worth buying for 'Junior's Farm', the superb rocker released as a single in 1974 and unavailable on any other 1970s album release. There have of course been...
Published on 29 Mar 2005 by John Heaton

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT Wing's Greatest.
Just as a general pointer, Wings albums are counted as anything after Ram and McCartney (so 1972-1980) and anything up to the Japan tour. I felt it appropriate to clarify this as Paul McCartney has, after this time, released solo albums as just Paul McCartney, although these are not relevant to reviewing Wings'Greatest.

I do like all the tracks on this album...
Published on 10 Aug 2008 by Flickering Ember


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, 29 Mar 2005
By 
John Heaton (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a good value compilation album of Paul's most successful singles from the period 1970-78, the latter five years of which he and his band Wings sold more records than virtually anyone. And it is especially worth buying for 'Junior's Farm', the superb rocker released as a single in 1974 and unavailable on any other 1970s album release. There have of course been McCartney compiliations released since. 'All The Best' from 1987 contains rather too much overlap with this album for my liking. Perhaps the recent 'Wingspan' represents a more comprehensive look at those 1970s Wings years. But this one has that special quality of being released when Ex Beatles, at least this one, were selling records in significant quantities. Hence none of the nostalgia or retrospectiveness of most compliations these days.
As with all compilation albums, it is unsatisfactory in its continuity and flow. But at least this album contained a dozen or so bona fide hit singles, most of which reached the Top 5. It is of decent length, unlike the Ringo '70s Best of 'Blast From The Past' which clocked in at no more than 30 minutes. And massively better than the lamentable Best Of George Harrison album from 1975 which saw fit to raid the Beatles back catalogue to fill a whole side. See my seperate review of that album for my utter contempt for that release.
Ideally compilation albums should be a respectable summation for the casual fan or else should contain a number of singles not available elsewhere. With regard to the former, this is a pretty decent album as it contains all the best known McCartney tracks from this period. With the noteable exception of 'Listen To What The Man Said' from 1975, inexplicably missing here. With regard to the latter, it contained 'Another Day', Paul's first solo single from 1971, the charming little rocker 'Hi Hi Hi' from 1972 which was to prove so effective as a concert encore (although its B side the remarkable reggae number 'C Moon' could easily have been included as well). Also the explosive, supremely melodic and sensational 'Live And Let Die' single from 1973, the afore mentioned 'Junior's Farm' single, and 'Mull Of Kintyre' which was the best selling UK single from anyone in the 1970s. From anyone. A gorgeous McCartney waltz with a moving lyric and sublime melody. Despite what you might here elsewhere.
The remainder are well known album tracks which are for me better appreciated within the context of their original albums, especially the songs from 'Band On The Run'. But I concede that such albums are important to people who want a flavour of the magical band that Wings were in the '70s. 'My Love', 'Let 'Em In', 'Uncle Albert', 'With A Little Luck' and 'Silly Love Songs' (with its masterful bass line) are all confirmed McCartney classics which have truly stood the test of time.
I have a soft spot for this album as it was released and sold in decent quantities before any of the anti-McCartney backlash we unfortunately saw following Lennon's senseless murder in 1980. This album showed that of all four Ex Beatles it was McCartney who was easily the most successful in the decade following the acrimonious Beatles split in 1970. And although there is a case for defending the brilliance of much of the others' output during this period, here it is the punters talking. They bought McCartney records. In enormous numbers. I think even John Lennon was secretly impressed. And so he should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT Wing's Greatest., 10 Aug 2008
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Just as a general pointer, Wings albums are counted as anything after Ram and McCartney (so 1972-1980) and anything up to the Japan tour. I felt it appropriate to clarify this as Paul McCartney has, after this time, released solo albums as just Paul McCartney, although these are not relevant to reviewing Wings'Greatest.

I do like all the tracks on this album and it's good for the very casual listener who likes all the hits and does not want to commit to buying more albums but it's not, in my opinion, Wings' Greatest songs. Or not all of them. I love these songs but there are some very obscure beauties, such as Helen Wheels, Nineteen Hundred And Eighty Five, Picasso's Last Words (Drink To Me), Mrs Vandebilt, Bluebird (and these are just songs from one album; Band On The Run). There are countless other Wings songs which are wonderful and are not conveyed on this album.

I suppose it does what it says on the tin, though. It's Wings Greatest Hits. But it also misses out a lot of great tracks from Venus And Mars. For a better overview of Paul McCartney's Wings work, which does happen to include some solo stuff, try Wingspan; about the same price but a double CD so better value for money. You may even find you like his solo stuff too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings greatest hits, 12 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Really pleased with the CD ,did'nt think i was able to get it as its not available on itunes or from HMV but decided to try Amazon and thankfully they came up trumps.Fans of Paul McCartney &Wings should add this to there collection.Only 1 little gripe ,i wish it had included Listen to what the man said but i dont love the CD any less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Wings hit collection, 13 Mar 2013
This review is from: Wings Greatest (Audio CD)
Though this album is invalid after the Wings Hits & History its more of a sampler nowadays.For completeness its reissued as part of the McCartney Collection but with no extra tracks
The idea for the sleeve was to take a statue to Everest and photograph it.But what came out could have been taken anywhere.
Whatever this statue can be seen on the mantelpiece on the sleeve of Back To The Egg
It wasn't the first time Everest had been mentioned re the Beatles as they had this idea before the Abbey Road sleeve changed everything.
George Harrison also had a link with Everest as some of his music was on the soundtrack of the movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music to make you happy and sing out loud, 26 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a great CD - all of Wings greatest songs on one CD. Many of the songs I had forgotten about and was extremely happy to hear them again. The diversity of the songs is what is so good about this CD. Nice little dittys such as Silly Love Songs through to rockier numbers such as Live & Let Die and Jet. Go on - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value fantastic CD in fact my favourite at the ..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Greatest (Audio CD)
Fantastic value fantastic CD in fact my favourite at the minute and really quick delivery couldn't ask for anything more overall very very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
Janice Dwyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Greatest (Audio CD)
BRILLIANT ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album and a must have to own a hard copy...!, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Greatest (Audio CD)
Every track is a winner and dateless! And much prefer Wings to Th Beatles as far as Paul McCartney is concerned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have A Good Time, All The Time, 9 Aug 2013
By 
G Dogg (Davis, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wings Greatest (MP3 Download)
There was a common consensus that Linda McCartney broke up the Beatles.

Now people are all, "I've liked Linda for years and I think she's wonderful."

You guessed it: Back then they didn't want her now she hot they all on her.

1) If Linda McCartney didn't end the Beatles, I'd like to shake the hand of the person who did.

2) Listen to how happy Sir McCartney is.

3) All the "it's getting better all the time" without the "it can't get much worse."

Hence, some of the best pop and pop/rock songs of all-time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Band on the Run from Junior's Farm, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Highly selective compilation of Macca's solo 70's output, oddly called Wings Greatest when it contains two tracks not by the band at all. Could easily have added "Helen Wheels" and "Listen To What The Man Said" instead, not to mention the live "Maybe I'm Amazed" too.

Tries too hard to uniformly represent in one album the US and UK markets, for example "Uncle Albert" was never released in the UK while "Mull Of Kintyre" flopped in the States.

The definitive McCartney greatest hits hasn't been compiled yet ("Wingspan" comes closest) but this was a slightly eccentric way for Paul to call it quits for his erstwhile band as he entered the 80's a solo artist.

Plus, odd album sleeve too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wings Greatest
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews