Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tip top!, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul (Audio CD)
What a simply excellent compilation.

Mostly drawn from the Hi catalogue there are gems galore on this inexpensive compilation of no less than 24 terrific 60's and 70's Soul sides.

Worth anyone's three or four quid I'd say.

The Patterson Twins "Back in love again" is a brilliant peice of Muscle Shoals magic and just about my personal favourite, but there is plenty more to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Compilation, 4 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely wonderful compilation of Southern Soul , mostly featuring relatively unknown artists. There are some exceptions of course , notably Syl Johnson , Al Green , Ann Peebles and OV Wright , all of whom well represented by sterling efforts . However , i have to tell you that this CD is worth the money for one outstanding track , I Die A Little Each Day by Otis Clay . It is superb and one of the finest examples of the genre you could ever hope to hear . At a budget price you really should snap this one up . Incidentally , ALL the other tracks are of a very high standard and the packaging is half decent as well , totally worth the money .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the doctor ordered, 25 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul (Audio CD)
Quite simply a fantastic, slowburning southern soul collection. The music is as great as the cover! And what a price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good buy *****, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul (Audio CD)
This is a fabulous album, not one bad track on it. Great stuff, really easy listening. Highly recommended. **** **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality soul music, 13 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul (Audio CD)
Backbeats rarely disappoint, and this collection of Deep Soul music will twitch at the heart strings and leave you with a warm feeling. Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing collection, 9 Feb 2013
This review is from: Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul (Audio CD)
A stunning collection containing gems by Fontella Bass and Jean Plum. This cd provides an atmospheric charm and reveals some deep soul treasures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My personal favorite, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Yves Vandezande (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul (Audio CD)
The superb series called Backbeats has reached thirty titles and all are most excellent.
Love & Jealousy (The deeper side of southern soul) is clearly my personal favorite. I simply keep playing it more than any of the others.
There's great cuts by Syl Johnson, Otis Clay, Fontella Bass (r.i.p), O.V. Wright and Al Green.
The most pleasantly surprising are the two tracks by Quiet Elegance.
All the music is slow burning sensual soul perfect for an evening at home with a new lady.
A must buy for under 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay with it, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul (Audio CD)
I bought this CD a while ago, largely out of curiosity. I'm a long time fan of mainstream soul (and much else musically), but with an interest in digging out stuff I'm unfamiliar with.

I played it a couple of times in the car, and thought it was ok, but no more.

However on further listens it gets better and better as the individual tracks start to stand out, and now I'm returning to it on a regular basis. There are some great individual tracks, but every listener will probably develop their own favourites so I won't single any out.

The main thing is, don't be disappointed if this compilation doesn't grab you immediately - stay with it for a few listens, and you'll be rewarded. It really is worth the wait, and at this price you can afford to wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Soulful, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul (Audio CD)
If you like soul music but dont understand the meaning of 'Deep Soul' buy this cd. I couldnt find a bad track on it. Many tracks come from the Hi Catalogue, so if you like the 'Al Green' sound you'll love this - The Otis Clay tracks being my personal favourites. Well worth the money from the first to the last track and a very enjoyable cd indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyable Listen, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul (Audio CD)
I bought this as i love Otis,James Carr etc,really enjoyed this cd with a lot of new arsists/songs to discover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab8f7eac)

This product

Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul
Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews